$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
166 reviews
Great Deal

We liked the hotel and the location to the beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly. See full review

  • Grams from Roanoke
  • Jan 19, 2015
Weekend get away

This was a wonderful experience! The hotel staff were very nice and when we walked in our room it... See full review

  • Casey O.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Family-friendly Virginia Beach resort with indoor pool and bike rentals
Guests at this affordable hotel enjoy ocean views from their balconies and boardwalk access. During the summer, guests can rent bikes right at the property to explore nearby attractions such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and the Virginia Beach Amusement Park. Hotel conveniences include free deluxe breakfast buffet and a heated indoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Seasonal enclosed heated pool
  • Free parking space per room
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Bike rentals and video arcade

Rooms
Rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort are decorated with patterned bedding and have private balconies, refrigerators and microwaves. Guests select from ocean front, ocean view and micro kitchenette rooms, which are larger than standard rooms and can accommodate up to six guests. High-speed Internet is free, as is lodging for kids under 12.

Recreation

An enclosed heated pool on the second floor is open during the season, when guests can also take advantage of bike rentals on site. There is a fitness center, video game room and access to a mall.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.9 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.3 mi/42.4 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.8  mi/81.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.7 mi/80 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46.8 mi/75.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.6 mi/86.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax, copier and printer at the front desk
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Event space for up to 300 guests

Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PARTIAL OCEAN VW,BALCON,MICRO,REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,MICRFG,SOFABED,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GinaBena
Business
Roanoke, Va
Apr 7, 2014

Too Many Issues

I love Va Beach, and I have had many great memories here! However, this hotel ruied for me this time. I take a 5 hour drive to get to VA beach so when I arrive, I am ready to relax! Well, as soon as I arrive to this Best Western Sandcastle I was disappointed. The man at the desk was talking to a friend so I had to wait approx 5 minutes to even be acknowledged. He was very rude. He pointed me to an ancient elevator in the corner that was super slow and way too small to fit a baby stroller, my fiance, and I. Finally I make it to my room. No complaints there only that it was a little small for what I hope a King size room to be. I set my bags down and try to relax, then the room phone rings and of course it is the front desk. They want to switch my room. I head back to the lobby and tell them that, no I don't want to be switched. Once again, they insist on being very rude. SO once I am done fighting with them, I get to keep the room I reserved and pre paid for. On another note, they do not have an actually continental breakfast as you would expect. Theyre morning breakfast is served at the next door "resturant". Let me just say, if you like oversalted bacon, dried up eggs, and grainiy dry pancakes then thats the breakfast for you! Oh, and also< the waitress actually served us someone elses unwanted waffle! That is so unsanitary. Seriously, it was pre cut with the butter scrapped off, and the syrupcup half empty with half already poured atop the waffle! I will not return to this hotel, and I would definetly never pay for anything out of that resturant! Pier 14 would be the name of that btw. So the room was good but the service was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

DO NOT go to Pier 14 (right next door). Oversalted bacon, dried up scrambled eggs, and dry grainy pancakes was my meal. Plus they brought me someone elses unwanted waffle. It was cut up with the better scrapped off and the syrup already half poured over it. Can you say...unsanitary!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Sep 29, 2009

booked in a overbooked hotel

I didn't get to experience this hotel cause I didn't get to say there, my reservation was cancelled because the hotel was over booked and they had to find me another hotel to say at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynchburg
Jan 3, 2009

very few and poor amenities!

The pool was freezing! Even the outside of the pool was NOT heated and tyhe water was dirty..they were doing construction next door and it was dusty..and all the places to shop or eat and even the game room is closed for the winter--BUT they did not tell us that when checking in! Also the toilet was very hard to flush and my daughter is 6 and could NOT do it at all! It was a very poor experience and I would NOT stay there ever again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

some nice restaurants were close by and the PIER is right outside BUT is also closed this time of year!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
May 10, 2010

not very happy

up all nite because of loud guest that were drinking the rooms were awful no contrl knobs on ac. booked two rooms was not happy will never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 27, 2010

not what you think

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradford, Pa
Jul 28, 2011

Overpriced, Dirty, False Breakfast

This was the worst for the price hotel we ever booked on [...]. The room was small, no closets, and dust was never cleaned off the tables, dressers and refrigerator. The dressers were chipped badly.They advertised a deluxe breakfast buffet included in the [...]price and it was Continental Style! We stayed from Sat to Wed in conditions like this. They only thing your paying for is the view and location to the boardwalk and pier. For the price I would not reccommend this hotel to anybody............

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to boardwalk and beach and pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Apr 7, 2010

The bad and the Ugly

I arrived at the hotel two hours later than check-in after having had a traffic incident on the way. The room wasn't ready. I asked for a room higher up. Nothing was ready. Then, the representative told me I had to have the assigned room, which I noticed was 210. I was given 109 and told I could "up grade to an Ocean front room for $40 additional and higher up for $70." This rrom was dirty, kids played in front of the door, often banging against it and the view was of the parking lot and look around the corner of the tiny balcony for the ocean. I was terribly disappointed and NEVER want to stay at that hotel again. The parking was a horror. Most remembered was how dirty it was and the unfriendly young woman at the check-in desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burtonsville, MD
Aug 16, 2010

Awful smell in the room

When we got to the room, it had a Nauseating smell. We requested a change in the room, but they stated that they were full. They didn't even send someone for hours to spray the room and the "spray" only lasted for 15 minutes. We had to sleep with the balcony door open and therefore no A/C. They stated that they could not offer us a discount because we had paid through [...] and that since it was already paid they could not do anything about it. They told me that the manager would be there on Sunday to talk to us, and sure enough - there was no manager on Sunday. I don't know how they can even rent a room in that condition, and have the guts to charge you $200 a night to stay there. The staff acted like it was "our problem" that the room was that way....Do not stay there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington,dc
Apr 6, 2010

sandcastle

The phone in the room did not work and was promised that someone would come look at it but noone ever came to fix it. The heat did not work and the room was freezing at night! The room was small and the beds were as well. I like the beach but I would not book this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of places to eat and bars to drink at with in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, Va
Jun 27, 2010

It's OK

This was our first trip to Virginia Beach. The hotel is clean, the beds are fine, the view is great; but the hotel is very old and worn and needs to be updated. The staff at the desk is very friendly and accomodating. I'm not sure if I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top