$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
61 reviews
couples retreat

It was great!! The room was wonderful and the hot tubs are huge and comfortable. It is well worth... See full review

  • Business Travelers 2014
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean,... See full review

  • MiJo from KCMO
  • Jul 30, 2013
The Newcastle Hotel is the perfect destination for both families on vacation and the business traveler. All rooms feature private oceanfront balconies, along with wireless internet, microwave and fridge. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and the hotel itself is conveniently located on the Oceanfront. There are so many things to do within walking distance: Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more! The hotel has no smoking policy.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newcastle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Newcastle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - Double
All Oceanfront Deluxe Double rooms are complete with 2 Double Beds, private oceanfront Balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, and whirlpool tub. Complimentary Wireless Internet is also included.
Deluxe - Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room is a lovely room with a queen size bed and a whirlpool tub in the bedroom with mirrors all around. This room with a private oceanfront balcony also has a microwave, mini fridge and complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bosscat
Business
Troy, MI, USA
Apr 23, 2012

New Castle Hotel

The Hotel has a beautiful location. The hotel is in disrepair. Everywhere I looked something needed fixing. It was not very clean. I brought along my own disinfectant spray and I needed to use it. The room had a jet tub, but we didn't use it because the jets looked rusty. I didn't want to change hotels and I knew changing rooms would make no difference. I can't believe this is a three star hotel. We needed this vacation to relax so I didn't want to go through the hassle of finding another hotel. I would not normally stay in a hotel that is as dirty as the New Castle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BertaNChuckie
Business
Mechanicsville VA
May 19, 2012

Early Vacation

NO INTERNET at all, pool was dirty. Male desk clerk on 5-17-12 night shift was very rude RUDE! I asked housekeeping to make bed, clean towels and take trash away. I got clean towels thrown on bed and 1 trash can empty. Nothing else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunsations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chad P
Business
Anderson, S.C.
Feb 16, 2013

OverNight Stay

I arrived to the room at 2am and was to tired to change rooms. Entering the room looking in the bathrooom was hair in the sink. Looking at the toilet it was dirty and I had to clean before I used. After a shower and headed to bed the bed had some dirt in it? I gues that what it was . I shook the sheets out and layed on a blanket that I had. It was a very very unpleasent experience. My parents was going to VA Beach the next day and I told them DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gene27
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 21, 2013

hard stained beds

The beds were as hard as the floors and had stains on the bed the sheet did stay on and tge pillows were flat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Barbie71
Business
Va Beach, Va
Dec 22, 2013

never again

they gave use room 409 which that floor was under construction, so we were giving room 910 which was suppose to be an upgrade. The toilet was lose from the floor, with an awful smell, the floor lamp had a short in the switch, the jet tub was missing a nozzle so the water sprayed, the balcony door handle was broken so you had to push to open but be careful because it slams shut. The only way to keep the door open or cracked because theres no screen is prop a chair. the photos are false! the pool was peeling and a non smoking room has cigarette burn in the carpet. Very dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

caption georges inland drive is a must! Amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VaAnne
Business
Va
Aug 12, 2014

Gross

The staff was very nice, both in the hotel and in the attached restaurant. And the location on the beach was great. But the hotel itself was really gross. Very old and VERY dirty. I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sasgms
Business
Norwalk, CT, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Clean,Great Location

Friendly staff. Very good for the price! The bathroom a little small, but the jacuzi was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are all kinds of places to eat. Lots of great seafood, steakhouses and anything else you could possibly want!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
richs9118
Business
Annapolis, MD
Apr 1, 2012

stinky

room smelled heavily of cigarettes and was run down. Staff courteous and for what I paid, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mellowmom
Business
Georgia
Sep 17, 2012

hotel needs a facelift

Staff was pleasant but the room was tired and the mattress was awful. The TV reception was terrible but the beach view was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk was quite lively after dark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My two boys
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 17, 2012

Had better hotels for the money

Room was clean but needs updates badly. Mattress cheap, noisy and smaller than frame so that metal support is sticking out from the sides. Got my ankle scratched by it. Carpet with "lumps" underneath and teared. Air conditioning very loud. Staff very friendly. Overall I must say I had better experiences for the money, possibly a 2 stars hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top