$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
199 reviews
Best stay yet

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Barclay for an extended weekend stay. In previous years,... See full review

  • Ourfamilytravelagent
  • Aug 15, 2014
Fantastic stay right on the ocean!

Love, love, love this place! This is our 2nd time here and I am sure we will be back. Highly... See full review

  • shelant
  • Jul 24, 2014
Residential-style oceanfront hotel with indoor pool, free breakfast
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8373 -75.9716
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport.
Area description
The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel has proximity to Christian Broadcast Network, The Douglas MacArthur Memorial, Edgar Cayce Visitors Center and The Hampton Roads Naval Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 199
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MVP of the Tourney
Northern, Virginia
Jun 20, 2014

Sand Soccer Champs

It was a very nice stay for what we paid. My team and I were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bevv
Boston, MA
May 22, 2014

May 2014

Always a nice stay. clean, friendly place. always my first hotel choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great meals and coupons always in the book in the hotel room.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jk1099
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Mar 17, 2014

Weekend Trip

Upon first entering the room, it was very apparent that someone had been smoking in our "non-smoking" room; thankfully the front desk was able to switch us to a different room, but still not a great way to start the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashleetick
Hopewell, Va
Jan 7, 2014

weekend getaway!

The hotel was great, the price was very decent! Hottub and pool were veryyyy relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bevv
Boston, MA
Sep 6, 2013

another nice stay

Always choose Barclay. Clean, efficient, good location, friendly staff. Consistently good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aknicks
Buffalo, NY
May 28, 2013

Great Holiday Weekend

The hotel was nice and the staff was very friendly. I only have two minor hesitations about staying there again - 1. I wouldn't call the breakfast a "deluxe" continental - it was the very basics and not a lot of selection. It is enough to keep you satisfied for a couple hours; and 2. The air conditioning did not work all that well - The outside temperature was in the mid 70's while there so the little bit of air sufficed, but if it's going to be warmer when visiting, there could be trouble with the air not working all that well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Farmingdale,Ny
Jun 21, 2011

Not bad for the price

It was a close to the beach from the hotel. I left my car in the free garage across the street from the hotel. I never needed it because everything was a short walk. My only complaint was there was only 2 elevators for the cleaning staff and guests to use. There is no service elevator. You had to learn to time your comings and goings according to the maids' cleaning schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I thought Mahi Mah was a great seafood restaurant.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Lynchburg, VA
Mar 20, 2011

Good resort for the price.

I stayed with a friend at the Barclay while we ran the Shamrock Townebank 8K. The location is perfect and we were given an oceanfront room...I think all the rooms are oceanfront but please call them to see for sure. The interior is outdated a bit. They have updated the bathrooms but you can tell there's wear and tear - the air conditioning unit is especially loud. Our suite, however, had two separate rooms that were separated by a door. This would be nice if two couples were sharing the suite. The continental breakfast isn't anything special (donuts, bagels, cereal, coffee) but its free! The best part of our stay at the Barclay was certainly the staff. We had very good experiences with the staff. They were very helpful and happy. Make sure when you go you get the details of how and where to park. Our parking was included in our stay but we parked one night across the street (because the desk manager told us to do that) and it cost us $20 because we didn't park in the right spot!!! This was not a very good ending to our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Within 1 hour you are in Williamsburg where there is an incredible outlet center!

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Virginia Beacher
Illinois
Sep 8, 2009

Good Location

This is a great location on the beach. But the hotel is old and they need to clean in the corners of the room. Maid just walked right in while we were there and did not knock on door or bathroom door. And didn't ask if she could stay. Cleaned around us. It is nice to have the bedroom, living room, balcony on the beach and the kitchenette. Just need to update and spruce up the rooms and lobby. The worst part was trying to get my cancelled one night room stay back from Orbitz...the hotel was great about it but Orbitz caused me to have to make three phone calls before it was taken care of...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waterman's Surfside Grille was excellent. Make sure that you get the Orange Crush drink and the Crab Dip..and She Crab Soup. AWESOME atmosphere. Would definitely go back...

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pitambar
Arlington, VA
Aug 10, 2009

The Good & Bad of Barclay Towers

It is a good quiet hotel but service could be improved. At check-in the front desk clerk had told us she will call me as soon as the rooms were ready; it didn't happen. Free breakfast leaves much to be desired. Rooms are large, nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search