$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
199 reviews
summer vacation

One of the nicest places we have stayed good location, clean and pleasant staff. Only down... See full review

  • Leslie H.
  • Jul 20, 2015
Nice break

The room was more than I needed. It was huge. It had a loving room and a nice balcony with a... See full review

  • Sienna E.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Property features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Nearby attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Policies
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susie new york
Business
New York
Apr 28, 2014

Not what I expected

The location of the hotel was nice because it was right on the boardwalk . We found the room dirty. Chips under the bed and crumbs in the pullout couch. There was also some writing and damage on the walls that had not been fixed. We only stayed 1 night and then moved to a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hawgab
Business
Franklin, VA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

mini-vacation

Old tired looking room but the awful staff was the worst part. I would highly advise against using Barclay towers. I've been around the world and never come across a worse place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danybarb
Business
PA
Oct 5, 2013

Smoke

The breakfast as the entire hotel is listed smoke free 100%. Well apparently the man who oversees the breakfast can violate and enforce the rules as he sees fit. On our last day he approved and provided ashtrays for "certain" guests. While picking at us for taking a muffin without tongs. I say he is racist and do not recommend this outdated substandard facility. We will be Way more discerning and avoid Barclay in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEMc
Business
PA
Jun 9, 2014

Left early...terrible beds

The bed was terrible and caused us both back and shoulder pain. This has never happended at any other hotel. We checked out a day early because of this. We had prepaid our stay through an online travel servic (O...tz) so we are out over $200 and not happy about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sabrinasue68
Business
Parkersburg, WV
Aug 3, 2009

unexpected disappointment

We have stayed at this hotel every time we visited Va beach. We chose it in the past due to affordability and the room size. There is a bedroom with a true king size bed seperated from the living room with a pull out queen for the kids and a full kitchen. But this time housekeeping was disasterous!! Two day out of 4 we didnt even get towels. We ran out of toilet paper and had to hunt down the cart ourselves to replenish it. NOTHING was restocked like the shampoo or coffee. Desk service was rude and hotel staff actually parked in the limited parking spaces in front of the hotel! We never did get a spot in the lot all wk. But we did see employees leaving from those spots late in the evening. We have stayed there for years but will never go back. We are very disappointed to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Planet pizza is across the street and its a must eat!! Captain Goerge is a drive for a seafood buffet but everyone suggested it so we tried it. $30 per person 12 and up. Good food but not alot of variety and not very kid friendly. No chicken nuggets and fries here. We also tried dough boys pizza and dont recommend it.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville Sc
Mar 9, 2010

Don't stay here

We booked a hotel with an indoor pool, spa and a fitness center. We payed extra for these things. When we arrive the pool,spa and fitness center were all closed for repairs. Nothing was done to make up for the inconvince. Not even an appolige. The room was not cleaned properly. I will never stay at this poorly run hotel again. Terrible time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hunting town maryland
Jul 21, 2009

baclay towers hotel critique

this facility was poor one of the worst i have ever stayed in at 270 a night you would expect better. There toilet was dirty when we entered the room there was urine in the toilet that had not been cleaned before we were given the key. this was a turnoff from the start. The key card for the doors opened the front door but not the balcony door which caused us to be locked out on balcony the first time we left the room. the staff said they knew of this problem but they failed to tell us about it and could offer no explanation why they did not tell us. the biggest problem was that there was a noise in the ceiling the whole time we were in the room. the noise sounded like running water. this was very annoying and it made it impossible to sleep.; When we told the staff about this they admitted that they knew about this noise from another complaint but they still rented the room without fixing it. this rom #102 should not be rented until all of the problems are repaired. I think the staff should have offered us some sort of compensation for all of these problems but they did not seem to concerned. If i wrer you i would look closely into these problems as the poor service reflects back to you since you act as there agent. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, Va
Aug 2, 2009

Room Cleanliness

See above. The staff was nice enough. But due to the above comments we will not stay thee again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 18, 2010

"Booked on [...]?Worst room for you!"

The moment my wife and I arrived at the hotel, we knew it was trouble. We were probably given the worst room because "we booked on-line." The manager told us the resort didn't honor on-line booking room requests. In addition, the room was in front of the elevator and in the morning we had to squeeze past garbage cans left by the house-keeping crew. Our wake-up call was the cleaning crew congregated by our room door. Book Barclays? Never Again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
Aug 29, 2009

The worse hotel ever!

Let me start with the good points of this hotel. It was located at the South end of town. Other than location, I can't say anything positive about this hotel and would recommend not spending your money to stay here. The rooms were dirty and not updated. We had to change rooms due to the shower head not working and the air conditioner being too noisy. Our 2nd room was even worse! A moth flew out of the furniture, outside furniture was missing, we had to unplug lights to turn them off, the bathtub didn't drain while showering, mold was on the ceiling of the bathroom, and the toilet was dirty. Our room smelled like garbage after arriving back from the beach one afternoon. Dirty, dirty, dirty!!!!! I tried to get a refund from the hotel but since I booked with Orbitz they said they couldn't help me. I would also recommend being very careful and checking all reviews on other websites before deciding on a hotel. I plan to contact Orbitz about the bad experience we had at the Barclay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top