$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
279 reviews
great vacation

We have been here on a timeshare and this time as a hotel guest. This time our bikes were stolen... See full review

  • sue80
  • Jul 7, 2014
Oceanfront

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great value! Look forward to staying at there for our next... See full review

  • Akgjmg
  • Jun 29, 2014
Residential-style oceanfront hotel with indoor pool, free breakfast
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8373 -75.9716
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport.
Area description
The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel has proximity to Christian Broadcast Network, The Douglas MacArthur Memorial, Edgar Cayce Visitors Center and The Hampton Roads Naval Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
hunting town maryland
Jul 21, 2009

baclay towers hotel critique

this facility was poor one of the worst i have ever stayed in at 270 a night you would expect better. There toilet was dirty when we entered the room there was urine in the toilet that had not been cleaned before we were given the key. this was a turnoff from the start. The key card for the doors opened the front door but not the balcony door which caused us to be locked out on balcony the first time we left the room. the staff said they knew of this problem but they failed to tell us about it and could offer no explanation why they did not tell us. the biggest problem was that there was a noise in the ceiling the whole time we were in the room. the noise sounded like running water. this was very annoying and it made it impossible to sleep.; When we told the staff about this they admitted that they knew about this noise from another complaint but they still rented the room without fixing it. this rom #102 should not be rented until all of the problems are repaired. I think the staff should have offered us some sort of compensation for all of these problems but they did not seem to concerned. If i wrer you i would look closely into these problems as the poor service reflects back to you since you act as there agent. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Masikof
Germny Niedersachsen
Jul 1, 2009

never again

- loud - dirty - not in accordance to the internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
hunting town maryland
Jul 21, 2009

baclay towers hotel critique

this facility was poor one of the worst i have ever stayed in at 270 a night you would expect better. There toilet was dirty when we entered the room there was urine in the toilet that had not been cleaned before we were given the key. this was a turnoff from the start. The key card for the doors opened the front door but not the balcony door which caused us to be locked out on balcony the first time we left the room. the staff said they knew of this problem but they failed to tell us about it and could offer no explanation why they did not tell us. the biggest problem was that there was a noise in the ceiling the whole time we were in the room. the noise sounded like running water. this was very annoying and it made it impossible to sleep.; When we told the staff about this they admitted that they knew about this noise from another complaint but they still rented the room without fixing it. this rom #102 should not be rented until all of the problems are repaired. I think the staff should have offered us some sort of compensation for all of these problems but they did not seem to concerned. If i wrer you i would look closely into these problems as the poor service reflects back to you since you act as there agent. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danybarb
PA
Oct 5, 2013

Smoke

The breakfast as the entire hotel is listed smoke free 100%. Well apparently the man who oversees the breakfast can violate and enforce the rules as he sees fit. On our last day he approved and provided ashtrays for "certain" guests. While picking at us for taking a muffin without tongs. I say he is racist and do not recommend this outdated substandard facility. We will be Way more discerning and avoid Barclay in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Petersburg, Va
Aug 2, 2009

Room Cleanliness

See above. The staff was nice enough. But due to the above comments we will not stay thee again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 18, 2010

"Booked on [...]?Worst room for you!"

The moment my wife and I arrived at the hotel, we knew it was trouble. We were probably given the worst room because "we booked on-line." The manager told us the resort didn't honor on-line booking room requests. In addition, the room was in front of the elevator and in the morning we had to squeeze past garbage cans left by the house-keeping crew. Our wake-up call was the cleaning crew congregated by our room door. Book Barclays? Never Again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sabrinasue68
Parkersburg, WV
Aug 3, 2009

unexpected disappointment

We have stayed at this hotel every time we visited Va beach. We chose it in the past due to affordability and the room size. There is a bedroom with a true king size bed seperated from the living room with a pull out queen for the kids and a full kitchen. But this time housekeeping was disasterous!! Two day out of 4 we didnt even get towels. We ran out of toilet paper and had to hunt down the cart ourselves to replenish it. NOTHING was restocked like the shampoo or coffee. Desk service was rude and hotel staff actually parked in the limited parking spaces in front of the hotel! We never did get a spot in the lot all wk. But we did see employees leaving from those spots late in the evening. We have stayed there for years but will never go back. We are very disappointed to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Planet pizza is across the street and its a must eat!! Captain Goerge is a drive for a seafood buffet but everyone suggested it so we tried it. $30 per person 12 and up. Good food but not alot of variety and not very kid friendly. No chicken nuggets and fries here. We also tried dough boys pizza and dont recommend it.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 18, 2010

"Booked on [...]?Worst room for you!"

The moment my wife and I arrived at the hotel, we knew it was trouble. We were probably given the worst room because "we booked on-line." The manager told us the resort didn't honor on-line booking room requests. In addition, the room was in front of the elevator and in the morning we had to squeeze past garbage cans left by the house-keeping crew. Our wake-up call was the cleaning crew congregated by our room door. Book Barclays? Never Again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charleston Fun Tour
Delaware
Dec 28, 2010

Great Location, View - Aging Facility

My reception at the front desk for check in was very good. The night manager was a very cordial, knowledgeable woman willing to help in any she could. Check in and out were a breeze. The location and view are great. Unfortunately the infrastructure is an aging relic in need of a complete renovation. The carpets, furniture, everything is past well worn. The housekeeping was substandard. Off-site parking in the blizzard was not a welcome event for this traveler. The heating/ventilation system in my room had a circulating fan that sounded like marbles in an oil barrel! Each time it started and ran it awakened me. Until it is renovated I will not return or recommend it to any other traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia pa
Aug 29, 2009

The worse hotel ever!

Let me start with the good points of this hotel. It was located at the South end of town. Other than location, I can't say anything positive about this hotel and would recommend not spending your money to stay here. The rooms were dirty and not updated. We had to change rooms due to the shower head not working and the air conditioner being too noisy. Our 2nd room was even worse! A moth flew out of the furniture, outside furniture was missing, we had to unplug lights to turn them off, the bathtub didn't drain while showering, mold was on the ceiling of the bathroom, and the toilet was dirty. Our room smelled like garbage after arriving back from the beach one afternoon. Dirty, dirty, dirty!!!!! I tried to get a refund from the hotel but since I booked with Orbitz they said they couldn't help me. I would also recommend being very careful and checking all reviews on other websites before deciding on a hotel. I plan to contact Orbitz about the bad experience we had at the Barclay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top