$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradford, Pa
Jul 28, 2011

Overpriced, Dirty, False Breakfast

This was the worst for the price hotel we ever booked on [...]. The room was small, no closets, and dust was never cleaned off the tables, dressers and refrigerator. The dressers were chipped badly.They advertised a deluxe breakfast buffet included in the [...]price and it was Continental Style! We stayed from Sat to Wed in conditions like this. They only thing your paying for is the view and location to the boardwalk and pier. For the price I would not reccommend this hotel to anybody............

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to boardwalk and beach and pier

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jetpack
Business
Fayetteville, OH
Jul 26, 2011

Not Happy

I booked through [...]for a Ocean View room with extra bed. The room was very small for our family of four and there was no room to open the extra bed. You couldn't see the ocean unless you leaned over the rail of the balcony. The Hotel told me the rate for the room was $149.99 per night but [...]charged me $189.99 per night. The Hotel was booked up so no other rooms were available. They felt bad for us and made some calls and moved us to another Hotel right down the road called Surfside. It's owned by the same people. The room was much nicer and was ocean view. It should of cost $40 more but they didn't charge any more, they just transferred the reservation, so it ended up being a good stay. The staff was very helpful. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't book through [...], call the Hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
woodbridge va
Jul 23, 2011

great value

overall building needs updating , but room was updated and the breakfast was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marine City, MI.
Jul 18, 2011

Room was nice, desk staff sucked!!!!

Desk staff were rude and uncaring. Although, when we finally did get to our room it was clean and had an awesome view. would've rated higher if not for the people working the registration deck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 11, 2011

Virginia Beach getaway

Great location, right in the middle of all the action on the boardwalk. Hotel was average, very cramped bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cuyahoga Falls, ohio
Jun 21, 2011

"She's got a great personality..."

My friend and I took our sons down to VaBch for Monsters on the Beach in May. We picked this hotel mostly based on location, but my 9 yr old son based his decision on the Arcade and Ice Cream Shop located on the grounds. I've been to the beach numerous times, and have stayed in luxury resorts as well as antiquated mom & pop's. This place definitely fits nicely in the middle. The interior hallways are really the scariest I've ever seen... but after that, things get better. Great staff, incredibly friendly. The owners really appear to be taking a vested interest in upgrading the property. The rooms appeared to be in the midst of that right now. The bathroom we had had a stone shower and countertop (nice), the beds were really comfortable, the furnishings u date, but the carpet was a little "sticky". Fantastic view, convenient free parking, and a very central location. If you dont need to be with the "supermodel", and are happy with "inner beauty", then this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Pier and Amusement Park are located immediately beside and behind this hotel, great if you are traveling with children! Abbey Road is a few blocks up, and the have really good seafood also

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jun 3, 2011

nice hotel..

very nice and clean hotel. Room was very clean and nicely decorated. We had microwave, refrigerator and ac in our room with a perfect view of the ocean and the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Check-in and out took only a few minutes. Highly recommend..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

204 pizza on the 22nd street is a nice place to have delicious food for perfect prize. The seafood restaurant just under the hotel serves great seafood. You can eat as much as you want for $19.99. The food really worth it.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
May 7, 2011

Very good location for the price.

Enjoyed the beach and the beautiful weather. When the weather was a little chilly, we went shopping. And to a movie. All within easy access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sicklerville, NJ
Apr 13, 2011

great weekend

everything was great. people at the hotel were very accomadating. i would recomment staying at this hotel to a friend. thanks for the great weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great italian restaurant right down from hotel

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pregnancy lady
Business
Southwest Virginia
Mar 20, 2011

Nice place

We stayed three nights in VA Beach. Two night in a different hotel and one night at this hotel. Right on the beach, which is just what we wanted. Nice staff, parking right on our floor, nice indoor pool inside the hotel. Breakfast was bagels, bread, cereal, coffee, pastries, etc. Our room was very clean, beds were made so pretty, and they gave us 6 pillows per bed which i love so I don't have call and ask for more. Our view was amazing. We woke up to the sunrise. Had a nice balcony with chairs for relaxing. We stayed in March so we got an excellent deal. 60 a night. We had our two kids with us who loved being about to just walk right out to the beach from our hotel. There is a little mall inside, and it's right on the strip where all shopping, entertainment and stuff is. We loved out experience at this hotel. I would recommend it and I would stay here again in a second if I had the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CP Shucker's. 15th & Atlantic or 3232 Shore Drive. 412-2929. Great cheap, fun meal. Pub atmosphere with TV all over and people playing games and laughing. Lot's of fun. Great services, EXCELLENT food. We got fish and chips, tuna steak, steamed shrimp, fish tacos. All delish. Can't wait to go back.

Back to menu Return to top