$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
200 reviews
Best stay yet

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Barclay for an extended weekend stay. In previous years,... See full review

  • Ourfamilytravelagent
  • Aug 15, 2014
Fantastic stay right on the ocean!

Love, love, love this place! This is our 2nd time here and I am sure we will be back. Highly... See full review

  • shelant
  • Jul 24, 2014
Residential-style oceanfront hotel with indoor pool, free breakfast
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8373 -75.9716
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport.
Area description
The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel has proximity to Christian Broadcast Network, The Douglas MacArthur Memorial, Edgar Cayce Visitors Center and The Hampton Roads Naval Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K Faragher Houghton
Mid-Coast Maine
Apr 27, 2014

Great location, big suites, great price

We really enjoyed staying at the Barclay Towers due to the large suite, the indoor heated pool, and the great location right on the Boardwalk/beach also within walking/short drive distance of stores including good natural food stores (Whole Foods and local health food stores), a fishing pier, a dolphin watching boat ride, etc. Also, the price for 6 nights for us really was great, for all that we got with our suite. We found the staff at the Barclay a little all over the place. The front desk staff across the board were not friendly, were short and did not know the area. When we checked in the person couldn't locate our reservation, then I was told to "Google it," when asking about nail salons in the area, when asking about ice cream recommendations was told they were all over the place so go look, and received a short "Ok" when I called for an extra blanket for the room. We also were concerned about the news programs going on constantly during the continental breakfast, so my children got to see all the criminal happenings of the day, and when I asked to change the channel was told, "The manager wants it on the news," although the gentleman at the door did change it for me. Housekeeping staff were wonderful, friendly, and helpful across the board. In terms of the kitchen utensils provided in the room, we could have used some extra gear like a pasta strainer, bottle opener, one sharp knife, etc. But the other basics were there. We would stay here again because of the great value of the suite, and the location. We previously traveled to St. Pete's Beach, Florida, and Myrtle Beach, SC, and found this vacation spot a better value than either of those locations. We have two young children and found lots for them to do within walking distance or a very short drive - the Aquarium is one of the best we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

On every corner in Virginia Beach and in many restaurants and shops, representatives offering discount tickets to various restaurants and boat rides, attractions, etc., will approach you. Their goal is to book you for a timeshare presentation, and they are very good at what they do once you are in the door. Be prepared to offer a "no thank you" right there on the street, because it will get much harder to say no once you go through the presentation, even though most timeshares are sold to people who really cannot afford them. BEWARE.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EHMIV
Columbia,SC
Apr 19, 2014

Good family spot

Room was clean, staff was nice. It was cold so the indoor pool was great. The continental breakfast is cereal & muffins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moe Hawa
Ashburn va
Apr 15, 2014

Best place to stay at Virginia Beach!!!

The staff was very polite, the rooms are very clean ,great location and the price was good!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tHATBOY69
SILVER SPRING , MD
Apr 13, 2014

college touring

was the perfect location for combo trip. we toured colleges in the a.m. and the enjoyed the afternoon til nights at the beach with round trip driving under 40 miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Captain gEORGES.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gypsy1123
Athens, AL
Apr 1, 2014

Long weekend at the beach

We enjoyed our stay at the Barclay Towers. Our suite was comfortable & clean. It's an older hotel but seems to be in good to better than average repair(from what I could tell#. Parking on site is limited but you do have access to a parking garage directly across the street. Of our three night stay, we only had to park in the garage once. And that night the hotel was at capacity and we arrived back rather late. The continental breakfast was limited. The gentleman overseeing the breakfast area was gruff with the guests and annoyed my husband greatly. This end of the Virginia Beach oceanfront is more quiet most of the time. Rudee Inlet is very close. The area around the hotel is clean and the boardwalk is well lit at night. Across the street on Atlantic Ave, there is a pizza shop called Pizza Planet. Very good pizza & a friendly staff. All the staff we encountered at the hotel was friendly as were the guests#with the exception of the gruff man in the breakfast area. One caution I have for you. We stayed on the 7th floor of the 8 story hotel. The front of the hotel is glass. All rooms are oceanfront(as far as I am aware). When staying on the upper floors you must walk past all these windows to enter your room. If you have ANY issues with heights or vertigo, please request a lower floor. The view was amazing from the balcony & living room area of our suite. There is an efficiency style kitchen. A small 4 burner stove, a dorm size fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and basic utensils with pots & pans. We enjoyed our stay and would return again. There are many nearby attractions if you tire of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center is a short to moderate drive(depending on your idea of drive time) and it is a wonderful family attraction.

Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hibiscus11
San Diego, CA
Mar 22, 2014

Clean, quiet, has what you need.

All-suite hotel. Very convenient to the area..right up the road from attractions like the Marine Science Museum, Ocean Breeze. On the beach, all the rooms open out to the Atlantic. Room was very clean and neat, kitchen fully equipped with stove, oven, microwave, sink with dish soap and clean sponge. Dishes, pots and pans. Decorative style is slightly outdated but no big deal. Indoor pool, hot tub and workout room. Small continental breakfast in the morning. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jk1099
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Mar 17, 2014

Weekend Trip

Upon first entering the room, it was very apparent that someone had been smoking in our "non-smoking" room; thankfully the front desk was able to switch us to a different room, but still not a great way to start the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jland
elizabeth city ,nc
Mar 13, 2014

Great Stay

It was nice and clean . I loved my view . I will stay again . The only thing I didn't like was the old man in the breakfast room asked what room was I in .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn1884ssss
gloucester
Feb 18, 2014

valetines weekend!

Perfect price, great staff, and wonderful room. the stay was wonderful. my boyfriend and I enjoyed the rooms they were very spacious and nice and clean. I love having the ocean view and the location was close to everything. I recommend this place to couples or a small family. if u travel with kids it has plenty of space for privacy. the air and heat unit is loud but I enjoy the noise to drown out any other guess or activities going on in the hall. the pool are was clean and the staff were talk helpful. I really thought the house keeping staff were friendly and did a wonderful job. only complaint was one of the staff members opened our door, after knocking but didn't really give me time to get to door. I guess we did check out late so not entirely the ladies fault. I will be coming back asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe Portyrata
Midlothian, Va
Jan 7, 2014

old

although the location was relatively clean the age of room furniture and color scheme were lacking creating a non 3 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search