$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

3 stars
196 Ballard Ct, I-64 at North Newtown Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
63 reviews
business trip

clean and comfy king bed. We had a good ztay overnight. Will be back next year. Only downfall is... See full review

  • Fellow FL traveler
  • Jun 13, 2014
Red Roof with a Great twist

This is the best Red Roof I've stayed at. The rooms appear new. The twist? Most of the room floor... See full review

  • OurmanDan
  • Nov 6, 2013
Located 7 miles south of Norfolk, Red Roof Virginia Beach is 100 percent Smoke Free, has Newly Renovated Rooms with Flat Screen TVS, and is within 15 minutes of the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Norfolk State University, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, and NTELOS Amphitheater are all within 10 minutes. Old Dominion University, Norfolk Naval Base, Pavilion Convention Center, the Norfolk International Airport, and NAS OCEANA are all within 15 minutes of this hotel. Come enjoy our southern hospitality!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Scuba diving
Fishing
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Trashmore Park: 3.5 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 3.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 5.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 5.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 8.9 mi
  • Motor World: 10.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 10.7 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 10.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 10.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 11.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11.2 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 11.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.3 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 3.5 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 3.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 5.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 5.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 8.9 mi
  • Motor World: 10.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 10.7 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 10.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 10.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 11.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11.2 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 11.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.3 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.1 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 15.9 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 18.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 21.3 mi

Dining

Surfrider
0.50 miles
McDonalds
0.50 miles
Dennys
0.10 miles
Olive Garden
2.00 miles
Shoney s
0.50 miles
Wendy s
0.50 miles
Ruby Tuesday s
0.10 miles
Burger King
0.50 miles
Dominos
0.50 miles
KFC
0.50 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crunchyspart
Business
Richmond
Nov 25, 2014

did not hold up to what i was expecting

either the room description was a lie or misleading. was smaller than expected, did not have the amenities they described. *pros: -price -when i checked in the guy at the desk seemed nice enough. allowed me to check in an hour or two early. *cons -no amenities. (no ironing board, microwave, nor refrigerator) just a bed, at tv, a lamp, and AC unit. -found a cricket. i know in a motel you can only do so much but it still grossed me out and made my sleep uncomfortable. -bathroom door wouldn't lock. -ice bucket leaked creating a mess

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maritza b
Business
buffalo ny
Nov 19, 2014

basic lodge

check in was smooth. the room was clean and comfortable. check out was easy as well. plenty of parking. convenient to the highway and denny's and some restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spiderman 336
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Oct 12, 2014

Great place for a quick trip to the beach.

Nothing extraordinary, but nothing to complain about either. Not on the beach, but just a quick 10 minute drive will get you there. Affordable, well kept, and a helpful and friendly staff. Looking for a good place to sleep that wont cost much? This is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronbo49er
Business
St.louis, Mo
Oct 8, 2014

about what I expected

We were put in a room that was for handi-capped The Hangers were too close to the floor for my wife's dresses. The TV was placed in the corner, not at the end of the bed, so my wife got a sore neck from having her turned to one side to watch it. But the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eastern Shore
Business
Maryland
Sep 29, 2014

Cheap Virginia Beach Stay

Nothing fancy. Room smelt like smoke even though it was non-smoking. Decent rate. Would choose something closer next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLF81
Business
NC
Sep 26, 2014

Good not Great

Staff was efficient if not overly friendly. The location was great for us, plenty of restaurants near by too. The rooms have been recently redone and ours was clean and cool. For the price and one night it was fine. The bed wasn't super comfy, but it was OK. Definitely not a vacation hotel, but fot our business trip it was good enough. The wifi worked well and the property was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mommy if 2
Business
Va
Sep 25, 2014

Ewww

Dirty room had fleas...bed comforter was dirty bathroom Was dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jb9281
Business
north carolina
Sep 15, 2014

excellent stay, great value for the money

Room was very clean. Had just a little hint of a muskey smell, went away after ac ran for 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys was just a short walk down the same side of the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kf0701
Business
Irmo, SC
Sep 8, 2014

Just OK

I booked this hotel for my father and myself for a brief stay to deliver my brother to his training at the base. It was halfway between the base and the beach, and seemed a logical choice. I mostly chose it for the price, because it had decent reviews and was the least expensive option. I called on my way to Norfolk to verify my reservation. But because we booked through this website they were reluctant to give us any information, which annoyed me. Wasn't looking for "information", just wanted to verify that I actually had a room to go to. When we got there, we checked in without incident and proceeded to the room. It smelled a little musty but was not unclean. The housekeeper had accidentally left a damp towel on the back of the door, but otherwise it was fine. AC was very loud, though. Saturday we went to the beach for a while, with the intent of coming back to cool off in the pool (it was 95 degrees on the beach). We had been told about the pools existence on Friday night, but by Saturday they had "closed for the season". Really? In the middle of the weekend? My father was VERY disappointed. The hotel offered no apologies, even though this information had not been disclosed. They simply stated that one the pool was inspected, it was closed, no exceptions. I could understand if we were up north where the weather cools off considerably in September. But this is Virginia! I thought it was ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 30 minutes from all beach/Norfolk major attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sage family
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Aug 28, 2014

Business trip

We were traveling with our two dogs in order to find a home in Virginia. The hotel staff was very accommodating even let us print out documents from the front desk computer because they did not have a business center. It was a convinent location close to highways but did lack some amenities that would have helped us. We did end up stay an additional night in order to finalize some arrangements we had made and they were very helpful in accommodating us by keeping us in the same room with the dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheesecake Factory!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top