$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiJo from KCMO
Business
Kansas City, MO.
Jul 30, 2013

Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean, everything worked, thoroughly enjoyed the two nozzle shower and the huge jetted hot tub!!! The bed could stand to be replaced, but it was still comfortable and didn't interfere with our sleep. We will use this hotel again if we come back to Va. Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keaa
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jun 30, 2013

Spring getaway

This hotel was a good spot. I like the fact that it was ocean front. We was also able to sit on the balcony at night an just enjoy the breeze from the water. I would come back again and stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SoSoHappy
Business
Toronto
Jun 26, 2013

You get what you pay for.

1. Staff not at all concerned when I asked to see security video for parking. Someone bang into mu car and took off. Staff said that they don't have video covering that part of the garage. In other words: PARK AT YOUR OWN RISK. 2.There must have been a shortage of face cloths. When we got them (2) they were full of holes. 3. This is supposed to be a smoke free place? Somebody in 1007 smoke for 4 straight days. The halls were full of smoke. 4. The cleaning ladies should stop slamming doors at 7 am. You know...people sometimes like to sleep late. Over all for the price I guess you get what you pay for...no customer satisfactions concerns whatsoever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The LOG CABIN Super breakfast and lunch the owner is a super guy! and the food is delicious. They take care of their customers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dana anniversary trip
Business
State College, Pa
Jun 25, 2013

Nice for couples!

The only thing bad I could say about this hotel is that its terribly outdated. But other than that the room had a jacuzzi tub, brand new his/her shower and its located in a great place! Bed wasn't really comfortable but average and good enough. Literally walk right out of hotel and you're central boardwalk seconds from the beach. The room I had was made for couples so it was a good room fory husband and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Watermans Restaurant. 5 block walk down the boardwalk. Absolutely delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sheila the law
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Jun 24, 2013

Good for the location and price.

The staff was very nice. Restaurant at the hotel was very convenient. The food was good. The room was okay. Just wish the Jacuzzi tub worked. Great ocean view. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica0405
Business
Rocky Mount, NC
Apr 4, 2013

Great place to stay!

The location of the Newcastle Hotel is awesome! It has a nice bar and grill connected to it. The rooms are small but the whirlpool bath tub makes up for it!The rooms have beautiful oceanfront views and the staff is very accommodating. The indoor pool is small and would not be ideal for the summertime. But there's always the beach which is a few steps from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sassymo
Business
Richmond
Apr 3, 2013

Newcastle Hotel Getaway

The very first thing I would like to say is that the other reviews online almost made me cancel my reservation! I am so happy I didn't this hotel was nothing like its bad reviews.The staff was very friendly,my room was clean,housekeeping was good even waited till we went out to breakfast to make-up the room! Yes the beds were firm ,but I slept like a baby! The hotel is old and could use a facelift,but a great deal for an oceanfront room in a Great location for a unbelievable price!!!!! My only disappointment was the pool area. The pool didn't look very inviting,again nothing a little paint and such couldn't fix; and the in room jacuzzi tub more than made up for that! I enjoyed my stay and would surely return.Not a five star resort but a really great value for an oceanfront hotel in a great location on Va beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Raven is directly across the street! Good food, reasonable prices,and a Va beach icon!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Around Town
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 18, 2013

Great value

We were very pleased with the location and the value. The pool was very average, but the rooms were clean and there was good parking available. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the Virginia Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
One Night Man
Business
Norfolk
Mar 11, 2013

Good enough

Parking is very limited. Rooms need to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrankieMack
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 21, 2013

A mix of good and bad.

Pros - The room was clean, with a modern TV that allowed me to hook up my xbox to watch dvds. The view from the room was beautiful and the whirlpool was fun. It came with a microwave and mini-fridge. Cons - The bed was broken, as were most of the machines in the gym making it totally useless. The staff room was right near mine and they kept their door open and were very loud & obnoxious, at all hours of the day. Overall, the negatives at the hotel were not major enough to ruin the experience and the price was right, so I would return but you might not feel the same way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top