$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
201 reviews
Best stay yet

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Barclay for an extended weekend stay. In previous years,... See full review

  • Ourfamilytravelagent
  • Aug 15, 2014
Fantastic stay right on the ocean!

Love, love, love this place! This is our 2nd time here and I am sure we will be back. Highly... See full review

  • shelant
  • Jul 24, 2014
Residential-style oceanfront hotel with indoor pool, free breakfast
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8373 -75.9716
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport.
Area description
The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel has proximity to Christian Broadcast Network, The Douglas MacArthur Memorial, Edgar Cayce Visitors Center and The Hampton Roads Naval Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kidless
Virginia Beach
Feb 25, 2013

Get away

Very pleasant, great location, pool area was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaina M. Hall
Virginia Beach,Va
Jan 15, 2013

Great hotel

Stayed for one night to celebrate my fiancees birthday and had a great time. Right on the beach with a great view, from your personal balcony. Has a fully stocked kitchen so you can cook a full meal,also has a nice size fridge. The bed was so comfortable! I also got it at a wonderful price. One of the best hotels I have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Kroger or Walmart and buy food, so you don't have to order a lot. It can get expensive and with this hotel having a fully stocked kitchen it makes it easy to cook!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TR Strunk
Collegeville, PA
Dec 2, 2012

Nice but noisy

We found the room to be clean and comfortable. The only complaint we had was the noise at night time. With the bedroom towards the hallway we could hear loud guest during the night (Talking, yelling, kids screaming). The bed was comfortable. Plenty of towels and linens in the room. View was great as was the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

My wife and I have been to Va Beach both during the summer season as well as off season. We find we enjoy the off season more because of the more quite atmosphere and much less crowds and easier to get around the streets. So if you are look for quite time and romance I suggest off season visits to Va Beach. Also always ask about parking of larger vehicles. Many parking area's are best for small cars and unfriendly to larger SUV's and pickups though this wasn't a problem at the Barclay towers but is at many of the other hotels in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donniec143
Long Island NY
Oct 24, 2012

Great place to see our son while in the navy

Great time , hotel was very nice. A little out dated but a great value. Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petersontools
Lebanon, Virginia
Sep 23, 2012

Our Va Beach renewal

Have been a guest at the Barclay Tower on a number of our visits to Va Beach...even though it's an older hotel, staff and stay were and always have been superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rockafeller's Restaurant...excellent seafood and service...a real winner! Go Rockafeller's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YouWontLetMeUseTheOneIWan
CT
Sep 16, 2012

End of summer relaxation

Great location, great staff. Rooms need updating. Large king size bed was too soft and the bathroom was clean but grout staining made it look dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waterman's great food and atmosphere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prefer no name
Midwest
Sep 10, 2012

Enjoyed hotel, but...

The room above me or below me had smokers in it, even though it was a non-smoking hotel. The stench kept coming through the vents and I am asthmatic. Front desk said there was nothing they could do about it until the other guests checked out and then they would chrage their room for additional cleaning. Great...but didn't help me at all. Slept on the balcony one nite..that goodness for an ocean view, great weather and a beautiful sunrise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
good dude
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

Family vacation

Good location, Free so/so breakfast, free parking, nice beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shamrock00
East Hartford , Ct
Sep 3, 2012

Family vacation

Really liked this hotel..The mattress in the pull out was dirty and it took them 2 nights to change it They did take something off the bill.Overall it was a really nice hotel..They said it was in the middle of all the shop but it wasn't it was towards the end but it worked out good. There wasnt to may people at that end of the beach. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Planet Pizza was a really good place to eat and it was right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ourfamilytravelagent
King William, va
Aug 29, 2012

Va family

We enjoyed our extended weekend vacation to va beach. This is our 3rd time staying at Barclay. We stay here every time because the suite layout works great for our young family. The separate bedroom in the front of the suite allows our small children to sleep while my husband and I can stay up later in the living area or on the balcony without disturbing them. The price cannot be beat for oceanfront suites with a kitchen. Include the location (in the less crowded area of the beach), free continental breakfast and the indoor pool, good luck trying to find a better price. We are willing to overlook the fact that the building is older, the elevators can be slow at times, the breakfast is pretty basic and they always seem to run out of towels at the pool. The price is right. The staff is helpful and the room, although old, is clean and the view from every room is breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Planet across the street is very convenient and reasonably priced. We fed our family of 5 for just a few dollars more than a trip to McDonalds would have cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search