$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
63 reviews
couples retreat

It was great!! The room was wonderful and the hot tubs are huge and comfortable. It is well worth... See full review

  • Business Travelers 2014
  • Nov 18, 2014
Weekday getaway

The hotel overall was a nice place to stay. It did need some touch ups done to the room but it is... See full review

  • MzCandice
  • Sep 13, 2014
The Newcastle Hotel is the perfect destination for both families on vacation and the business traveler. All rooms feature private oceanfront balconies, along with wireless internet, microwave and fridge. The hotel also has an indoor heated pool The hotel itself is conveniently located on the Oceanfront. There are so many things to do within walking distance: Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more! The hotel has no smoking policy.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newcastle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Newcastle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - Double
All Oceanfront Deluxe Double rooms are complete with 2 Double Beds, private oceanfront Balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, and whirlpool tub. Complimentary Wireless Internet is also included.
Deluxe - Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room is a lovely room with a queen size bed and a whirlpool tub in the bedroom with mirrors all around. This room with a private oceanfront balcony also has a microwave, mini fridge and complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doverose
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good Stuff!

Great location! Right by the pier, the beach is gorgeous! The view from the balcony is awesome! There are many sights to see and plenty to do. There are bikes available to ride on the boardwalk. The grandkids loved the pool. Live music in the resturaunt on the weekend. The food is good. The service at the hotel is great! They cleaned our room every day. They met our every request. And the value is very comparable. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vaharold
Business
Roanoke, VA
Nov 21, 2011

Off Season Trip to VA Beach

Staff was very accomodating to my room requests upon arrival. Late Checkout was not a problem either. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable at an outstanding price for the oceanfront location. Would have easily cost double at any other oceanfront hotel. parking lot was cramped at best. It was tight parking my full size pickup in the ground floor spaces due to support beams everywhere. the second floor spaces were roomier, but the ramp getting there was still tight.. Air conditioner was quiet too!!! I'll definately be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CYoung
Business
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Dec 13, 2011

Excellent hotel!

Very happy with my stay! Great view, clean comfortable room, and several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Only hitch was the electric alarm clock in the room was not working when I took the room, it was quickly replaced by the polite and courteous staff. Definitely would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eliel
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Christmas time!!

The staff was wonderful and helpful we forgot our toothbrushes so they had some to offer. The view was awesome! I found someones glasses behind the bed but other then that it was great! the staff was very kind... while checking out, I was sneezing and she not only gave me a tissue from the box she said I can have the whole box for my ride back. My wife loved that the hotel smelt GREAT. She is pregnant and very sensitive these days so I was afraid that she would find something she didnt like. However, she didnt want to leave. she loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cw and dw
Business
RI
Jan 26, 2012

definitely would return to this hotel

got a winter deal, so price was wonderful, heat was turned up to warm room before we arrived, bed and pillows very comfortable, loved clean jacuzzi in room and plenty of hot water and towels, room was clean too, view from balcony of ocean was amazing and the sound of the surf all night was relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Raven Restaurant directly across the street from the Newcastle Hotel was great food, big portion size and good prices and waitress friendly and attentive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Giants
Business
Upstate New York
Aug 6, 2012

Great Stay

We stayed in the delux queen room. Amazing room!! Outdated tv but who would want to watch tv with an oceanfront view and a whirlpool in the room?! Close to several places around VA beach. Great resteraunt attached to the hotel. They had live music on Friday and Saturday night and great food. Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and boardwalk right outside of the hotel. Resteraunt attached to hotel. Great food and live music on weekend nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiJo from KCMO
Business
Kansas City, MO.
Jul 30, 2013

Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean, everything worked, thoroughly enjoyed the two nozzle shower and the huge jetted hot tub!!! The bed could stand to be replaced, but it was still comfortable and didn't interfere with our sleep. We will use this hotel again if we come back to Va. Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Travelers 2014
Business
Virginia
Nov 18, 2014

couples retreat

It was great!! The room was wonderful and the hot tubs are huge and comfortable. It is well worth the money and stay. It would be nice if the restaurant at the hotel would stay open. I was disappointed to learn they had closed for the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p woodard
Business
dc
Oct 23, 2011

great time

Nice view. Pool was clean and the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Watermans is the b est

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birthdayfun
Business
chesapeake, va
Nov 7, 2011

We were local tourists for a night

I got the room to surprise my husband so we could have a night on the town without worrying with driving- we went next door to see a friend's band play and had a lovely time. The statt even upgraded us at no charge and the room was clean, safe and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel. I've stayed at Hiltons and Marriotts and eventhough this hotel is not in that class, the service was great, the location on the oceanfront was perfect. Great time for a couple of locals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Calypso Grill 11th Street- great food, recommend the crab balls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top