$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
163 reviews
Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been... See full review

  • Pinky 39
  • Sep 29, 2014
We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was... See full review

  • BigBri0614
  • Jul 8, 2014
Family-friendly Virginia Beach resort with indoor pool and bike rentals
Guests at this affordable hotel enjoy ocean views from their balconies and boardwalk access. During the summer, guests can rent bikes right at the property to explore nearby attractions such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and the Virginia Beach Amusement Park. Hotel conveniences include free deluxe breakfast buffet and a heated indoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Seasonal enclosed heated pool
  • Free parking space per room
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Bike rentals and video arcade

Rooms
Rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort are decorated with patterned bedding and have private balconies, refrigerators and microwaves. Guests select from ocean front, ocean view and micro kitchenette rooms, which are larger than standard rooms and can accommodate up to six guests. High-speed Internet is free, as is lodging for kids under 12.

Recreation

An enclosed heated pool on the second floor is open during the season, when guests can also take advantage of bike rentals on site. There is a fitness center, video game room and access to a mall.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.9 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.3 mi/42.4 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.8  mi/81.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.7 mi/80 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46.8 mi/75.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.6 mi/86.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax, copier and printer at the front desk
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Event space for up to 300 guests

Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PARTIAL OCEAN VW,BALCON,MICRO,REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,MICRFG,SOFABED,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristinaGohioMomOf3
Business
Wadsworth, OH
Apr 9, 2012

Great Hotel!

The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel was very nice with updated rooms. I stayed in the oceanfront room and loved having a balcony view of the beach! The hotel is under construction but it doesn't hinder anything about the quality of the hotel. The heated indoor pool was great since the weather wasn't exactly perfect when I stayed. Also, the hot waffle breakfast is fantastic! Location is perfect.. steps from the beach..in the center of all the shopping.. and the private guest parking was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The VA Aquarium and Marine Science Center is a must see. It is located right down the street from the Sandcastle hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy Navy Mom
Business
wheeling, wv
May 20, 2012

Best value

Ocean front room very nice, even though it was under renovation it was still comfortable . Breakfast was plentiful . Teenagers running rampant in the halls should have been better supervised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Watch out for parking Meters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MColligan
Business
MD
May 31, 2012

Great stay

I had a lovely time at the sandcastle hotel. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and well kept. Even though the hotel was under construction, things were kept maintained and accomodating nontheless. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Calypso's was a hot spot to hang at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Happy Happy
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 24, 2012

Wonderful relaxing getaway

We stayed at the Sand Castle Hotel and had a marvelous time. We were right on the beach and had a wonderful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pier 14 restaurant, attached to the hotel, had good food at reasonable prices. Sand Castle gives breakfast tickets for a free breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amyljhnsn
Business
Virginia
May 27, 2014

Great stay at the beach just before summer kicked off!

My husband and I had the pleasure of taking a mid-week vacation to VA Beach the week before the unofficial start of summer! This was our first time staying at the Best Western Sandcastle hotel and it will definitely NOT be our last! I booked an ocean front king room, and since it was mid week we were able to stay on the top floor, directly over looking the pier. The front desk agent was extremely efficient and went into detail explaining where everything was in the hotel, even though she was clearly busy dealing with guests on the phone. The only 'not perfect' thing I can think of regarding our stay was that our refrigerator was unplugged and then very sluggish to start up and cool down- this however was so trivial and unnecessary that neither myself nor my husband thought anything of it. There is breakfast served at the restauraunt within the hotel (as well as lunch and dinner and room service) but my husband and I opted for our usual favorite- Pochahontas Pancakes- instead. There is also an indoor pool, which overlooks atlantic avenue. Overall our stay was fantastic. This will definitely be our go-to hotel though-out the summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the restaurants that may seem 'hidden' within hotels along the beach. I've noticed that unless you frequent the area, or are a past native (like myself!) you may miss some of the gems. Mahi Mah's has an amazing happy hour deal and if you're starving, drive into the city to pembrooke mall for some Bahama Breeze!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annandale
Jan 3, 2009

Sandcasle

The room was good and had a nice view of the ocean. Would stay their again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The ocean is right in back of the hotel along with a pier to walk out on

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Lucky
Business
Columbus, OH
Feb 22, 2011

My weekend getaway...

Well a friend and I wanted to go to Virginia Beach, to actually find a job, and a place to live. Such a beautiful place I have to add. The hotel that I stayed in was the Sandcastle , which was wonderful place. We had a beachfront suite, and we left the curtains open just so we can see the sunrise, every morning. This place can be costly, we went during off season, which [...]gave us a great rate for it. I can't thank [...]enough for the time I spent in VA. Just a wonderful weekend, and plan on using Orbit again for all my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is food, attractions, and clubs all around the hotel, so ENJOY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wkirkpat
Business
morristown tn
Aug 1, 2011

great place will be back next year

been coming to Virginia beach now for 10 years and have stayed at a different hotel each time but that will change next year i will be staying again at sandcastle oceanfront resort hotel. it was : close to excellent restaurants , clean , friendly staffed great parking and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to check out the street performers they are very talented and it will be well worth your while to attend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pregnancy lady
Business
Southwest Virginia
Mar 20, 2011

Nice place

We stayed three nights in VA Beach. Two night in a different hotel and one night at this hotel. Right on the beach, which is just what we wanted. Nice staff, parking right on our floor, nice indoor pool inside the hotel. Breakfast was bagels, bread, cereal, coffee, pastries, etc. Our room was very clean, beds were made so pretty, and they gave us 6 pillows per bed which i love so I don't have call and ask for more. Our view was amazing. We woke up to the sunrise. Had a nice balcony with chairs for relaxing. We stayed in March so we got an excellent deal. 60 a night. We had our two kids with us who loved being about to just walk right out to the beach from our hotel. There is a little mall inside, and it's right on the strip where all shopping, entertainment and stuff is. We loved out experience at this hotel. I would recommend it and I would stay here again in a second if I had the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CP Shucker's. 15th & Atlantic or 3232 Shore Drive. 412-2929. Great cheap, fun meal. Pub atmosphere with TV all over and people playing games and laughing. Lot's of fun. Great services, EXCELLENT food. We got fish and chips, tuna steak, steamed shrimp, fish tacos. All delish. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katieh77
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 16, 2009

Perfect!!

We ended up staying in the room most of the stay because it was so relaxing! :) My daughter did get to go to the pool and enjoyed it very much. I would have loved to have more time in the room, like an earlier check-in time and a later check out time. This would have made it better because by the time we woke up on Sunday morning (8:am) it was pretty much time to pack and go. The room was perfect. I really loved our stay there. We are certainly going to go here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything we needed was right there at the hotel. I needed a razor and I bought it right downstairs in a store that was in the same lobby as two resturants, cart/bike rental shop, and a breezeway out to the beach. COOL!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top