$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
61 reviews
couples retreat

It was great!! The room was wonderful and the hot tubs are huge and comfortable. It is well worth... See full review

  • Business Travelers 2014
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean,... See full review

  • MiJo from KCMO
  • Jul 30, 2013
The Newcastle Hotel is the perfect destination for both families on vacation and the business traveler. All rooms feature private oceanfront balconies, along with wireless internet, microwave and fridge. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and the hotel itself is conveniently located on the Oceanfront. There are so many things to do within walking distance: Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more! The hotel has no smoking policy.

Hotel Map

36.8409 -75.9727
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Oceanfront property, Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newcastle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Newcastle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - Double
All Oceanfront Deluxe Double rooms are complete with 2 Double Beds, private oceanfront Balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, and whirlpool tub. Complimentary Wireless Internet is also included.
Deluxe - Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room is a lovely room with a queen size bed and a whirlpool tub in the bedroom with mirrors all around. This room with a private oceanfront balcony also has a microwave, mini fridge and complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cw and dw
RI
Jan 26, 2012

definitely would return to this hotel

got a winter deal, so price was wonderful, heat was turned up to warm room before we arrived, bed and pillows very comfortable, loved clean jacuzzi in room and plenty of hot water and towels, room was clean too, view from balcony of ocean was amazing and the sound of the surf all night was relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Raven Restaurant directly across the street from the Newcastle Hotel was great food, big portion size and good prices and waitress friendly and attentive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mellowmom
Business
Georgia
Sep 17, 2012

hotel needs a facelift

Staff was pleasant but the room was tired and the mattress was awful. The TV reception was terrible but the beach view was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk was quite lively after dark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My two boys
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 17, 2012

Had better hotels for the money

Room was clean but needs updates badly. Mattress cheap, noisy and smaller than frame so that metal support is sticking out from the sides. Got my ankle scratched by it. Carpet with "lumps" underneath and teared. Air conditioning very loud. Staff very friendly. Overall I must say I had better experiences for the money, possibly a 2 stars hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Giants
Business
Upstate New York
Aug 6, 2012

Great Stay

We stayed in the delux queen room. Amazing room!! Outdated tv but who would want to watch tv with an oceanfront view and a whirlpool in the room?! Close to several places around VA beach. Great resteraunt attached to the hotel. They had live music on Friday and Saturday night and great food. Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and boardwalk right outside of the hotel. Resteraunt attached to hotel. Great food and live music on weekend nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TR Strunk
Business
Collegeville, PA
Jul 13, 2012

Needs work done

Our stay was ok. The bed was hard. There was no soap dish in the shower. Room was other wise ok. The Whirl pool tub worked great. Filled up fast and there was plenty of hot water. It would be nice though if there was some track lighting above it. Parking was a bit difficult for my F150 crew cab short bed (Size of a reg. P/U standard cab with an 8' bed. Both the bottom and top parking area's were hard to move around. Ramp going to the top very steep. I recommend driving a med to small car there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were things going on every night. Around the hotel. Live music. Acrobatics. Amusement park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TR Strunk
Business
Collegeville, PA
Jul 12, 2012

Good for the money

Bed was hard. The room needed to be up graded. Parking was tight. Was a bit difficult to get around in my F150 crewcab short bed. Mid size or smaller car would be much easier to park. Maid service was good. Room was clean every day. Could use a soap dish in the shower. Location was great. Was somewhat in the middle of all the activities that Va Beach community offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many activities all around the hotel through out the week. Free street shows up and down the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue166
Business
Cleveland,oh
May 26, 2012

Very nice!

I would recommand this hotel to everybody. it was very nice. perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the Dolphin. I was fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BertaNChuckie
Business
Mechanicsville VA
May 19, 2012

Early Vacation

NO INTERNET at all, pool was dirty. Male desk clerk on 5-17-12 night shift was very rude RUDE! I asked housekeeping to make bed, clean towels and take trash away. I got clean towels thrown on bed and 1 trash can empty. Nothing else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunsations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
josh614
Business
columbus, oh
May 16, 2012

first vb trip

great location, hard beds, friendly staff, indoor pool was nice but dirty and tiles loose around edge, attached hotel was poorly ran

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

mcdonalds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paintfairy
Business
Phoenix
May 15, 2012

Great for a one night stop over.

This was an excellent rate for a hotel on the beach. We only needed one night and this was great for that. The front desk staff was extremely nice. The room was small and a little tired but the beds were fine and clean. They had a laundry room which was a nice ammenity as this is a long trip. Having a view and balcony with easy access to the boardwalk was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bosscat
Business
Troy, MI, USA
Apr 23, 2012

New Castle Hotel

The Hotel has a beautiful location. The hotel is in disrepair. Everywhere I looked something needed fixing. It was not very clean. I brought along my own disinfectant spray and I needed to use it. The room had a jet tub, but we didn't use it because the jets looked rusty. I didn't want to change hotels and I knew changing rooms would make no difference. I can't believe this is a three star hotel. We needed this vacation to relax so I didn't want to go through the hassle of finding another hotel. I would not normally stay in a hotel that is as dirty as the New Castle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top