$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susie new york
Business
New York
Apr 28, 2014

Not what I expected

The location of the hotel was nice because it was right on the boardwalk . We found the room dirty. Chips under the bed and crumbs in the pullout couch. There was also some writing and damage on the walls that had not been fixed. We only stayed 1 night and then moved to a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K Faragher Houghton
Business
Mid-Coast Maine
Apr 27, 2014

Great location, big suites, great price

We really enjoyed staying at the Barclay Towers due to the large suite, the indoor heated pool, and the great location right on the Boardwalk/beach also within walking/short drive distance of stores including good natural food stores (Whole Foods and local health food stores), a fishing pier, a dolphin watching boat ride, etc. Also, the price for 6 nights for us really was great, for all that we got with our suite. We found the staff at the Barclay a little all over the place. The front desk staff across the board were not friendly, were short and did not know the area. When we checked in the person couldn't locate our reservation, then I was told to "Google it," when asking about nail salons in the area, when asking about ice cream recommendations was told they were all over the place so go look, and received a short "Ok" when I called for an extra blanket for the room. We also were concerned about the news programs going on constantly during the continental breakfast, so my children got to see all the criminal happenings of the day, and when I asked to change the channel was told, "The manager wants it on the news," although the gentleman at the door did change it for me. Housekeeping staff were wonderful, friendly, and helpful across the board. In terms of the kitchen utensils provided in the room, we could have used some extra gear like a pasta strainer, bottle opener, one sharp knife, etc. But the other basics were there. We would stay here again because of the great value of the suite, and the location. We previously traveled to St. Pete's Beach, Florida, and Myrtle Beach, SC, and found this vacation spot a better value than either of those locations. We have two young children and found lots for them to do within walking distance or a very short drive - the Aquarium is one of the best we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

On every corner in Virginia Beach and in many restaurants and shops, representatives offering discount tickets to various restaurants and boat rides, attractions, etc., will approach you. Their goal is to book you for a timeshare presentation, and they are very good at what they do once you are in the door. Be prepared to offer a "no thank you" right there on the street, because it will get much harder to say no once you go through the presentation, even though most timeshares are sold to people who really cannot afford them. BEWARE.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EHMIV
Business
Columbia,SC
Apr 19, 2014

Good family spot

Room was clean, staff was nice. It was cold so the indoor pool was great. The continental breakfast is cereal & muffins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moe Hawa
Business
Ashburn va
Apr 15, 2014

Best place to stay at Virginia Beach!!!

The staff was very polite, the rooms are very clean ,great location and the price was good!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tHATBOY69
Business
SILVER SPRING , MD
Apr 13, 2014

college touring

was the perfect location for combo trip. we toured colleges in the a.m. and the enjoyed the afternoon til nights at the beach with round trip driving under 40 miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Captain gEORGES.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gypsy1123
Business
Athens, AL
Apr 1, 2014

Long weekend at the beach

We enjoyed our stay at the Barclay Towers. Our suite was comfortable & clean. It's an older hotel but seems to be in good to better than average repair(from what I could tell#. Parking on site is limited but you do have access to a parking garage directly across the street. Of our three night stay, we only had to park in the garage once. And that night the hotel was at capacity and we arrived back rather late. The continental breakfast was limited. The gentleman overseeing the breakfast area was gruff with the guests and annoyed my husband greatly. This end of the Virginia Beach oceanfront is more quiet most of the time. Rudee Inlet is very close. The area around the hotel is clean and the boardwalk is well lit at night. Across the street on Atlantic Ave, there is a pizza shop called Pizza Planet. Very good pizza & a friendly staff. All the staff we encountered at the hotel was friendly as were the guests#with the exception of the gruff man in the breakfast area. One caution I have for you. We stayed on the 7th floor of the 8 story hotel. The front of the hotel is glass. All rooms are oceanfront(as far as I am aware). When staying on the upper floors you must walk past all these windows to enter your room. If you have ANY issues with heights or vertigo, please request a lower floor. The view was amazing from the balcony & living room area of our suite. There is an efficiency style kitchen. A small 4 burner stove, a dorm size fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and basic utensils with pots & pans. We enjoyed our stay and would return again. There are many nearby attractions if you tire of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center is a short to moderate drive(depending on your idea of drive time) and it is a wonderful family attraction.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hibiscus11
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 22, 2014

Clean, quiet, has what you need.

All-suite hotel. Very convenient to the area..right up the road from attractions like the Marine Science Museum, Ocean Breeze. On the beach, all the rooms open out to the Atlantic. Room was very clean and neat, kitchen fully equipped with stove, oven, microwave, sink with dish soap and clean sponge. Dishes, pots and pans. Decorative style is slightly outdated but no big deal. Indoor pool, hot tub and workout room. Small continental breakfast in the morning. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jk1099
Business
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Mar 17, 2014

Weekend Trip

Upon first entering the room, it was very apparent that someone had been smoking in our "non-smoking" room; thankfully the front desk was able to switch us to a different room, but still not a great way to start the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jland
Business
elizabeth city ,nc
Mar 13, 2014

Great Stay

It was nice and clean . I loved my view . I will stay again . The only thing I didn't like was the old man in the breakfast room asked what room was I in .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn1884ssss
Business
gloucester
Feb 18, 2014

valetines weekend!

Perfect price, great staff, and wonderful room. the stay was wonderful. my boyfriend and I enjoyed the rooms they were very spacious and nice and clean. I love having the ocean view and the location was close to everything. I recommend this place to couples or a small family. if u travel with kids it has plenty of space for privacy. the air and heat unit is loud but I enjoy the noise to drown out any other guess or activities going on in the hall. the pool are was clean and the staff were talk helpful. I really thought the house keeping staff were friendly and did a wonderful job. only complaint was one of the staff members opened our door, after knocking but didn't really give me time to get to door. I guess we did check out late so not entirely the ladies fault. I will be coming back asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top