$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 809 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rumbero
Business
DC
Aug 13, 2014

older building

Overall it was an enjoyable stay, because this is the better end of the sea front. Rooms have not been renovated for decades. Not up to standard of Marriott or Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Concerts in parks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad of three under 10
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 13, 2014

Great family beach hotel

Location on the quieter south end of the VA Beach boardwalk was excellent. Close to playground for young kids. 1.5 miles to Neptune statue on 31st St. Kids loved to scooter to there. Hotel value was excellent. The property is older, but well kept. Inlcuded continental breakfast was a nice addition. Definitely not worth paying double for a place like Residence Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightly free entertainment along the Boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turkeyroll
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 13, 2014

Great Stay @ Barclay

My family of 4 stayed at Barclay Towers. There was free parking at a lot across the street. The hotel is right on the beach and all rooms are oceanfront. There is a heated indoor pool which is big enough for kids & adults. We stayed on the 3rd floor which seemed to be perfect. Room had fridge, stove & microwave. A free continental (muffins, cereal, danishes & donuts) breakfast was offered. Lots of food choices within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maikey
Business
virginia beach
Aug 5, 2014

room

Everything was OK, I didn't like my room next to laundry room & I've requested to another room but the manager said the hotel was full & I didn't like it because I saw there was a lot rooms still empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pitt mama
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 31, 2014

Family vacation

Great location , staff was friendly and room was clean. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amamommie
Business
PA
Jul 28, 2014

Big Disappointment

Very disappointing. The hotel is very dated and in desperate need of upgrading. Our air conditioning would not get cold. We were sweating every night. Mold in bathroom, holes in our sheets. The windows have never seen a bottle of windex or paper towels. The bed was uncomfortable and the living room furniture needed to be replaced. The whole place felt dirty. The only positive is that it's oceanfront. Also, I'm not a smoker, but if you smoke you definitely don't want to stay here. The entire hotel is smoke-free, including the balconies. If they catch you smoking you pay a $250 fine. Housekeeping was a joke. All they did was replace bathroom towels. No cleaning. They need to call Gordon Ramsey ASAP!!! We will never come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie Knit Girl
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Jul 27, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

This was my first time going to VA Beach and I booked the hotel based on other reviews and price. I was very happy with the experience. We got a king suite, which was perfect. The only thing I wish was different was a screen door on the door to the balcony. We have a little one and the screen would have let us keep the door open while keeping him safe. The bed was super comfortable, as were the pillows. The rooms had bath produces from Bath & Body Works, which was nice. The free continental breakfast was your standard fare, but very nice. The dining area could use some sprucing up but it was still decent. The hotel is at the quiet end of the boardwalk, which is nice for families. And we could still see the fireworks from our balcony. We will definitely stay there again. Parking is limited in front of the hotel but there is parking just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shelant
Business
Germany
Jul 24, 2014

Fantastic stay right on the ocean!

Love, love, love this place! This is our 2nd time here and I am sure we will be back. Highly recommended! Enough said :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeckiP
Business
Salyersville, KY
Jul 20, 2014

Family getaway

After looking for several days for an oceanfront hotel at a decent price, I chose this one. Upon checkin, Alex at the front desk was great. The hotel is your typical beach hotel but was clean and perfect location. I was traveling with my husband and three daughters ages 7, 10 and 16 and we was comfortable in the room. The door from the hallway opens into the bedroom so when my husband would go out at 530 am to metal detect, it would wake me up but otherwise room size was good. The view was AWESOME!! The lighting in the room wasn't the best because there was no overhead lighting only lamps but it was good enough. There is a small kitchen area with a stove, fridge and sink. The only complaint I have is the shower. It has really hard jets and pressure. Now normally this wouldn't be an issue but being on the beach and coming in with a sunburn made it very difficult to shower without pain. There is also a pool and hot tub with a bathroom with a shower and lockers that was nice. Complimentary breakfast is provided and it had a good selection but the best part is being able to sit outside in the patio area facing the ocean while you ate. Overall it was a good couple of days beach stay for us at a nice hotel. Make sure to bring beach chairs, beach umbrellas, towels, etc because there is a rental charge (not via hotel) if you don't!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Crazy Buffet about 20 mins from hotel. Great Asian/American Buffet for the price. Local seafood buffets where outrageous priced but this one was a little over 10 for dinner and had the biggest buffet I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveTanguay
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 18, 2014

Nice Large King Suite

Was happy with our stay. Contenental breakfast was nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top