$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

3 stars
2604 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
70 reviews
pretty good deal

best features in this order: proximity to beach and boardwalk, quality of free breakfast, and... See full review

  • lifesabeach55
  • Jul 1, 2014
VA Beach

Perfect. Less than a block away. The room was big enough to fit 2 families of 4. See full review

  • Deli202
  • Jun 29, 2014
The luxurious extensively renovated Clarion Suites at the beach in Virginia Beach boasts partial ocean view rooms, in the heart of Virginia Beach. With its ideal location right across the street from the boardwalk, sophisticated facilities, elegant accommodation, and impeccable service. This smoke-free hotel is surrounded by the beach, boutiques, spas, parks, shopping, and cities finest attractions. Hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, hard wired internet for government corporate travelers, complimentary Business Center with internet access, Copy and fax service, Exercise room, Board room, and state of the art interior decor. Complimentary parking is available on site. 1 vehicle per room. Additional parking may be purchased at 15.00 USD per space, based on availability. Pet: 15.00 USD Per Night, a max of 25 lbs, a max of 2 per room.

Hotel Map

36.8549 -75.9765
Nearby airports
Norfolk Int'l Airport, (ORF), 19.30, MI, E; Newport News/Wmsbg Intl Arpt, (PHF), 44.10, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, I-264, Atl. Ave

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.3 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.8 mi
  • Motor World: 2.8 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.1 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.5 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.2 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.3 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.8 mi
  • Motor World: 2.8 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.8 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.1 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.5 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.5 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Spore
Virginia
Jul 25, 2013

The waiting game.

We got there 2 hours early and were told to come back later to check in. When we did that, we were told that the rooms were still not ready. There were about 6 other parties waiting in line to be checked in, also having the same problem. The front desk staff was either clueless or undertrained. The manager was no where to be found. When we did get a key card to our room after waiting for 45 minutes, the room was not cleaned! Luckily the housekeeper was nearby and called the front desk to give us another room. The room was supposed to be serviced daily. That didn't happen. i had to ask for fresh towels and trash to be removed.The glasses in the room weren't washed well as we could smell the soda. I felt that for $200 a day, it should be a necessity and not a request. On the second day of our stay, the only elevator broke. They also ran out of some food for breakfast because the food truck did not arrive. The room was of decent size but the bathroom was tiny and we had trouble with the door. The door would stick. We will never go back to that hotel. There was really nothing good to say about that place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mama22
Richmond, VA
Feb 10, 2014

Smoke Odor Included

I had requested a Non-Smoking room; the hotel was supposed to be a smoke free facility. However, the desk manager informed us that the hotel was sold out, and that we could smoke in our rooms. The entire hallway and room reeked of smoke. I needed medication to breathe. My daughter tried to find "smoke eaters"; we ended up with Fabreeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Triarri
Virginia, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Sleepless in Virginia Beach

The amenities, location, and room cleanliness were all good. But unfortunately the owners do not care about the noise generated by their elevator all night long. Do not stay in a room on either side of the hotel on the 6th floor. The motor runs constantly all night long. Unfortunately we did not find out until it was really too late to move rooms. You would have thought if the hotel had more rooms, the desk clerk would issue that one last. The desk clerk was less than sympathetic and did not initially respond to our issue/complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Birthday weekend2012
Richmond, VA
Aug 9, 2012

Could not be more disappointed

I was not one who thought I was getting a real ocean view, but I agree that none of the rooms should cost extra for their "view." The Holiday Inn across the street completely blocks 99% of any possible ocean view. But that was the least of my concerns. In general, the architectural layout of the hotel is weird. You have to walk between several different, separate sections of the building to get to breakfast, the desk, or the room. There is no lobby, and not much space in the hotel public areas. There is almost no parking. The desk staff tell you that once the 30 or so spaces fill up, you can park in the "Beach Parking" lot next door, which means you have to compete with the other hundreds of tourists on the beach. Somehow, the night I checked in, the front desk ran my debit card twice, meaning that the hold on my card was 1200 for two nights. This meant I could no longer use this card to pay for other things. Very frustrating. When I approached the front desk about it, they were friendly but basically unable to do anything to correct this serious error. The facilities seem very old. The toilet was running for hours at a time, and we were forced to turn it off manually each night to avoid listening to the dripping sound all night. The shower also made a high pitch squeal whenever it was turned on. I approached the housekeeper, and told her that the only thing we needed was for someone to clean the bathroom (the toilet looked like it had not been scrubbed in a very long time). Instead, she dropped off some soaps and left the bathroom filthy. The bedding was good quality, but the sheets came complete with sand already in them. I have never had this happen, even at a beach hotel. There are no chairs in the room, in spite of the fact that there is lots of empty space. The sofa is far away from the beds. We had a few friends in the room to chat, and the only place that four people could hang out was on the beds. I see no reason there shouldn't be chairs in the rooms. Internet access in the business center was extremely slow and used a strange browser that would not let me go to my banking site. I went with Clarion because I hoped that a large chain would have some national standards. I probably should have picked Econo lodge. The hotel felt like an econo lodge, but cost double. I was at the beach to have a good time, which I did, and I really wanted to be ok with the hotel, but picking this hotel was the one really bad decision of the weekend. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay somewhere nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
T. TURNER
MARYLAND
Sep 19, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Virginia Beach, VA, the hotel seemed to be very nice until we looked a little closer at the bathrooms, the tubs were filthy, we notified housekeeping, but no one was on duty to clean the bathrooms until the morning, they said that someone would come but they NEVER did. We rented over 7 rooms at this hotel for the wedding and once we returned from the wedding, none of our rooms were cleaned, no clean towels, nothing.....Also, the grooms room was not only dirty, but it was infested with ants, and management did nothing about it, there was not manager on duty, and when they put in a call to the manager, Aaron, he NEVER called back. DO NOT STAY at this hotel it was horrible......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
T. TURNER
MARYLAND
Sep 19, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Virginia Beach, VA, the hotel seemed to be very nice until we looked a little closer at the bathrooms, the tubs were filthy, we notified housekeeping, but no one was on duty to clean the bathrooms until the morning, they said that someone would come but they NEVER did. We rented over 7 rooms at this hotel for the wedding and once we returned from the wedding, none of our rooms were cleaned, no clean towels, nothing.....Also, the grooms room was not only dirty, but it was infested with ants, and management did nothing about it, there was not manager on duty, and when they put in a call to the manager, Aaron, he NEVER called back. DO NOT STAY at this hotel it was horrible......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Avg.Joe
Richmond
Jul 5, 2012

Avoid this hotel - average location, bad room/service

We paid for a room with "two queen beds and a sofa." When we arrived, we found that the sofa was NOT a pull-out (which I think any rational person would have assumed). This caused us to switch rooms late at night, into a room that was 1) missing a shower curtain and 2) looked like something had been thrown/shot at the window, there was a single puncture mark and the whole window was cracked. We also had to pay extra to park a second car (have never had to do this before). Room was not exceptionally clean, was missing a bedspread on one of the two beds, and there was a leak in our hallway (thankfully not our room). There are plenty of other decent hotels in the Virginia Beach area for the same price...I wouldn't recommend this one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pete33
Virgina
Sep 11, 2011

Ocean View at Ocean Front does not mean on the beach

We made this reservation by phone while in the car and asked for an "Ocean Front" hotel in Va. Beach. What we got was a block back with a very slight view of the Ocean....not Ocean Front.. Do not be mislead. The hotel is definitely not a 3 star. The room is fairly nice, but the facilities are minimal. The staff was nice enough. Don't expect anything more than a room to sleep in at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Nicks on Laskin Ave. Good down home seafood in a casual atmosphere.

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling from DC
Washington DC
Mar 24, 2014

Too Expensive for What you Get

Because of the off season and the high price we paid for this season we thought we would, at least, get an ocean view room - instead we had a lovely view of 7-11. We needed a hair dryer that never came and we needed washcloths that never came. The staff was great, very friendly and the breakfast was a big plus and was good. All in all we would stay again, but not at the rate we paid. It is a "motel" not a "hotel."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pete33
Virgina
Sep 11, 2011

Ocean View at Ocean Front does not mean on the beach

We made this reservation by phone while in the car and asked for an "Ocean Front" hotel in Va. Beach. What we got was a block back with a very slight view of the Ocean....not Ocean Front.. Do not be mislead. The hotel is definitely not a 3 star. The room is fairly nice, but the facilities are minimal. The staff was nice enough. Don't expect anything more than a room to sleep in at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Nicks on Laskin Ave. Good down home seafood in a casual atmosphere.

Back to menu Return to top