$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Beach Quarters Resort

3 stars
501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
58 reviews
Great Hotel - Should have more stars

The staff was amazing! Everyone was extremely friendly. The hotel was very clean. Our room was... See full review

  • girlymel
  • Mar 11, 2014
Best. Resort for winter stay

Awesome stay clean and quiet resort staff is nice and are nice and helpful See full review

  • Will express
  • Jan 11, 2014
Oceanfront resort in Atlantic Avenue with rooftop bar, athletic club
Offering beachfront accommodations in the centre of the Virginia Beach resort area, Beach Quarters Resort makes for a suitable base for travelers looking for a relaxing getaway. This resort in Atlantic Avenue features an array of wellness amenities including an athletic club with spa and sauna services, steam room, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, and tanning bed. Kids engage in exciting arcade games at the activity center and games room on site. Enjoy the cool ocean breeze on the seventh-floor rooftop area with an outdoor pool and tennis and shuffleboard courts overlooking Atlantic Avenue.

Guests at Beach Quarters Resort feast fresh seafood and sushi specialties at restaurants close by. Patrons also sip refreshing drinks at SandBar at the rooftop deck (seasonal). This retreat can also host corporate and social gatherings at the in-house event venue with 2,200 square feet of floor space. Added conveniences include 24-hour front desk, business center and parking.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Athletic Club with spa and sauna services and Jacuzzi
  • Rooftop area with bar and tennis and shuffleboard courts
  • Seafront rooms with private balcony
Beach Quarters Resort Rooms
All spacious rooms at Resort Beach Quarters are equipped with cable TV, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, coffee maker and private balcony that opens to ocean views. Select units are appointed with full kitchen or kitchenette with microwave oven and refrigerator and separate living room with a sleeper sofa.
Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (18.9 mi/30.4 km) 
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (45.1 mi/72.5 km) 
Things To Do
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amusement Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Naval Aviation Monument Park (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Nightmare Mansion (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Redwing Lake Golf Course (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Hilltop Shopping Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • The Shops at Hilltop (3.0 mi/4.8 km)
  • Lynnhaven Mall (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • On-site parking is available for one vehicle per room. 
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to register and check-in. 
  • A valid photo ID and a major credit card must be presented at check-in. A hold of $100 USD will be charged to the credit card in case of incidentals.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beach Quarters Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Studio with Two Doubles
This oceanfront room features a private balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boardwalk. Featuring two double beds, a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, this room is the perfect oceanfront retreat for up to 4 guests. Stay just steps from the sand and enjoy the resort with the most amenities at the beach.
Oceanfront King Studio with Jetted Tub
This oceanfront studio features a private balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boardwalk. With a plush king bed and large jetted tub, this room is perfect for an oceanfront vacation or a romantic beach getaway. This studio also includes a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Stay just steps from the sand and enjoy the resort with the most amenities at the beach.
Oceanfront Two Doubles Suite
This oceanfront suite features a private balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. This suite sleeps up to 6 and offers a separate bedroom with two plush double beds and sleeper sofa in the living room. With a fully-equipped kitchen including a stove, microwave oven and refrigerator, this suite is a perfect oceanfront retreat with all the comforts of home.
Oceanfront One Bedroom Queen Suite
This is the only suite that offers a private, double wide oceanfront balcony. Spacious and accommodating, this suite comfortably sleeps 4 people and has a separate bedroom with a queen bed and a spacious living room with a sleeper sofa. Offering all of the comforts of home, take advantage of the fully-equipped kitchen and enjoy a homemade meal on your oceanfront balcony.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Quarters Resort also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

36.8343 -75.9708
Area served
Virginia Beach Oceanfront.
Nearby airports
Virginia Beach served by Norfolk International Airport which is an easy 30 minute drive to the oceanfront, located only 25 miles away.
Area description
This beachfront condo property is located in Virginia Beach, close to Croatan Beach, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, and Ocean Breeze Waterpark. Area attractions also include Virginia Beach Convention Center and Neptune Statue.

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.7 mi
  • Motor World: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4.2 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.9 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 1.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 1.7 mi
  • Motor World: 1.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 4.2 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.9 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 9.1 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.2 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Beach Quarters Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Danita
South Carolina
Jan 6, 2014

Not A Pleasant Experience

Booked a 4 night stay at this location but left after first night due to bathtub was unclean (glad I had Clorox wipes with me), broken bathroom door, food particles on carpet and bugs in the cabinet. Staff was very friendly and agreed to refund the difference, which was a plus. Overall, would not book at this location again until MAJOR renovation done!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nowhere, nc
Jul 10, 2011

Upgrade Motel 6

Made a reservation on orbit to stay at the Beach Quarters Resort, in Virgina Beach, VA. It was totally different than the pictures that they show on the web. "resort" is not the word to describe this OUTDATED place to stay. FALSE ADVERTISEMENT! We found a bug in the bed that had just been made that morning and were disappointed with the "puke green" decor and circus clown carpets...an updated Motel 6 would be the better description of this "resort". in addition, no security, hot elevators/hallways, extremely tight parking, smoke detectors in our room went off twice when taking a shower and we heard detectors going off at 5:30 in the morning until around noon. personnel were somewhat rude and kept "pestering" us about going in on a time share. were they kidding?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Its not worth the price for real comfort

Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gaithersburg, MD
Dec 31, 2010

I was disappointed

I was ther in the off season and upgraded to a suite, but when I checked in with my adult daughter we were given a regular room. They allowed us to move, but the suited reeked of fried fish. Not wanting to move again they sent up housekeeping with an air purifier. It helped but we had to run it the whole two days we were there. Additionally they didnot warn us that the garage was an experience in itself. Maneuvering in it in our midsize SUV was ridiculous. I decided to park on the street the second night since I didn't want to deal with getting out of the garage again. The walls in the rooms were paper thin, but the location is good. The concierge said he had some coupons for us but he was never at his station when we went down to claim them. Overall I was disappointed with our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you can navigate your vehicle out of their garage

Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nowhere, nc
Jul 10, 2011

Upgrade Motel 6

Made a reservation on orbit to stay at the Beach Quarters Resort, in Virgina Beach, VA. It was totally different than the pictures that they show on the web. "resort" is not the word to describe this OUTDATED place to stay. FALSE ADVERTISEMENT! We found a bug in the bed that had just been made that morning and were disappointed with the "puke green" decor and circus clown carpets...an updated Motel 6 would be the better description of this "resort". in addition, no security, hot elevators/hallways, extremely tight parking, smoke detectors in our room went off twice when taking a shower and we heard detectors going off at 5:30 in the morning until around noon. personnel were somewhat rude and kept "pestering" us about going in on a time share. were they kidding?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Its not worth the price for real comfort

Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gaithersburg, MD
Dec 31, 2010

I was disappointed

I was ther in the off season and upgraded to a suite, but when I checked in with my adult daughter we were given a regular room. They allowed us to move, but the suited reeked of fried fish. Not wanting to move again they sent up housekeeping with an air purifier. It helped but we had to run it the whole two days we were there. Additionally they didnot warn us that the garage was an experience in itself. Maneuvering in it in our midsize SUV was ridiculous. I decided to park on the street the second night since I didn't want to deal with getting out of the garage again. The walls in the rooms were paper thin, but the location is good. The concierge said he had some coupons for us but he was never at his station when we went down to claim them. Overall I was disappointed with our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you can navigate your vehicle out of their garage

Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bostonC
Richmond
Jan 7, 2013

Winter Getaway

Not the best hotel for the money. Room so so.. small and not sure the cleanest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ShamrockGirl
Binghamton New York
Feb 28, 2012

Not as described!

Just recently stayed at Beach Quarters...was so disappointed in everything. Indoor pool was smaller than in the picture and dirty. Tanning bed listed in the description of the amenities..you have to pay for time if you are not a member of the hotel. Smoke detector kept beeping. Staff changed battery and didnt make a difference. Hotel is set up alot like a motel where you have to walk outside to get from room to room. There was alot of noise from the Naval Base being so close or kids screaming at 4am outside the doors. Offered WiFi in the description of the hotel....absolutely NOT free in the rooms. They charge $4.95 per device per day in the rooms or you can get it free in the lobby. Hotel itself is very chopped up...nothing like the pictures show. Parking garage is another story...thats a nightmare. Sooo small and tight. On every 90degree turn there are marks where cars have hit the posts or the walls. Theres only one way in or out of the garage so it becomes a cluster. Dorm size refrigerator got cold enough to hold food in it the last day we were there. Cleaning service never came to our room the whole time we were there. Doesnt offer continental breakfast which ends up gettting expensive. Beds are extremely hard ...feels like you are sleeping on boards. Location is the only thing that was worth while. Its right on the beach and theres a ton of stores around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bostonC
Virginia
Jan 6, 2013

Winter Beach Getaway

Location was great. No room service or restaurant or store in winter to even buy a diet coke or snacks (just vending machines). Staff was friendly. Room was so so - not sure the cleanest. For the price - we expected more. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster PA
Mar 8, 2010

Unexpected Experience

I should have known from the start when the concierge was ignoring me, a customer standing at the desk, when I arrived for check in. When he finally started to help me, he continued to converse with another associate pretending like I wasn't even there. The room was small, with a bathroom the size of a tiny coat closet. Each floor has a breezeway, which smelled like a combination of illegal substances and cigarette smoke even though the hotel is "smoke free". Each room has a balcony facing the beach where the smoky stench was even stronger. Each evening it seemed like parties were going on in every other room on the floor, until very late hours as well. We attempted to call the front desk, but no one was available, because we heard these party's continue until 3am. The furniture in the room was falling apart and just old, including a sagging bed. Although it is located right on the beach, it is not in the "prime" area of boardwalk, which is around 20-30th street. But it is located on the boardwalk which is a plus. Overall the lack of service and smells made this a unpleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jjohnny1
Charlottesville, VA
Jun 28, 2009

Beautiful beach

Decent hotel right on beach, but very expensive for the room size and quality. No food on premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top