$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

3 stars
2604 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
56 reviews
pretty good deal

best features in this order: proximity to beach and boardwalk, quality of free breakfast, and... See full review

  • lifesabeach55
  • Jul 1, 2014
VA Beach

Perfect. Less than a block away. The room was big enough to fit 2 families of 4. See full review

  • Deli202
  • Jun 29, 2014
The luxurious extensively renovated Clarion Suites at the beach in Virginia Beach boasts partial ocean view rooms, in the heart of Virginia Beach. With its ideal location right across the street from the boardwalk, sophisticated facilities, elegant accommodation, and impeccable service. This smoke-free hotel is surrounded by the beach, boutiques, spas, parks, shopping, and cities finest attractions. Hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, hard wired internet for government corporate travelers, complimentary Business Center with internet access, Copy and fax service, Exercise room, Board room, and state of the art interior decor. Complimentary parking is available on site. 1 vehicle per room. Additional parking may be purchased at 15.00 USD per space, based on availability. Pet: 15.00 USD Per Night, a max of 25 lbs, a max of 2 per room.

Hotel Map

36.8549 -75.9765
Nearby airports
Norfolk Int'l Airport, (ORF), 19.30, MI, E; Newport News/Wmsbg Intl Arpt, (PHF), 44.10, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, I-264, Atl. Ave

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.3 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.8 mi
  • Motor World: 2.8 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.1 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.5 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.3 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.8 mi
  • Motor World: 2.8 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.1 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.5 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.5 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 56
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill Joyful Jolly
Brooklyn, New York
Mar 5, 2014

Good Price Hotel

The hotel was right off the beaches and looked brand new from outside, but the inside seem to have taken some beating. The breakfast was free and plentiful. We did enjoy the beach side view and the indoor pool was ok, but swimming in the ocean was better. We had a nice time the staff was great with restaurant options and directions. The best was the price was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mama22
Richmond, VA
Feb 10, 2014

Smoke Odor Included

I had requested a Non-Smoking room; the hotel was supposed to be a smoke free facility. However, the desk manager informed us that the hotel was sold out, and that we could smoke in our rooms. The entire hallway and room reeked of smoke. I needed medication to breathe. My daughter tried to find "smoke eaters"; we ended up with Fabreeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nelomelo
n.va
Aug 19, 2013

satified with stay here

I was satisfied with my stay here! I just think price was way to high for a 3star hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain george buffet is the best seafood spot in va beach!!

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Spore
Virginia
Jul 25, 2013

The waiting game.

We got there 2 hours early and were told to come back later to check in. When we did that, we were told that the rooms were still not ready. There were about 6 other parties waiting in line to be checked in, also having the same problem. The front desk staff was either clueless or undertrained. The manager was no where to be found. When we did get a key card to our room after waiting for 45 minutes, the room was not cleaned! Luckily the housekeeper was nearby and called the front desk to give us another room. The room was supposed to be serviced daily. That didn't happen. i had to ask for fresh towels and trash to be removed.The glasses in the room weren't washed well as we could smell the soda. I felt that for $200 a day, it should be a necessity and not a request. On the second day of our stay, the only elevator broke. They also ran out of some food for breakfast because the food truck did not arrive. The room was of decent size but the bathroom was tiny and we had trouble with the door. The door would stick. We will never go back to that hotel. There was really nothing good to say about that place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marine Mom06
Pennsylvania
Apr 2, 2013

Marine Mom

Good location, dog friendly. Would stay again. Son is Marine in Chesapeake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bent up bentley
Manassas
Mar 13, 2013

Close to beach

The motel was completely renovated and the room looked nice. Bed was comfortable but sheets were dirty. The pool was closed but looked very small. The free breakfast was fantastic. Overall value was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Doughboys pizza

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Gioconda
Arlington, VA
Mar 2, 2013

Va Beach Traveler

My sister, her two children and I stayed here for a week off season. The location was terrific, the rates were reasonable and the room was a very nice size. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and used the work out room everyday. When two items needed to be fixed in our room, they were fixed that day. The staff was very friendly The only complaint is that the bathroom was small with no hooks for clothing or wet towels. There was no counter space in the bathroom, which was a problem with four people staying in a room. Overall, it a nice stay. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oceanfrontie
Richmond, VA
Aug 16, 2012

Not so oceanfront

The hotel was nice, and its in a nice location close to the beach, but i paid extra money for an ocean front view and this hotel is not directly on the ocean. My oceanfront view consisted of a small peak in between the Holiday Inn and another hotel. Being that I'm not from VA Beach, I feel that advertising "an oceanfront view" is misleading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Birthday weekend2012
Richmond, VA
Aug 9, 2012

Could not be more disappointed

I was not one who thought I was getting a real ocean view, but I agree that none of the rooms should cost extra for their "view." The Holiday Inn across the street completely blocks 99% of any possible ocean view. But that was the least of my concerns. In general, the architectural layout of the hotel is weird. You have to walk between several different, separate sections of the building to get to breakfast, the desk, or the room. There is no lobby, and not much space in the hotel public areas. There is almost no parking. The desk staff tell you that once the 30 or so spaces fill up, you can park in the "Beach Parking" lot next door, which means you have to compete with the other hundreds of tourists on the beach. Somehow, the night I checked in, the front desk ran my debit card twice, meaning that the hold on my card was 1200 for two nights. This meant I could no longer use this card to pay for other things. Very frustrating. When I approached the front desk about it, they were friendly but basically unable to do anything to correct this serious error. The facilities seem very old. The toilet was running for hours at a time, and we were forced to turn it off manually each night to avoid listening to the dripping sound all night. The shower also made a high pitch squeal whenever it was turned on. I approached the housekeeper, and told her that the only thing we needed was for someone to clean the bathroom (the toilet looked like it had not been scrubbed in a very long time). Instead, she dropped off some soaps and left the bathroom filthy. The bedding was good quality, but the sheets came complete with sand already in them. I have never had this happen, even at a beach hotel. There are no chairs in the room, in spite of the fact that there is lots of empty space. The sofa is far away from the beds. We had a few friends in the room to chat, and the only place that four people could hang out was on the beds. I see no reason there shouldn't be chairs in the rooms. Internet access in the business center was extremely slow and used a strange browser that would not let me go to my banking site. I went with Clarion because I hoped that a large chain would have some national standards. I probably should have picked Econo lodge. The hotel felt like an econo lodge, but cost double. I was at the beach to have a good time, which I did, and I really wanted to be ok with the hotel, but picking this hotel was the one really bad decision of the weekend. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay somewhere nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Donaway clan
Virginia
Jul 9, 2012

Great place to be for Family

The hotel is a good place to and from the beach! Although wishing they had a bigger pool. Also they need to make a notice regarding people seimming with their shirt on, that's just nasty! I think alot of guest act like they never been to a hotel before, they trash the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search