$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveTanguay
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 18, 2014

Nice Large King Suite

Was happy with our stay. Contenental breakfast was nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bouncing Bobby
Business
Media, PA
Jul 13, 2014

HIghly Recommend - Will Stay Again

I spent 4 hours looking for a place on the beach. The Barclay Towers had the best combination of price, good reviews, location and amenities. I wanted a view onto the beach and requested one of the upper floors. They accommodated us and we ended up on the top floor (8th). Part of the plan was to watch the sun come up on the beach. We were able to change this; we sipped coffee on the balcony as a brilliant red sunrise presented itself. It was awesome! The king size bed was very comfortable and separate from the living space with a sofa bed. The sofa bed worked out well for my 11 year old and gave the wife and I privacy, a hard thing to find on vacation. There is a small kitchenette stocked with enough cooking items and dishes to get by. We liked the beach at 8th street. It was not crowded and the sand was nice. I spent 2 1/2 days on the fishing pier at 15th street. The fishing was good. I caught Roundhead, Spots, Croaker and Blues. Having the kitchen was great as we had fresh fish for dinner. The staff was very nice and helpful. The price was close to half the normal room rate of $300.00 a night. I figure we saved at least $100.00 on breakfast (they have a nice continental breakfast), and another $150.00 on lunches and dinners. Plus we saved by only using the car once in the 4 days we stayed. OTHER THINGS: My wife loved the bus system. The Side Street Café had great Mexican food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from the Haunted Mansion, House of Mirrors etc. A complete waste of money. Virginia Beach does a nice job of providing street entertainment. We saw the Kenyan Acrobats perform a side street which was blocked off. About 200 people watched the 45 minute show. They did an amazing performance even though it was a bit windy. And best of all it was free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yokkonee
Business
Madison, Mississippi
Jul 9, 2014

Nice Family Vacation

The hotel is family friendly. The room is big enough for 2 adults and two small children, who do not mind sharing a sofa bed. The view was very pleasant. Well equipped with basic kitchen tools and consumable items, such as kitchen paper and dish soap. Do not expect top quality furniture and bathroom, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants with variety. May need to make a reservation or go early to have a seat to dine in popular restaurants. Everything is within walking distance if you do not mind walking about a mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sue80
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 7, 2014

great vacation

We have been here on a timeshare and this time as a hotel guest. This time our bikes were stolen from the front bike rack. They were locked up. We put in an incident report and the front desk said they recommend putting your bikes in your room. There are no signs recommending that, just a sign stating they are not responsible for theft or damage to bikes. We never heard another word about our incident report.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Akgjmg
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
Jun 29, 2014

Oceanfront

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great value! Look forward to staying at there for our next vacation! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bo minor
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 23, 2014

Great location rooms could improve

This was a great family location, however the rooms could use a little more cleaning, and having the bed basically at the door with house keeping lined against the wall makes it hard to get breakfast while someone is still sleeping in the bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
duran clan mom
Business
Woodbridge, va
Jun 21, 2014

perfect affordable getaway

The room we stayed in was not truly up to date but who cares. The room was clean, we had a fridge, a mini stove, nice bathroom and all the rooms were facing the beach. We expected a better breakfast but bagels and donuts were better than nothing. The room didnt have a dvd for the kids but there were two tvs and cable. We went to va beach for a small midweek vacation and thats just what we got. The place was quiet and beachfront. For what we paid it was a steal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you drive right outside of the beach off of 22nd st you will find lots of good restaurants like outback, captain georges, pho 79, starbucks etc. Beats most of the food on atlantic ave. Planet pizza is across from the hotel and their food was okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MVP of the Tourney
Business
Northern, Virginia
Jun 20, 2014

Sand Soccer Champs

It was a very nice stay for what we paid. My team and I were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StellaJ
Business
Arlington,VA
Jun 17, 2014

Nice location

The location was perfect. Directly on the boardwalk with a view of the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Tisha
Business
Lynchburg Virginia
Jun 13, 2014

Perfect mini vacation!

I am a very picky person when it comes to my children staying at hotels, it took me 3 weeks to read ALL the reviews for the hotels Oceanside. But nevertheless it only took me 2 hours to go thru the entire website to make them my choice, not that it was hard but it was to good to be true! When I arrived I was greeted with 2 very polite front desk clerks my check in was less then 5 minutes, My room was even BETTER than expected! On the reviews people complained about the smell BUT with everyone dripping water from the sea an the pool/hot tub it should be expected to have a wet smell!! Housing keeping was polite, the pool guys were polite Everyone that i walked pass spoke with sincere friendly face! My stay was too short my next visit WILL only be at the Barclay I will never shop around again! Boardwalk beach food an shopping is all rite there! Park your can an don't drive again until your leaving!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All different kinds of food in the area to choose from!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top