$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean,... See full review

  • MiJo from KCMO
  • Jul 30, 2013
Enjoyed Myself

The main thing that impressed be about this hotel. Everybody seemed to be extremely friendly. They... See full review

  • Big Chf
  • Mar 13, 2014
The Newcastle Hotel is the perfect destination for both families on vacation and the business traveler. All rooms feature private oceanfront balconies, along with wireless internet, microwave and fridge. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and the hotel itself is conveniently located on the Oceanfront. There are so many things to do within walking distance: Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more! The hotel has no smoking policy.

Hotel Map

36.8409 -75.9727
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Oceanfront property, Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newcastle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Newcastle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - Double
All Oceanfront Deluxe Double rooms are complete with 2 Double Beds, private oceanfront Balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, and whirlpool tub. Complimentary Wireless Internet is also included.
Deluxe - Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room is a lovely room with a queen size bed and a whirlpool tub in the bedroom with mirrors all around. This room with a private oceanfront balcony also has a microwave, mini fridge and complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TR Strunk
Collegeville, PA
Jul 12, 2012

Good for the money

Bed was hard. The room needed to be up graded. Parking was tight. Was a bit difficult to get around in my F150 crewcab short bed. Mid size or smaller car would be much easier to park. Maid service was good. Room was clean every day. Could use a soap dish in the shower. Location was great. Was somewhat in the middle of all the activities that Va Beach community offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many activities all around the hotel through out the week. Free street shows up and down the strip.

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue166
Cleveland,oh
May 26, 2012

Very nice!

I would recommand this hotel to everybody. it was very nice. perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the Dolphin. I was fun!

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BertaNChuckie
Mechanicsville VA
May 19, 2012

Early Vacation

NO INTERNET at all, pool was dirty. Male desk clerk on 5-17-12 night shift was very rude RUDE! I asked housekeeping to make bed, clean towels and take trash away. I got clean towels thrown on bed and 1 trash can empty. Nothing else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunsations

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
josh614
columbus, oh
May 16, 2012

first vb trip

great location, hard beds, friendly staff, indoor pool was nice but dirty and tiles loose around edge, attached hotel was poorly ran

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

mcdonalds

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paintfairy
Phoenix
May 15, 2012

Great for a one night stop over.

This was an excellent rate for a hotel on the beach. We only needed one night and this was great for that. The front desk staff was extremely nice. The room was small and a little tired but the beds were fine and clean. They had a laundry room which was a nice ammenity as this is a long trip. Having a view and balcony with easy access to the boardwalk was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bosscat
Troy, MI, USA
Apr 23, 2012

New Castle Hotel

The Hotel has a beautiful location. The hotel is in disrepair. Everywhere I looked something needed fixing. It was not very clean. I brought along my own disinfectant spray and I needed to use it. The room had a jet tub, but we didn't use it because the jets looked rusty. I didn't want to change hotels and I knew changing rooms would make no difference. I can't believe this is a three star hotel. We needed this vacation to relax so I didn't want to go through the hassle of finding another hotel. I would not normally stay in a hotel that is as dirty as the New Castle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dancingingreen
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Pleasant mini trip

I spent 3 nights at the Newcastle hotel in a nonsmoking room that smelled like smoke. =( The oceanfront view was nice and I watched the sunrise one morning on the balcony. Overall I had a pleasant experience during my stay. The beds were too firm for my taste and the wifi did not always work for me. I enjoyed the indoor heated pool which went up to 5 ft. The fitness room was small and only had 4 machines... I did not eat at the adjoining restaurant. During my stay I did not want my room serviced until the last day. Each day after my daily excursions a bag of clean towels and extra hotel amenities were left in front of my door. It was a thoughtful gesture but as a very eco conscious person not what I wanted. There is free parking ground level amidst columns and on the second level above. I don't recommend the second level parking unless you like experiencing vertigo from the steep ramp. I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mahi Mah's lunch special and happy hours are not only delicious but a great bargain. Their dinner entrees on the other hand are a little steep.

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
richs9118
Business
Annapolis, MD
Apr 1, 2012

stinky

room smelled heavily of cigarettes and was run down. Staff courteous and for what I paid, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bggb
Marietta, OH
Mar 30, 2012

Good stay for the price

Stayed here at a discounted price and found that deal was worth it. Doubt that I would say the same at full price. The bathroom area is split up and the toilet area is cramped if the door is left open or even to shut the door initially (I was by myself and did not have a reason to shut it, otherwise). Basic amenities. Has good size refrigerator and nice microwave, if that matters to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dane22
martinsville
Mar 28, 2012

beds not comfortable

The room is nice but the beds were just too hard. Very clean nice view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search