$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
163 reviews
Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been... See full review

  • Pinky 39
  • Sep 29, 2014
We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was... See full review

  • BigBri0614
  • Jul 8, 2014
Family-friendly Virginia Beach resort with indoor pool and bike rentals
Guests at this affordable hotel enjoy ocean views from their balconies and boardwalk access. During the summer, guests can rent bikes right at the property to explore nearby attractions such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and the Virginia Beach Amusement Park. Hotel conveniences include free deluxe breakfast buffet and a heated indoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Seasonal enclosed heated pool
  • Free parking space per room
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Bike rentals and video arcade

Rooms
Rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort are decorated with patterned bedding and have private balconies, refrigerators and microwaves. Guests select from ocean front, ocean view and micro kitchenette rooms, which are larger than standard rooms and can accommodate up to six guests. High-speed Internet is free, as is lodging for kids under 12.

Recreation

An enclosed heated pool on the second floor is open during the season, when guests can also take advantage of bike rentals on site. There is a fitness center, video game room and access to a mall.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.9 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.3 mi/42.4 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.8  mi/81.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.7 mi/80 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46.8 mi/75.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.6 mi/86.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax, copier and printer at the front desk
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Event space for up to 300 guests

Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PARTIAL OCEAN VW,BALCON,MICRO,REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,MICRFG,SOFABED,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 163
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrp4352
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 28, 2014

Great trip!

We had a lovely stay. The staff was incredible - greeting us anytime we'd pass in the hallway and they were absolute lifesavers the evening we found out the restaurant in the hotel wasn't open on Sunday evenings during the off-season (the restaurant is not run by the hotel, it's contracted out). When our delivery dinner didn't bring any plastic ware, they came to the rescue again. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KennyPowers38
Business
Virginia
Oct 12, 2014

Great Hotel

Very nice hotel. Rooms are clean. The staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinky 39
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Sep 29, 2014

Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been no rooms available. But, this year I got extremely lucky and was able to book an oceanfront balcony room with two queen sized beds overlooking the 14th street pier and I couldn't been happier. My son and I enjoyed the staff, the room, the view, the restaurant, the décor, the gift shop, simply everything and Patrick at the front desk was amazing. Dave from maintenance was amazing. The water pressure in the shower was amazing. I have found my VA Beach hotel getaway for a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located in the middle of everything and its close to dairy queen on 16th street. The music and the 13th street stage. Pier 14 has an incredible breakfast buffet, which you get for free when you book this fantastic hotel. It is served from 7 - 10 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
everything taken
Business
Virginia
Sep 24, 2014

Nice weekend

Front desk staff were very friendly and cheerful. Hotel very convenient to Beachfront eateries and things to do.Entire weekend very pleasant experience - even with showers Sunday morning! Will certainly go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Went for Air Show Weekend at Oceana NAS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Capesurfer
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 21, 2014

Overnite for wedding

Front desk staff were very nice and efficient. Check-in was easy. Lobby was okay but elevators were slow and a bit bouncy. Hallways were not very nice and smelled musty. The actual rooms were clean and comfortable and the view was awesome. Overall, it was a bit expensive for a hotel of that quality but it was oceanfront!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio native
Business
Westerville, Ohio
Sep 15, 2014

Great beach front location

The staff was outstanding. The hotel was very clean. I would return anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJenkos
Business
Richmond, Va
Sep 13, 2014

Perfect location, view and moist carpet.

My wife and I just came out for a one night de-stress at the beach. With some shopping through prices and other reviews we found this Hotel. The room pictures looked promising. Arriving at the beach we went to the wrong Best Western. No big deal, it's just a few miles down Atlantic. At check in the person working the counter was professional and explained everything well. We drove up to the top of the tight parking deck (if you drive a big truck or SUV you could be out of luck). Going up to the room (8th floor), the hallways are nicely painted but the scheme on ours was dark. I was waiting for a action scene from a movie to come shooting down the hallway at any moment. Opening the door to a surprise. The room looks just like the pictures! We dropped our stuff and headed straight to the balcony. Oh yea, that's why we're here. The view is unobstructed from the Ocean side rooms. After kicking off my shoes and walking back in I stepped onto wet carpet. I couldn't decide if the carpets were cleaned or if there was some sort of leak. But it didn't bother us too much. The room was otherwise clean excepting a suspicious stain on one of the bed skirts. Noise was very quiet but I'm not sure we had neighbors. The outside walls are thin, but that's a very good thing. With the in room noises off you can hear the waves crashing outside. (There is NO better way to sleep at the beach). Very relaxing in itself. In the morning the thin outside walls proved problematic as the ambitious fellow diagonally under us started serenading us with his best guitar folk/ country songs. Hey babe. Let's go to breakfast early. I'm always suspicious of "free" hotel breakfast being served in the restaurant. The food was OK, better than a continental breakfast, but not as good as the places you see advertised on TV. We didn't incur any extra charges and they do expect you to tip. Overall I say good room and facilities even though it's still a bit pricey. You can easily leave your car in the parking the entire time and walk/ ride bikes wherever you want to go in Va beach. Bring with: Beach chairs Bikes for the boardwalk You can rent both but they aren't cheap. Not provided by the Hotel! Leave at home: Pillows Electronics Stress Worries

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check the reviews before you go out to eat. Not all boardwalk and Atlantic restaurants are created equally. We made that mistake and my guts hated me that evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachloverforever
Business
Pa
Aug 28, 2014

good for the price

The lobby is cool looking, and rooms were ok. Beds comfortable, but bathroom was a tight squeeze. Door kept knocking into us , alittle tight for a 2bed room. We were on side of hotel looking at a pkg. lot. Could barely see the beach. The bfast buffet was marginal. Fix ripped carpet and clean carpets more regularly in hallways. The fighter jets taking off gets annoying after awhile. They go right over the hotel! Its a good deal if you get a good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the zilpine adventure at the Virginia aquarium! Fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abingc
Business
clarksburg, md
Jul 5, 2014

Great Location

The best being the included hot breakfast in the comparable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MZAZAK
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2014

Great view

It had a great view. Bed was comfortable. Restroom was clean and shower was good. We had room 108 - king master. The AC was noisy. Also there was a hissing non-stop tone coming from the fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It gets very cold in April at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top