$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
202 reviews
Best stay yet

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Barclay for an extended weekend stay. In previous years,... See full review

  • Ourfamilytravelagent
  • Aug 15, 2014
Fantastic stay right on the ocean!

Love, love, love this place! This is our 2nd time here and I am sure we will be back. Highly... See full review

  • shelant
  • Jul 24, 2014
Residential-style oceanfront hotel with indoor pool, free breakfast
Families and other vacationers value the beachfront address of this all-suite hotel. The boardwalk is just outside the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel's doors, and guests have easy access to local attractions, such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier. The all-suite rooms have balconies, full kitchens and free Wi-Fi. There is an indoor pool and free continental breakfast.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per unit
  • Suites have ocean views and full kitchens
  • Close to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier
  • Indoor pool with sun roof

Rooms
Easy tropical style pervades the 138 suites at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel that all face the Atlantic Ocean. Wireless-enabled rooms are set up with sleeping, dining and lounging space and a full kitchen. Coastal-inspired artwork coordinates with orange- and palm-colored bedding. Private balconies deliver boardwalk views. A sofa bed affords extra room. With the exception of the kitchen, rooms are cleaned twice weekly.

Features

The boardwalk and beach are just steps from the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel. Guests can also find recreational activities on the property. There is a heated indoor pool with a sun roof and a hot tub. The fitness center has Life Fitness strength and cardio machines and beach views. A video game room occupies the kids.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)
Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.7 mi/42.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (51.1 mi/82.2 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.8 mi/80.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (47.1 mi/75.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • The Ghent District (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • First Landing State Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8373 -75.9716
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport.
Area description
The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel has proximity to Christian Broadcast Network, The Douglas MacArthur Memorial, Edgar Cayce Visitors Center and The Hampton Roads Naval Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Each room has a King bed with pull-out sofa bed and also has a kitchen with microwave oven, stove, oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, cookware and place settings for four. All of our overnight guests are offered free continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Motor World: 1.9 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.5 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.8 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.4 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.2 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have two banquet rooms directly on the Atlantic Ocean that are absolutely beautiful. The Ocean Vista Room has approximately 2400 square feet and can seat up to 150 people. The room has atrium windows that give a spectacular view of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Boardwalk. The room also includes a private canopied patio directly on the beach. The Boardwalk Room can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shelant
Germany
Jul 24, 2014

Fantastic stay right on the ocean!

Love, love, love this place! This is our 2nd time here and I am sure we will be back. Highly recommended! Enough said :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeckiP
Salyersville, KY
Jul 20, 2014

Family getaway

After looking for several days for an oceanfront hotel at a decent price, I chose this one. Upon checkin, Alex at the front desk was great. The hotel is your typical beach hotel but was clean and perfect location. I was traveling with my husband and three daughters ages 7, 10 and 16 and we was comfortable in the room. The door from the hallway opens into the bedroom so when my husband would go out at 530 am to metal detect, it would wake me up but otherwise room size was good. The view was AWESOME!! The lighting in the room wasn't the best because there was no overhead lighting only lamps but it was good enough. There is a small kitchen area with a stove, fridge and sink. The only complaint I have is the shower. It has really hard jets and pressure. Now normally this wouldn't be an issue but being on the beach and coming in with a sunburn made it very difficult to shower without pain. There is also a pool and hot tub with a bathroom with a shower and lockers that was nice. Complimentary breakfast is provided and it had a good selection but the best part is being able to sit outside in the patio area facing the ocean while you ate. Overall it was a good couple of days beach stay for us at a nice hotel. Make sure to bring beach chairs, beach umbrellas, towels, etc because there is a rental charge (not via hotel) if you don't!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Crazy Buffet about 20 mins from hotel. Great Asian/American Buffet for the price. Local seafood buffets where outrageous priced but this one was a little over 10 for dinner and had the biggest buffet I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveTanguay
Tampa, FL
Jul 18, 2014

Nice Large King Suite

Was happy with our stay. Contenental breakfast was nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bouncing Bobby
Media, PA
Jul 13, 2014

HIghly Recommend - Will Stay Again

I spent 4 hours looking for a place on the beach. The Barclay Towers had the best combination of price, good reviews, location and amenities. I wanted a view onto the beach and requested one of the upper floors. They accommodated us and we ended up on the top floor (8th). Part of the plan was to watch the sun come up on the beach. We were able to change this; we sipped coffee on the balcony as a brilliant red sunrise presented itself. It was awesome! The king size bed was very comfortable and separate from the living space with a sofa bed. The sofa bed worked out well for my 11 year old and gave the wife and I privacy, a hard thing to find on vacation. There is a small kitchenette stocked with enough cooking items and dishes to get by. We liked the beach at 8th street. It was not crowded and the sand was nice. I spent 2 1/2 days on the fishing pier at 15th street. The fishing was good. I caught Roundhead, Spots, Croaker and Blues. Having the kitchen was great as we had fresh fish for dinner. The staff was very nice and helpful. The price was close to half the normal room rate of $300.00 a night. I figure we saved at least $100.00 on breakfast (they have a nice continental breakfast), and another $150.00 on lunches and dinners. Plus we saved by only using the car once in the 4 days we stayed. OTHER THINGS: My wife loved the bus system. The Side Street Café had great Mexican food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from the Haunted Mansion, House of Mirrors etc. A complete waste of money. Virginia Beach does a nice job of providing street entertainment. We saw the Kenyan Acrobats perform a side street which was blocked off. About 200 people watched the 45 minute show. They did an amazing performance even though it was a bit windy. And best of all it was free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yokkonee
Madison, Mississippi
Jul 9, 2014

Nice Family Vacation

The hotel is family friendly. The room is big enough for 2 adults and two small children, who do not mind sharing a sofa bed. The view was very pleasant. Well equipped with basic kitchen tools and consumable items, such as kitchen paper and dish soap. Do not expect top quality furniture and bathroom, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants with variety. May need to make a reservation or go early to have a seat to dine in popular restaurants. Everything is within walking distance if you do not mind walking about a mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sue80
Massachusetts
Jul 7, 2014

great vacation

We have been here on a timeshare and this time as a hotel guest. This time our bikes were stolen from the front bike rack. They were locked up. We put in an incident report and the front desk said they recommend putting your bikes in your room. There are no signs recommending that, just a sign stating they are not responsible for theft or damage to bikes. We never heard another word about our incident report.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Akgjmg
Pittsburgh, pa
Jun 29, 2014

Oceanfront

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great value! Look forward to staying at there for our next vacation! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bo minor
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 23, 2014

Great location rooms could improve

This was a great family location, however the rooms could use a little more cleaning, and having the bed basically at the door with house keeping lined against the wall makes it hard to get breakfast while someone is still sleeping in the bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
duran clan mom
Woodbridge, va
Jun 21, 2014

perfect affordable getaway

The room we stayed in was not truly up to date but who cares. The room was clean, we had a fridge, a mini stove, nice bathroom and all the rooms were facing the beach. We expected a better breakfast but bagels and donuts were better than nothing. The room didnt have a dvd for the kids but there were two tvs and cable. We went to va beach for a small midweek vacation and thats just what we got. The place was quiet and beachfront. For what we paid it was a steal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you drive right outside of the beach off of 22nd st you will find lots of good restaurants like outback, captain georges, pho 79, starbucks etc. Beats most of the food on atlantic ave. Planet pizza is across from the hotel and their food was okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MVP of the Tourney
Northern, Virginia
Jun 20, 2014

Sand Soccer Champs

It was a very nice stay for what we paid. My team and I were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top