$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

3 stars
View map of 2604 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappilyMarriedtoRicoJones
Business
Southern Virginia
Feb 16, 2013

Couples Getaway

Stayed one night here for Valentine's Day. Was at a good location. Our room had a partial view of the ocean and boardwalk. Very nice room for the price ($55 for February). Breakfast was good for what you pay for. Waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, breakfast sandwhiches, fruit, oatmeal, grits, juice machines, coffee station, etc. Only complaint is bathroom is a tad bit small and the vent fan stays on in bathroom when light is on and the curtains did not close completely. Other then that I would stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Free Breakfast will do until lunch. There is also a seafood restaurant onsite....

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scottie79
Business
Jersey
Dec 19, 2012

Changed rooms 2 times good after the change

Nice hotel after changing rooms 2 times once due to short black hair in the bed and again for the room smelling like smoke. The 3rd room and about 30 mins later or so no other complaints. You will want a room on the side away from the busy street. There is also a Irish pub about 2 blocks away that has good food and a nice selection of beer other then that you will need a car. 7-11 is also across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VaBch Native
Business
Knoxville, TN
Oct 15, 2012

High School Reunion

I'm originally from Virginia Beach. It was nice to see that the oceanfront is way cleaner and nicer than it ever was in the 80's. This hotel has a great location. We were very pleased with our room at the top right (6th floor) with that glimpse of the ocean between buildings. Good light and nice picture window. Breakfast included hot eggs, waffles and sausage in addition to the usual hotel fare. Staff was great, rooms were clean. Pool was sparkling, I think it's location in the semi-shady center courtyard would be a plus in the hot summer heat. I will stay again the next time I return to the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the hotel bars at the 31st Street Hilton

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragona
Business
Virginia, US
Sep 10, 2012

Adequate

Our room appeared clean, I was disappointed to find shampoo and soap left from previous guest in the shower. Also found underwear and a lady's top hidden in the safety box. These experiences made me wonder how clean the bathroom was and how thorough the room is cleaned between guests. Staff was very helpful and courteous. The hotel lobby and hallways very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oceanfrontie
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 16, 2012

Not so oceanfront

The hotel was nice, and its in a nice location close to the beach, but i paid extra money for an ocean front view and this hotel is not directly on the ocean. My oceanfront view consisted of a small peak in between the Holiday Inn and another hotel. Being that I'm not from VA Beach, I feel that advertising "an oceanfront view" is misleading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Birthday weekend2012
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 9, 2012

Could not be more disappointed

I was not one who thought I was getting a real ocean view, but I agree that none of the rooms should cost extra for their "view." The Holiday Inn across the street completely blocks 99% of any possible ocean view. But that was the least of my concerns. In general, the architectural layout of the hotel is weird. You have to walk between several different, separate sections of the building to get to breakfast, the desk, or the room. There is no lobby, and not much space in the hotel public areas. There is almost no parking. The desk staff tell you that once the 30 or so spaces fill up, you can park in the "Beach Parking" lot next door, which means you have to compete with the other hundreds of tourists on the beach. Somehow, the night I checked in, the front desk ran my debit card twice, meaning that the hold on my card was 1200 for two nights. This meant I could no longer use this card to pay for other things. Very frustrating. When I approached the front desk about it, they were friendly but basically unable to do anything to correct this serious error. The facilities seem very old. The toilet was running for hours at a time, and we were forced to turn it off manually each night to avoid listening to the dripping sound all night. The shower also made a high pitch squeal whenever it was turned on. I approached the housekeeper, and told her that the only thing we needed was for someone to clean the bathroom (the toilet looked like it had not been scrubbed in a very long time). Instead, she dropped off some soaps and left the bathroom filthy. The bedding was good quality, but the sheets came complete with sand already in them. I have never had this happen, even at a beach hotel. There are no chairs in the room, in spite of the fact that there is lots of empty space. The sofa is far away from the beds. We had a few friends in the room to chat, and the only place that four people could hang out was on the beds. I see no reason there shouldn't be chairs in the rooms. Internet access in the business center was extremely slow and used a strange browser that would not let me go to my banking site. I went with Clarion because I hoped that a large chain would have some national standards. I probably should have picked Econo lodge. The hotel felt like an econo lodge, but cost double. I was at the beach to have a good time, which I did, and I really wanted to be ok with the hotel, but picking this hotel was the one really bad decision of the weekend. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay somewhere nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J410
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Aug 7, 2012

Great staff terrible price

I booked the room thinking I would have a view o the water - which I did not. The staff was awesome from answering questions about great places to eat, where the nearest Walmart was, and providing extra towels and washcloths in a timely manner. The price of the room was a drawback though; however, they may be because I booked the room one day prior to my trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Pacific Ave to your destinations. Traffic flows much smoother than Atlantic Ave

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarahLC
Business
Herndon, VA
Jul 16, 2012

Girls weekend

My friends and I had a good time in VA Beach this weekend staying at the Clarion. We all said we would stay at Clarion again. The location is great, breakfast was awesome and the pool was a nice fallback when the beach wasn't agreeing. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We'll be back to the Clarion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Donaway clan
Business
Virginia
Jul 9, 2012

Great place to be for Family

The hotel is a good place to and from the beach! Although wishing they had a bigger pool. Also they need to make a notice regarding people seimming with their shirt on, that's just nasty! I think alot of guest act like they never been to a hotel before, they trash the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovebutton
Business
Charleston, West Virginia
Jul 6, 2012

Great location!

My room was big and roomy, perfect location to all the hot spots, lots of restaurants and steps from the beach, free parking. Staff was super polite and helpful My only concern would be better staffing and seating for breakfast especially when hotel is fully booked on holidays like July 4th and it would have been great if room had a balcony but not a deal breaker as not much time spent there. I would definitely stay here when visiting next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

King of the Sea has a great seafood buffet with all you can eat crab legs

Back to menu Return to top