$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
161 reviews
Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been... See full review

  • Pinky 39
  • Sep 29, 2014
We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was... See full review

  • BigBri0614
  • Jul 8, 2014
Family-friendly Virginia Beach resort with indoor pool and bike rentals
Guests at this affordable hotel enjoy ocean views from their balconies and boardwalk access. During the summer, guests can rent bikes right at the property to explore nearby attractions such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and the Virginia Beach Amusement Park. Hotel conveniences include free deluxe breakfast buffet and a heated indoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Seasonal enclosed heated pool
  • Free parking space per room
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Bike rentals and video arcade

Rooms
Rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort are decorated with patterned bedding and have private balconies, refrigerators and microwaves. Guests select from ocean front, ocean view and micro kitchenette rooms, which are larger than standard rooms and can accommodate up to six guests. High-speed Internet is free, as is lodging for kids under 12.

Recreation

An enclosed heated pool on the second floor is open during the season, when guests can also take advantage of bike rentals on site. There is a fitness center, video game room and access to a mall.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.9 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.3 mi/42.4 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.8  mi/81.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.7 mi/80 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46.8 mi/75.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.6 mi/86.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax, copier and printer at the front desk
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Event space for up to 300 guests

Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8428 -75.9731
Area served
Norfolk, Baltimore,, Richmond, Williamsburg, Washington,, Hampton
Nearby airports
(ORF), 19.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PARTIAL OCEAN VW,BALCON,MICRO,REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,MICRFG,SOFABED,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 161
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacy super star
Business
Pa
Sep 20, 2014

Best western stay

Bathroom was tiny, no outside pool, or bar as stated in website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenna Nicole 1993
Business
Gettysburg, PA
Aug 5, 2014

July 31-Aug 3

The hotel was wonderful! Even though we had bad weather almost our entire stay, the oceanfront rooms were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lynnwood Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BigBri0614
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 8, 2014

We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was still quiet. Easy access to restaurants and attractions. To top it off, the complimentary buffet was a full buffet breakfast and absolutely the best breakfast I have ever seen from a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you bring your own towels to the beach. The hotel does not provide them, although you can buy them from the shop inside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slawr
Business
New Windsor, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Management was on a power trip

My friends and I traveled down to Virginia Beach because we're originally from there but have all moved away. We came down to visit friends and invited them over to our hotel room to play Taboo. There was a wedding reception and fraternity in the hotel and we just so happened to be on the same floor as the wedding party so we didn't think our noise would be a problem since the whole floor was buzzing with noise. At around 11:30-12 midnight, we were told that our rooms were vacant and we needed to leave the premises by Elijah; we didn't receive a warning about our noise or anything just was rudely told that our rooms were vacant. He even so far as to deactivate my friends room key so that she couldn't get into her room to remove her things. The cops were called and all the unregistered guests left without an issue. My friend asked Elijah why we as paying guests have to leave but the people next door to us, who also had more than 6 people in the room didn't have to leave. He said he had the right to refuse service, pulled out a contract and read it out loud to her. Elijah was rude and disrespectful and had my friend arrested for disorderly conduct. As we were packing up the room to leave, my other friend attempted to retrieve my friend that had been arrested belongings, Elijah chased her out of the room and out of the hotel. Another friend of ours asked him why was he pursuing her, Elijah then got into his face and said "Hit me! I want you to hit me!" and then proceeded to flag down a cop in the middle of the street. We were charged for the room, although we did not stay the whole night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zay mom
Business
culpeper va
Aug 6, 2012

weekend getaway

very friendly, housekeeping were very nice, got to check in early so we could get our day started, clean, beautiful oceanfront loved the breakfast buffet would very much stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

amusment park for the kids was right beide the hotels very much a plus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Ellie
Business
Annapolis, MD
Jun 25, 2012

Great Oceanfront Hotel

Location is everything and the Sandcastle Resort, although undergoing renovation, was everything we expected and more. We were pleasantly surprised to see from our balcony quite a few dolphins frolicking in the ocean, near the pier. And, although the Atlantic Ocean is still rather cold in June, the pool and deck on the 2nd floor were well worth our quick, last-minute, beach getaway. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MColligan
Business
MD
May 31, 2012

Great stay

I had a lovely time at the sandcastle hotel. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and well kept. Even though the hotel was under construction, things were kept maintained and accomodating nontheless. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Calypso's was a hot spot to hang at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sumee
Business
Mt. Sidney, VA
Aug 12, 2011

WHat a Great Surprise!!!

This was the perfect selection for a ladies beach getaway!!! The parking garage was a great feature and the view great from our balcony. The staff was super helpful and friendly. This hotel will be on our short list for next year's trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cuyahoga Falls, ohio
Jun 21, 2011

"She's got a great personality..."

My friend and I took our sons down to VaBch for Monsters on the Beach in May. We picked this hotel mostly based on location, but my 9 yr old son based his decision on the Arcade and Ice Cream Shop located on the grounds. I've been to the beach numerous times, and have stayed in luxury resorts as well as antiquated mom & pop's. This place definitely fits nicely in the middle. The interior hallways are really the scariest I've ever seen... but after that, things get better. Great staff, incredibly friendly. The owners really appear to be taking a vested interest in upgrading the property. The rooms appeared to be in the midst of that right now. The bathroom we had had a stone shower and countertop (nice), the beds were really comfortable, the furnishings u date, but the carpet was a little "sticky". Fantastic view, convenient free parking, and a very central location. If you dont need to be with the "supermodel", and are happy with "inner beauty", then this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Pier and Amusement Park are located immediately beside and behind this hotel, great if you are traveling with children! Abbey Road is a few blocks up, and the have really good seafood also

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Lucky
Business
Columbus, OH
Feb 22, 2011

My weekend getaway...

Well a friend and I wanted to go to Virginia Beach, to actually find a job, and a place to live. Such a beautiful place I have to add. The hotel that I stayed in was the Sandcastle , which was wonderful place. We had a beachfront suite, and we left the curtains open just so we can see the sunrise, every morning. This place can be costly, we went during off season, which [...]gave us a great rate for it. I can't thank [...]enough for the time I spent in VA. Just a wonderful weekend, and plan on using Orbit again for all my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is food, attractions, and clubs all around the hotel, so ENJOY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top