$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Newcastle Hotel

3 stars
1201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean,... See full review

  • MiJo from KCMO
  • Jul 30, 2013
Enjoyed Myself

The main thing that impressed be about this hotel. Everybody seemed to be extremely friendly. They... See full review

  • Big Chf
  • Mar 13, 2014
The Newcastle Hotel is the perfect destination for both families on vacation and the business traveler. All rooms feature private oceanfront balconies, along with wireless internet, microwave and fridge. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and the hotel itself is conveniently located on the Oceanfront. There are so many things to do within walking distance: Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more! The hotel has no smoking policy.

Hotel Map

36.8409 -75.9727
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Oceanfront property, Golf, Tennis, Deep-Sea Fishing, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, The Virginia Aquarium, Ocean Breeze Water Park, Shopping, Fine-Dining and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newcastle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Newcastle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - Double
All Oceanfront Deluxe Double rooms are complete with 2 Double Beds, private oceanfront Balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, and whirlpool tub. Complimentary Wireless Internet is also included.
Deluxe - Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room is a lovely room with a queen size bed and a whirlpool tub in the bedroom with mirrors all around. This room with a private oceanfront balcony also has a microwave, mini fridge and complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2 mi
  • Motor World: 2 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Newcastle Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Water Walker
Business
Virginia Beach VA
Sep 9, 2013

No plans to return!

The place is old and not much investment to upgrade - cracked paint, old dirty looking carpets. I had combined business with pleasure and Saturday intended to sleep late. BANG, BANG, BANG on my door at 8:35 am! "Are you checking out today?" Unbelievable!! I guess they were rushing because they wanted the room for the Shriner's Convention. Not all was bad, The front desk workers were nice, very apologietic and it is an incredible location. However, I now know the better lodgings and will gladly pay extra for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do McDonalds for Breakfast.

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gene27
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 21, 2013

hard stained beds

The beds were as hard as the floors and had stains on the bed the sheet did stay on and tge pillows were flat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiJo from KCMO
Kansas City, MO.
Jul 30, 2013

Great Get Away

My girlfriend and I had a great time. Though it is an older hotel, the room was very clean, everything worked, thoroughly enjoyed the two nozzle shower and the huge jetted hot tub!!! The bed could stand to be replaced, but it was still comfortable and didn't interfere with our sleep. We will use this hotel again if we come back to Va. Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keaa
Baltimore, Maryland
Jun 30, 2013

Spring getaway

This hotel was a good spot. I like the fact that it was ocean front. We was also able to sit on the balcony at night an just enjoy the breeze from the water. I would come back again and stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SoSoHappy
Toronto
Jun 26, 2013

You get what you pay for.

1. Staff not at all concerned when I asked to see security video for parking. Someone bang into mu car and took off. Staff said that they don't have video covering that part of the garage. In other words: PARK AT YOUR OWN RISK. 2.There must have been a shortage of face cloths. When we got them (2) they were full of holes. 3. This is supposed to be a smoke free place? Somebody in 1007 smoke for 4 straight days. The halls were full of smoke. 4. The cleaning ladies should stop slamming doors at 7 am. You know...people sometimes like to sleep late. Over all for the price I guess you get what you pay for...no customer satisfactions concerns whatsoever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The LOG CABIN Super breakfast and lunch the owner is a super guy! and the food is delicious. They take care of their customers!

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dana anniversary trip
State College, Pa
Jun 25, 2013

Nice for couples!

The only thing bad I could say about this hotel is that its terribly outdated. But other than that the room had a jacuzzi tub, brand new his/her shower and its located in a great place! Bed wasn't really comfortable but average and good enough. Literally walk right out of hotel and you're central boardwalk seconds from the beach. The room I had was made for couples so it was a good room fory husband and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Watermans Restaurant. 5 block walk down the boardwalk. Absolutely delicious!!

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sheila the law
Richmond, Virginia
Jun 24, 2013

Good for the location and price.

The staff was very nice. Restaurant at the hotel was very convenient. The food was good. The room was okay. Just wish the Jacuzzi tub worked. Great ocean view. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica0405
Rocky Mount, NC
Apr 4, 2013

Great place to stay!

The location of the Newcastle Hotel is awesome! It has a nice bar and grill connected to it. The rooms are small but the whirlpool bath tub makes up for it!The rooms have beautiful oceanfront views and the staff is very accommodating. The indoor pool is small and would not be ideal for the summertime. But there's always the beach which is a few steps from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sassymo
Richmond
Apr 3, 2013

Newcastle Hotel Getaway

The very first thing I would like to say is that the other reviews online almost made me cancel my reservation! I am so happy I didn't this hotel was nothing like its bad reviews.The staff was very friendly,my room was clean,housekeeping was good even waited till we went out to breakfast to make-up the room! Yes the beds were firm ,but I slept like a baby! The hotel is old and could use a facelift,but a great deal for an oceanfront room in a Great location for a unbelievable price!!!!! My only disappointment was the pool area. The pool didn't look very inviting,again nothing a little paint and such couldn't fix; and the in room jacuzzi tub more than made up for that! I enjoyed my stay and would surely return.Not a five star resort but a really great value for an oceanfront hotel in a great location on Va beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Raven is directly across the street! Good food, reasonable prices,and a Va beach icon!

Review of Newcastle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Around Town
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 18, 2013

Great value

We were very pleased with the location and the value. The pool was very average, but the rooms were clean and there was good parking available. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the Virginia Aquarium

Back to menu Return to top

Change search