$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
58 reviews
Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean,... See full review

  • MiJo from KCMO
  • Jul 30, 2013
Weekday getaway

The hotel overall was a nice place to stay. It did need some touch ups done to the room but it is... See full review

  • MzCandice
  • Sep 13, 2014
The Newcastle Hotel is the perfect destination for both families on vacation and the business traveler. All rooms feature private oceanfront balconies, along with wireless internet, microwave and fridge. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and the hotel itself is conveniently located on the Oceanfront. There are so many things to do within walking distance: Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more! The hotel has no smoking policy.

Hotel Map

36.8409 -75.9727
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Oceanfront property, Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newcastle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Newcastle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - Double
All Oceanfront Deluxe Double rooms are complete with 2 Double Beds, private oceanfront Balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, and whirlpool tub. Complimentary Wireless Internet is also included.
Deluxe - Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room is a lovely room with a queen size bed and a whirlpool tub in the bedroom with mirrors all around. This room with a private oceanfront balcony also has a microwave, mini fridge and complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vaharold
Roanoke, VA
Nov 21, 2011

Off Season Trip to VA Beach

Staff was very accomodating to my room requests upon arrival. Late Checkout was not a problem either. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable at an outstanding price for the oceanfront location. Would have easily cost double at any other oceanfront hotel. parking lot was cramped at best. It was tight parking my full size pickup in the ground floor spaces due to support beams everywhere. the second floor spaces were roomier, but the ramp getting there was still tight.. Air conditioner was quiet too!!! I'll definately be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doverose
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good Stuff!

Great location! Right by the pier, the beach is gorgeous! The view from the balcony is awesome! There are many sights to see and plenty to do. There are bikes available to ride on the boardwalk. The grandkids loved the pool. Live music in the resturaunt on the weekend. The food is good. The service at the hotel is great! They cleaned our room every day. They met our every request. And the value is very comparable. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiJo from KCMO
Kansas City, MO.
Jul 30, 2013

Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean, everything worked, thoroughly enjoyed the two nozzle shower and the huge jetted hot tub!!! The bed could stand to be replaced, but it was still comfortable and didn't interfere with our sleep. We will use this hotel again if we come back to Va. Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eliel
Richmond, VA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Christmas time!!

The staff was wonderful and helpful we forgot our toothbrushes so they had some to offer. The view was awesome! I found someones glasses behind the bed but other then that it was great! the staff was very kind... while checking out, I was sneezing and she not only gave me a tissue from the box she said I can have the whole box for my ride back. My wife loved that the hotel smelt GREAT. She is pregnant and very sensitive these days so I was afraid that she would find something she didnt like. However, she didnt want to leave. she loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Giants
Upstate New York
Aug 6, 2012

Great Stay

We stayed in the delux queen room. Amazing room!! Outdated tv but who would want to watch tv with an oceanfront view and a whirlpool in the room?! Close to several places around VA beach. Great resteraunt attached to the hotel. They had live music on Friday and Saturday night and great food. Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and boardwalk right outside of the hotel. Resteraunt attached to hotel. Great food and live music on weekend nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CYoung
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Dec 13, 2011

Excellent hotel!

Very happy with my stay! Great view, clean comfortable room, and several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Only hitch was the electric alarm clock in the room was not working when I took the room, it was quickly replaced by the polite and courteous staff. Definitely would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cw and dw
RI
Jan 26, 2012

definitely would return to this hotel

got a winter deal, so price was wonderful, heat was turned up to warm room before we arrived, bed and pillows very comfortable, loved clean jacuzzi in room and plenty of hot water and towels, room was clean too, view from balcony of ocean was amazing and the sound of the surf all night was relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Raven Restaurant directly across the street from the Newcastle Hotel was great food, big portion size and good prices and waitress friendly and attentive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keaa
Baltimore, Maryland
Jun 30, 2013

Spring getaway

This hotel was a good spot. I like the fact that it was ocean front. We was also able to sit on the balcony at night an just enjoy the breeze from the water. I would come back again and stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Around Town
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 18, 2013

Great value

We were very pleased with the location and the value. The pool was very average, but the rooms were clean and there was good parking available. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the Virginia Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Chf
Sandston, VA
Mar 13, 2014

Enjoyed Myself

The main thing that impressed be about this hotel. Everybody seemed to be extremely friendly. They could use a larger restaurant for the winter. We basically ate in a hallway. The room was nice and I liked having a Jacuzzi. Overall, for the age of the hotel, it was in pretty good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search