$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chad P
Business
Anderson, S.C.
Feb 16, 2013

OverNight Stay

I arrived to the room at 2am and was to tired to change rooms. Entering the room looking in the bathrooom was hair in the sink. Looking at the toilet it was dirty and I had to clean before I used. After a shower and headed to bed the bed had some dirt in it? I gues that what it was . I shook the sheets out and layed on a blanket that I had. It was a very very unpleasent experience. My parents was going to VA Beach the next day and I told them DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler For The Night
Business
Central Virginia
Jan 27, 2013

Not bad for the money.

Fantastic, breathtaking view of the beach and very helpful staff. Lobby was a bit average, but the parking was good. For the deal I got, it was worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tami Super bowler
Couples
Colonial Heights, Va
Oct 5, 2012

Best Birthday Ever!

The staff made our stay the best we've ever had at Va Beach. The jacuzzi tub was great. The view from the balcony of the dolphins swimming was once in a life time! We will DEFINITELY be back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Listen for the music on the boardwalk...

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mellowmom
Couples
Georgia
Sep 17, 2012

hotel needs a facelift

Staff was pleasant but the room was tired and the mattress was awful. The TV reception was terrible but the beach view was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk was quite lively after dark.

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My two boys
Family
Charlotte, NC
Sep 17, 2012

Had better hotels for the money

Room was clean but needs updates badly. Mattress cheap, noisy and smaller than frame so that metal support is sticking out from the sides. Got my ankle scratched by it. Carpet with "lumps" underneath and teared. Air conditioning very loud. Staff very friendly. Overall I must say I had better experiences for the money, possibly a 2 stars hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Giants
Couples
Upstate New York
Aug 6, 2012

Great Stay

We stayed in the delux queen room. Amazing room!! Outdated tv but who would want to watch tv with an oceanfront view and a whirlpool in the room?! Close to several places around VA beach. Great resteraunt attached to the hotel. They had live music on Friday and Saturday night and great food. Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and boardwalk right outside of the hotel. Resteraunt attached to hotel. Great food and live music on weekend nights.

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TR Strunk
Couples
Collegeville, PA
Jul 13, 2012

Needs work done

Our stay was ok. The bed was hard. There was no soap dish in the shower. Room was other wise ok. The Whirl pool tub worked great. Filled up fast and there was plenty of hot water. It would be nice though if there was some track lighting above it. Parking was a bit difficult for my F150 crew cab short bed (Size of a reg. P/U standard cab with an 8' bed. Both the bottom and top parking area's were hard to move around. Ramp going to the top very steep. I recommend driving a med to small car there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were things going on every night. Around the hotel. Live music. Acrobatics. Amusement park.

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TR Strunk
Couples
Collegeville, PA
Jul 12, 2012

Good for the money

Bed was hard. The room needed to be up graded. Parking was tight. Was a bit difficult to get around in my F150 crewcab short bed. Mid size or smaller car would be much easier to park. Maid service was good. Room was clean every day. Could use a soap dish in the shower. Location was great. Was somewhat in the middle of all the activities that Va Beach community offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many activities all around the hotel through out the week. Free street shows up and down the strip.

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue166
Couples
Cleveland,oh
May 26, 2012

Very nice!

I would recommand this hotel to everybody. it was very nice. perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the Dolphin. I was fun!

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BertaNChuckie
Family
Mechanicsville VA
May 19, 2012

Early Vacation

NO INTERNET at all, pool was dirty. Male desk clerk on 5-17-12 night shift was very rude RUDE! I asked housekeeping to make bed, clean towels and take trash away. I got clean towels thrown on bed and 1 trash can empty. Nothing else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunsations

Back to menu Return to top