$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

3 stars
3501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
24 reviews
Great Family Extra Night

We needed an extra day after Outer Banks vacation before flying out and this was a great place with... See full review

  • MKOrtho
  • Aug 19, 2013
Awesome in VA BEACH

The staff was the best, went out of the way to track down the cleaning staff to find my shorts I... See full review

  • Mr MacD
  • Jul 22, 2013
Resort hotel with sweeping ocean views in Virginia Beach

The Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel is just off the Virginia Beach boardwalk, on the exclusive North End. The hotel has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation, including the addition of 24 brand new oceanfront suites.  The hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere, right in the middle of all Virginia Beach has to offer.  Direct beach access, indoor/outdoor pools, fitness center, and upscale dining are just a few of the great amenities you can expect when you stay here.  The Sheraton's brand new dining experience, Fusion Restaurant & Lounge, offers not only contemporary American cuisine, but also spectacular views of the Virginia Beach oceanfront and Atlantic Ocean.  For a more casual time, enjoy the outdoor Cabanas Bar & Grill, conveniently located poolside on the Virginia Beach Boardwalk.

Reasons To Stay:
  • Located on the exclusive North End of Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Multi-million dollar renovation including all rooms and public spaces
  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, and two on-site restaurants
  • Close to golf courses and the beach offering a host of water sports and activities
Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

The newly renovated guest bedrooms and suites offered by the Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel are comfortable, modern and elegant, featuring all the comforts of home. Equipped with the famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds and adjustable air conditioning, the rooms are designed to ensure guests get the most refreshing sleep possible. All rooms are fitted with a flat-screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, safe, and complimentary tea and coffee.  Views vary from a view of the city, poolside with an ocean view in our Cabanas wing, or spectacular ocean views in our tower. All rooms at the Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel include cable, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk.

Things To Do:
  • Tidewater Veterans Memorial (1 mil/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium (4 mi/ 6.4 km)
  • Jungle Golf - Mini Golf (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Owl Creek Municipal Tennis Center (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • American Indoor Karting (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Military Aviation Museum (14.5 mi/ 23.3 km)
  • Back Bay Wildlife Refuge (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Virginia Zoological Park (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Busch Gardens (50 mi/80.4 km)

Hotel Map

36.8638 -75.979
Area served
Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport, (ORF), 10.00, MI; Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport, (PHF), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Ocean
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 13 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 14.1 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristine10
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Unaware

The hotel description did say it was under construction but it didnt say that neither the indoor pool or hot tub would be available. also, I requested and ocean front room with 2 queen beds and received a partial view with 1 king bed. I really do not like being given the option and then not getting what I selected. The room was booked for an exceptional employee who we were treating because of her hard work and I promised her an ocean front room. She even asked the reception desk about the issue and apparently they were unable to help her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

always grab a restaurant guide when you stay in va beach. there are a ton of great places to dine always within walking distance that you cannot find from the street easily.

Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cardiac J
Business
Toano, va
May 2, 2011

Should have stayed at the Hilton

Hotel ac blew black stuff all over everything[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

mahi mahs is best in town

Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cardiac J
Business
Toano, va
May 2, 2011

Should have stayed at the Hilton

Hotel ac blew black stuff all over everything[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

mahi mahs is best in town

Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gallagher
Chesterfield, Virginia
Aug 13, 2012

Very disappointed

The outdoor pool was not as shown on the internet. Too small for a hotel of that size. There were only 2 elevators for the entire hotel. We waiting 20 min for a elevator that wasn't full of people and never could find the stairs. I asked the front desk for a pair of scissors and they said they didn't have any, REALLY? Getting to the beach you had to go thru the lobby carring beach chairs sand toys, etc. always a hassle getting thru while people where checking in, etc. The beds were the most uncomfortable I've EVER slept in. I will not go back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ambt
Rochester, MN, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Service is below average ...

The overall service of this hotel is below average. When you booked a FULL ocean view room, they told you the only available room is a partial view. The best thing they could do was to tell you they are sorry. In addition, the hotel location is good, but it is under construction now. The breakfast buffet is below average and pricey, and, the service is slow. They only open a small section for breakfast. It appears there are many other good and new hotels nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Lana
Albany, New York
Aug 13, 2013

Summer getaway

Nice, but will not return. There are 2 elevators to serve the entire hotel - long waits to get to your destination. Staff was very nice. Hotel was clean. Room balcony was small and the railing was not completely secure. Bathroom was small. Tub water valve didn't work correctly. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Pools were very nice. Pool bar should stay open later on weekend nights - they have last call at 9:45.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

nightly entertainment on almost every corner.

Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovegetaways
Fairfax, VA
May 11, 2014

Good overall but very noisy heater

Location was good, parking was convenient. The ocean is just steps away. Stroll around the boardwalk was nice. Staff greeted warmly and helped with speedy check-in. Also allowed us late check-out at 1pm. The indoor pool was kept clean and ample amount of towels ready for us. Only thing I really didn't like was that at night time, it got cold and turned on the heater. Boy was it loud, kept me tossing and turning because of the noise, even though I am not that of a light sleeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LoYo
Upper Marlboro, MD
Aug 21, 2012

Good for a first experience

This was my son's first trip to the beach and being that he's autistic, there was a lot of anxiety about how things would go. Fortunately all went terrific. After about an hour of acclimation, he fell in love with the beach. The Sheraton was very accommodating - the rooms were nice and basically clean, but I asked to have our duvet changed on day 2 because there was some brown stuff on it and I wasn't sure if we did it or it was there when we arrived. The cleaning staff assured me it would be but it never was. That made me question if any of the sheets were really changed. The bathrooms are also very tiny and the hot water pressure was no more than a trickle at best. We did have to move the sofa bed to the other side of the room because it was directly in line of the air conditioning and we could not control the airflow, but the room in general was fine. It was nice having both a fridge and microwave in the room. We wil definitely return but thnking about getting a timeshare as one week at the hotel was $1000!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe, new runner.
Prince George, Virginia
Mar 24, 2011

Shamrock weekend

I was there for the Shamrock marathon. It was a very good stay. We were surprised that the hotel offered us bananas, juice, and water before the race. Parking was a problem though at the hotel. We couldn't leave when we wanted to because the streets were blocked off until later in the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Park away from hotel if possible due to streets being blocked off.

Review of Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, Virginia
May 4, 2011

Good Stay

I was there on business and enjoyed my stay. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The Sheraton was nice for the price. Beautiful views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good breakfast menu but a bit high in price. Great staff.

Back to menu Return to top