$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
283 reviews
great vacation

We have been here on a timeshare and this time as a hotel guest. This time our bikes were stolen... See full review

  • sue80
  • Jul 7, 2014
Oceanfront

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great value! Look forward to staying at there for our next... See full review

  • Akgjmg
  • Jun 29, 2014
Residential-style oceanfront hotel with indoor pool, free breakfast
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8373 -75.9716
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport.
Area description
The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel has proximity to Christian Broadcast Network, The Douglas MacArthur Memorial, Edgar Cayce Visitors Center and The Hampton Roads Naval Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Apr 22, 2009

Barclay Towers VA Beach

The hotel was clean and the rooms were large with wonderful views of the ocean. One could eat within walking distance. Seafood Harbor and Pier 23 were great restaurants. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafood Harbor had a great seafood buffet and friendly staff. Pier 23 had great breakfast buffets and very hospitable waitress.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 7, 2008

Very nice!

The room was great! The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants are everywhere, and it's a short drive.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hopewell
Jan 1, 2009

Excellent in every way!

The Barclay Towers in Virginia Beach, VA, is a beautiful fully equipped all-suite hotel with all oceanfront rooms and private balconies, all with spectacular beach/ocean views! We can't wait to go back in the summer when we can enjoy the boardwalk and the beautiful beach just outside the hotel, and we hope to go back next December 31st! The hotel is excellent in every way -- and we recommend it highly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of excellent restaurants nearby, even though some were closed for the winter season. Also beautiful indoor swimming pool and exercise room to work off those great meals!

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Courtis Kurtney
Virginia
Mar 24, 2013

Great room for couples

We had a great weekend stay. It was fairly convenient for us to get every where we wanted to go. The bedroom was very clean but we did notice a tissue stuck in the side of the mirror in the bathroom. The breakfast was good but it could have used a little more updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emerald1065
Washington D.C.
Oct 31, 2013

Best Birthday Ever

This was one of the best getaways ever we hardly left the room, the view and the room was on point! Looking forward to our next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Me
Pea Ridge, ar
May 4, 2009

Great Location, Great Value

Great family location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wonderful Mom
Wingina, VA
Aug 2, 2010

Fantastic family vacation

This hotel is first-class, recently renovated and lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Zanesville, OH
Oct 3, 2008

Beautiful View

I was very satisfied with the Barclay Towers in Virginia Beach. The room was just as described on the interent. It was a nice home away from home while I was on vacation. The view from the balcony was absolutely georgeous!!! It was nice to see the sunrise every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were all kind of restuarants along the boardwalk and the main road that were within walking distnce of the hotel.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NKOTB BLOCKHEAD
In the middle of South Carolina
Jun 16, 2009

Did NOT want to go home!!!

Went to Va.Beach for a New Kids concert, having drove in from Atlanta. EVERYTHING was amazing, I checked in at around 1 PM, NO problem. The parking is not great, but there's a WONDERFUL trolley system I took advantage of after getting a space which my car took a vacation in! I highly recommend Seafood Harbor located at 3208 Atlantic, GREAT service!!! I loved everything about the trip that I stayed an extra day! I didn't wanna go home! They had Bath & Body Works items in the bathroom, THAT was surprising even to B&Body Works! The Kitchenette has plates, cups, etc. I even joked about baking a cake there! The view is OMG amazing! The views at sunset & sunrise...UNBEATABLE! I never even found the sauna, too much to do already! I do wanna let people know the door leading to the beach is locked at 11 PM. There is an alleyway between the buildings, so it was not bad, but if you are skittish of alleys (which this one was VERY clear), the closest walkway around is I think a block away, UNSURE, because I literally said what the heck, put the flip flops on & walked through the alley. Anyway, GREAT TIME!!! ENJOY your stay if you choose this hotel! They go above & beyond the call of duty!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get on the trolley (no drive for you hee hee), and check out Seafood Harbor at 3208 Atlantic Ave. You want the Oceanview (? it's ocean something)trolley. They have everything on the buffet fresh, hot & ready to go! ESPECIALLY the crab legs. YUM! They were full the whole time! Waitresses were amazing, catered to everything, kept my glass full, etc. The price was $27 a person when I went, but it is WELL worth it! ENJOY!

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mellis
Nashville
May 27, 2014

Great weekend

The staff was very friendly and try to let everyone check in early. This hotel was right on the boardwalk and within walking distance to everything. Our room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top