$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
278 reviews
Oceanfront

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great value! Look forward to staying at there for our next... See full review

  • Akgjmg
  • Jun 29, 2014
Perfect mini vacation!

I am a very picky person when it comes to my children staying at hotels, it took me 3 weeks to read... See full review

  • Ms Tisha
  • Jun 13, 2014
Residential-style oceanfront hotel with indoor pool, free breakfast
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8373 -75.9716
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport.
Area description
The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel has proximity to Christian Broadcast Network, The Douglas MacArthur Memorial, Edgar Cayce Visitors Center and The Hampton Roads Naval Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 278
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JXV1
Jersey
Jun 9, 2014

Weekend getaway

The hotel had an exit from the lobby right to the boardwalk, which was really nice. The room was average. There was a living area and balcony. The elevators were small, which required us to wait sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel provides a coupon book for local dining and a card that we scanned to see what activities were happening on the boardwalk.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEMc
PA
Jun 9, 2014

Left early...terrible beds

The bed was terrible and caused us both back and shoulder pain. This has never happended at any other hotel. We checked out a day early because of this. We had prepaid our stay through an online travel servic (O...tz) so we are out over $200 and not happy about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorenzo the golfer
Bracey, Virginia
Jun 7, 2014

Birthday get away

stay was very pleasant with a great view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to some very good restaurants. This was our 2nd stay and will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Watermans, Chix and Mahi Mah's

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LadyKVV
Gainesville, Virginia
Jun 6, 2014

Few days at the Barclay towers

I would come again. Nice suites with a king size bed, full kitchen, nice balcony and an excellent ocean view. I really enjoyed my stay here with my boyfriend. The only thing I didn't like was the noisy jet planes from the near airport. However I really recommend this hotel. Nice, clean, confortable and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mellis
Nashville
May 27, 2014

Great weekend

The staff was very friendly and try to let everyone check in early. This hotel was right on the boardwalk and within walking distance to everything. Our room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gypsy1123
Athens, AL
Apr 1, 2014

Long weekend at the beach

We enjoyed our stay at the Barclay Towers. Our suite was comfortable & clean. It's an older hotel but seems to be in good to better than average repair(from what I could tell#. Parking on site is limited but you do have access to a parking garage directly across the street. Of our three night stay, we only had to park in the garage once. And that night the hotel was at capacity and we arrived back rather late. The continental breakfast was limited. The gentleman overseeing the breakfast area was gruff with the guests and annoyed my husband greatly. This end of the Virginia Beach oceanfront is more quiet most of the time. Rudee Inlet is very close. The area around the hotel is clean and the boardwalk is well lit at night. Across the street on Atlantic Ave, there is a pizza shop called Pizza Planet. Very good pizza & a friendly staff. All the staff we encountered at the hotel was friendly as were the guests#with the exception of the gruff man in the breakfast area. One caution I have for you. We stayed on the 7th floor of the 8 story hotel. The front of the hotel is glass. All rooms are oceanfront(as far as I am aware). When staying on the upper floors you must walk past all these windows to enter your room. If you have ANY issues with heights or vertigo, please request a lower floor. The view was amazing from the balcony & living room area of our suite. There is an efficiency style kitchen. A small 4 burner stove, a dorm size fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and basic utensils with pots & pans. We enjoyed our stay and would return again. There are many nearby attractions if you tire of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center is a short to moderate drive(depending on your idea of drive time) and it is a wonderful family attraction.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jland
elizabeth city ,nc
Mar 13, 2014

Great Stay

It was nice and clean . I loved my view . I will stay again . The only thing I didn't like was the old man in the breakfast room asked what room was I in .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn1884ssss
gloucester
Feb 18, 2014

valetines weekend!

Perfect price, great staff, and wonderful room. the stay was wonderful. my boyfriend and I enjoyed the rooms they were very spacious and nice and clean. I love having the ocean view and the location was close to everything. I recommend this place to couples or a small family. if u travel with kids it has plenty of space for privacy. the air and heat unit is loud but I enjoy the noise to drown out any other guess or activities going on in the hall. the pool are was clean and the staff were talk helpful. I really thought the house keeping staff were friendly and did a wonderful job. only complaint was one of the staff members opened our door, after knocking but didn't really give me time to get to door. I guess we did check out late so not entirely the ladies fault. I will be coming back asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe Portyrata
Midlothian, Va
Jan 7, 2014

old

although the location was relatively clean the age of room furniture and color scheme were lacking creating a non 3 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emerald1065
Washington D.C.
Oct 31, 2013

Best Birthday Ever

This was one of the best getaways ever we hardly left the room, the view and the room was on point! Looking forward to our next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top