$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
61 reviews
couples retreat

It was great!! The room was wonderful and the hot tubs are huge and comfortable. It is well worth... See full review

  • Business Travelers 2014
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean,... See full review

  • MiJo from KCMO
  • Jul 30, 2013
The Newcastle Hotel is the perfect destination for both families on vacation and the business traveler. All rooms feature private oceanfront balconies, along with wireless internet, microwave and fridge. The hotels indoor heated pool is currently under renovation. The hotel itself is conveniently located on the Oceanfront. There are so many things to do within walking distance: Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more! The hotel has no smoking policy.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newcastle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Newcastle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - Double
All Oceanfront Deluxe Double rooms are complete with 2 Double Beds, private oceanfront Balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, and whirlpool tub. Complimentary Wireless Internet is also included.
Deluxe - Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room is a lovely room with a queen size bed and a whirlpool tub in the bedroom with mirrors all around. This room with a private oceanfront balcony also has a microwave, mini fridge and complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 61
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach guy 123
Business
Indiana
Jun 25, 2014

virginia beach

The hotel is a bit old and outdated but the room was fine for the price and the location was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Gentry
Business
Chesterfield Virginia
May 12, 2014

Served its purpose

We stayed two nights. Hotel is just average. Location was great. All rooms are oceanfront. Could use a renovation in my opinion. Would expect a nicer place for $100+ a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica0405
Business
Rocky Mount, NC
Apr 4, 2013

Great place to stay!

The location of the Newcastle Hotel is awesome! It has a nice bar and grill connected to it. The rooms are small but the whirlpool bath tub makes up for it!The rooms have beautiful oceanfront views and the staff is very accommodating. The indoor pool is small and would not be ideal for the summertime. But there's always the beach which is a few steps from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sassymo
Business
Richmond
Apr 3, 2013

Newcastle Hotel Getaway

The very first thing I would like to say is that the other reviews online almost made me cancel my reservation! I am so happy I didn't this hotel was nothing like its bad reviews.The staff was very friendly,my room was clean,housekeeping was good even waited till we went out to breakfast to make-up the room! Yes the beds were firm ,but I slept like a baby! The hotel is old and could use a facelift,but a great deal for an oceanfront room in a Great location for a unbelievable price!!!!! My only disappointment was the pool area. The pool didn't look very inviting,again nothing a little paint and such couldn't fix; and the in room jacuzzi tub more than made up for that! I enjoyed my stay and would surely return.Not a five star resort but a really great value for an oceanfront hotel in a great location on Va beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Raven is directly across the street! Good food, reasonable prices,and a Va beach icon!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Around Town
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 18, 2013

Great value

We were very pleased with the location and the value. The pool was very average, but the rooms were clean and there was good parking available. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the Virginia Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My two boys
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 17, 2012

Had better hotels for the money

Room was clean but needs updates badly. Mattress cheap, noisy and smaller than frame so that metal support is sticking out from the sides. Got my ankle scratched by it. Carpet with "lumps" underneath and teared. Air conditioning very loud. Staff very friendly. Overall I must say I had better experiences for the money, possibly a 2 stars hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BertaNChuckie
Business
Mechanicsville VA
May 19, 2012

Early Vacation

NO INTERNET at all, pool was dirty. Male desk clerk on 5-17-12 night shift was very rude RUDE! I asked housekeeping to make bed, clean towels and take trash away. I got clean towels thrown on bed and 1 trash can empty. Nothing else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunsations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paintfairy
Business
Phoenix
May 15, 2012

Great for a one night stop over.

This was an excellent rate for a hotel on the beach. We only needed one night and this was great for that. The front desk staff was extremely nice. The room was small and a little tired but the beds were fine and clean. They had a laundry room which was a nice ammenity as this is a long trip. Having a view and balcony with easy access to the boardwalk was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dane22
Business
martinsville
Mar 28, 2012

beds not comfortable

The room is nice but the beds were just too hard. Very clean nice view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grandma7
Business
Virginia, USA
Mar 6, 2012

va beach

Perfect location and great view. Quick getaway, just stayed 1 night. Balcony provided a great veiw of the ocean and bech and gave me the breath of salty air that I needed. OK price for winter rates, however it still blows my mind that the hotels in the area have such high winter rates!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top