$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

3 stars
196 Ballard Ct, I-64 at North Newtown Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
73 reviews
business trip

clean and comfy king bed. We had a good ztay overnight. Will be back next year. Only downfall is... See full review

  • Fellow FL traveler
  • Jun 13, 2014
Red Roof with a Great twist

This is the best Red Roof I've stayed at. The rooms appear new. The twist? Most of the room floor... See full review

  • OurmanDan
  • Nov 6, 2013
Located 7 miles south of Norfolk, Red Roof Virginia Beach is 100 percent Smoke Free, has Newly Renovated Rooms with Flat Screen TVS, and is within 15 minutes of the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Norfolk State University, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, and NTELOS Amphitheater are all within 10 minutes. Old Dominion University, Norfolk Naval Base, Pavilion Convention Center, the Norfolk International Airport, and NAS OCEANA are all within 15 minutes of this hotel. Come enjoy our southern hospitality!

Hotel Map

36.8429 -76.1814
Nearby airports
Norfolk Intl Airport, (ORF), 4.20, MI, S; Newport News Williamsburg Intl Airport, (PHF), 26.60, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Scuba diving
Fishing
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Trashmore Park: 3.5 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 3.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 5.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 5.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 8.9 mi
  • Motor World: 10.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 10.7 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 10.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 10.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 11.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11.2 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 11.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.3 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 3.5 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 3.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 5.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 5.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 8.9 mi
  • Motor World: 10.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 10.7 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 10.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 10.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 11.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11.2 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 11.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.3 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.1 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 15.9 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 18.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 21.3 mi

Dining

Surfrider
0.50 miles
McDonalds
0.50 miles
Dennys
0.10 miles
Olive Garden
2.00 miles
Shoney s
0.50 miles
Wendy s
0.50 miles
Ruby Tuesday s
0.10 miles
Burger King
0.50 miles
Dominos
0.50 miles
KFC
0.50 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slick black
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Jul 16, 2014

Good area for the undecided

Greeted by a vertu nice old man. Great Price on comparison to nearby hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Picker Dan
Grayson, Georgia
Jul 12, 2014

Terrible Accommodations

First of all the room looked dingy. There was no hair dryer, no kleenex / tissues, towels were small & dirty looking. There were no appliances in the room, i.e. a microwave or coffee maker - which would have been nice since there was no continental breakfast. On our third day of stay we came in late that afternoon to find two towels and two wash cloths on the "unmade" bed. They did not even empty out the trash. This was an awful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlottesville Mom
Charlottesville, VA
Jun 16, 2014

Nice enough, no frills

Stayed there on a busy weekend in VA Beach (graduations, tournaments, father's day). Many hotels were booked. They only provided two towels in the room, which wasn't enough for the three of us. There are no hair dryers, which surprised me since I haven't been anywhere that didn't provide one in a decade. The (small) pool seemed fine but we didn't use it. This is a motel, which you may or may not like. Room was small but clean and new and cool. I was happy for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fellow FL traveler
Business
Florida
Jun 13, 2014

business trip

clean and comfy king bed. We had a good ztay overnight. Will be back next year. Only downfall is dining. Only a Denny's within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's

Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen from Chicago
Chicago, il
Jun 3, 2014

Great. Value

I always stay at this hotel and. Ow they actually have fridge and microwaves in the rooms. I will always stay here now when I holiday twice a year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Havana Cuban restaurant

Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
an ordinary citizen
Southside, Alabama
May 19, 2014

good overall

I enjoyed my stay. It was a good value for what I paid. Not many amenities, but the room was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Savvy Shopper Tam
Atlanta, GA
May 9, 2014

Terrible - Don't Stay Here

Lies in the description of what the motel offers, no hair dryer, no fridge, no microwave. Filthy stains on towels and bed sheets. Cleaning staff did not clean room everyday even though specifically asked to. Did not empty trash or clean shower. Never swept the floor. TV stopped working after a couple of days. Only ever one person at front desk. Front desk staff always seemed or acted helpless or unknowledgeable about problems. I can only say you get less than what you pay for. This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had. I do not suggest that anyone stay here is you want any kind of cleanliness or quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pembroke area

Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M1234idontcare
Wyoming
Apr 19, 2014

Not impressed

When I checked in the guy working the front desk just handed me a key, never said anything about where the room was. Then there wasn't a tv remote in the room. He tells me that I can come get another one. This one doesn't work. Then he says he'll bring me another one. About 30 minutes later he does and it only works periodically. The biggest disappointment with the room though was the fact they never cleaned our room any of the 3 nights we were there. The room wasn't that clean to begin with either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doahdancer
norther virginia
Apr 15, 2014

Considering the price...

Red roof inns used to be known for being... cockroach havens. Not this RRI. Clean, polite staff, and for under $80 we were comfortable and relaxed. The room even included a fridge & micro. The only thing that raised our eyebrows was the sign that said guaranteed no smoking though it did smell a bit like smoke had either drifted in or perhaps a smoker had been there (smoking?). Hard to say and luckily not a deal breaker for us like I can remember it being for my mom on family vacations. If you're more concerned about price than staying at the hyatt, this is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern girl100
Norfolk, VIrginia
Mar 13, 2014

Okay for the money.

The room was fine but there were lots of guests up and making noise between the hours of eleven and three. I had an early flight so I didn't get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top