$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
239 reviews
We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was... See full review

  • BigBri0614
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Location

The best being the included hot breakfast in the comparable price See full review

  • abingc
  • Jul 5, 2014
Family-friendly Virginia Beach resort with indoor pool and bike rentals
Guests at this affordable hotel enjoy ocean views from their balconies and boardwalk access. During the summer, guests can rent bikes right at the property to explore nearby attractions such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and the Virginia Beach Amusement Park. Hotel conveniences include free deluxe breakfast buffet and a heated indoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Seasonal enclosed heated pool
  • Free parking space per room
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Bike rentals and video arcade

Rooms
Rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort are decorated with patterned bedding and have private balconies, refrigerators and microwaves. Guests select from ocean front, ocean view and micro kitchenette rooms, which are larger than standard rooms and can accommodate up to six guests. High-speed Internet is free, as is lodging for kids under 12.

Recreation

An enclosed heated pool on the second floor is open during the season, when guests can also take advantage of bike rentals on site. There is a fitness center, video game room and access to a mall.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.9 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.3 mi/42.4 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.8  mi/81.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.7 mi/80 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46.8 mi/75.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.6 mi/86.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax, copier and printer at the front desk
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Event space for up to 300 guests

Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8428 -75.9731
Area served
Baltimore,, Norfolk, Richmond, Williamsburg, Washington,, Hampton
Nearby airports
(ORF), 19.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANVIEW,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,LRGRM,BALCON,JETTUB,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Jun 3, 2011

nice hotel..

very nice and clean hotel. Room was very clean and nicely decorated. We had microwave, refrigerator and ac in our room with a perfect view of the ocean and the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Check-in and out took only a few minutes. Highly recommend..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

204 pizza on the 22nd street is a nice place to have delicious food for perfect prize. The seafood restaurant just under the hotel serves great seafood. You can eat as much as you want for $19.99. The food really worth it.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
May 7, 2011

Very good location for the price.

Enjoyed the beach and the beautiful weather. When the weather was a little chilly, we went shopping. And to a movie. All within easy access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
May 7, 2011

Very good location for the price.

Enjoyed the beach and the beautiful weather. When the weather was a little chilly, we went shopping. And to a movie. All within easy access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sicklerville, NJ
Apr 13, 2011

great weekend

everything was great. people at the hotel were very accomadating. i would recomment staying at this hotel to a friend. thanks for the great weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great italian restaurant right down from hotel

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sicklerville, NJ
Apr 13, 2011

great weekend

everything was great. people at the hotel were very accomadating. i would recomment staying at this hotel to a friend. thanks for the great weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great italian restaurant right down from hotel

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pregnancy lady
Southwest Virginia
Mar 20, 2011

Nice place

We stayed three nights in VA Beach. Two night in a different hotel and one night at this hotel. Right on the beach, which is just what we wanted. Nice staff, parking right on our floor, nice indoor pool inside the hotel. Breakfast was bagels, bread, cereal, coffee, pastries, etc. Our room was very clean, beds were made so pretty, and they gave us 6 pillows per bed which i love so I don't have call and ask for more. Our view was amazing. We woke up to the sunrise. Had a nice balcony with chairs for relaxing. We stayed in March so we got an excellent deal. 60 a night. We had our two kids with us who loved being about to just walk right out to the beach from our hotel. There is a little mall inside, and it's right on the strip where all shopping, entertainment and stuff is. We loved out experience at this hotel. I would recommend it and I would stay here again in a second if I had the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CP Shucker's. 15th & Atlantic or 3232 Shore Drive. 412-2929. Great cheap, fun meal. Pub atmosphere with TV all over and people playing games and laughing. Lot's of fun. Great services, EXCELLENT food. We got fish and chips, tuna steak, steamed shrimp, fish tacos. All delish. Can't wait to go back.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pregnancy lady
Southwest Virginia
Mar 20, 2011

Nice place

We stayed three nights in VA Beach. Two night in a different hotel and one night at this hotel. Right on the beach, which is just what we wanted. Nice staff, parking right on our floor, nice indoor pool inside the hotel. Breakfast was bagels, bread, cereal, coffee, pastries, etc. Our room was very clean, beds were made so pretty, and they gave us 6 pillows per bed which i love so I don't have call and ask for more. Our view was amazing. We woke up to the sunrise. Had a nice balcony with chairs for relaxing. We stayed in March so we got an excellent deal. 60 a night. We had our two kids with us who loved being about to just walk right out to the beach from our hotel. There is a little mall inside, and it's right on the strip where all shopping, entertainment and stuff is. We loved out experience at this hotel. I would recommend it and I would stay here again in a second if I had the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CP Shucker's. 15th & Atlantic or 3232 Shore Drive. 412-2929. Great cheap, fun meal. Pub atmosphere with TV all over and people playing games and laughing. Lot's of fun. Great services, EXCELLENT food. We got fish and chips, tuna steak, steamed shrimp, fish tacos. All delish. Can't wait to go back.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Lucky
Columbus, OH
Feb 22, 2011

My weekend getaway...

Well a friend and I wanted to go to Virginia Beach, to actually find a job, and a place to live. Such a beautiful place I have to add. The hotel that I stayed in was the Sandcastle , which was wonderful place. We had a beachfront suite, and we left the curtains open just so we can see the sunrise, every morning. This place can be costly, we went during off season, which [...]gave us a great rate for it. I can't thank [...]enough for the time I spent in VA. Just a wonderful weekend, and plan on using Orbit again for all my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is food, attractions, and clubs all around the hotel, so ENJOY!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Lucky
Columbus, OH
Feb 22, 2011

My weekend getaway...

Well a friend and I wanted to go to Virginia Beach, to actually find a job, and a place to live. Such a beautiful place I have to add. The hotel that I stayed in was the Sandcastle , which was wonderful place. We had a beachfront suite, and we left the curtains open just so we can see the sunrise, every morning. This place can be costly, we went during off season, which [...]gave us a great rate for it. I can't thank [...]enough for the time I spent in VA. Just a wonderful weekend, and plan on using Orbit again for all my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is food, attractions, and clubs all around the hotel, so ENJOY!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
cville, va
Dec 7, 2010

dec 4th weekend stay

We were fine with everything. Breakfast was good. Kids enjoyed making waffles. Rooms do not have much space to walk around. It is fine if you are not planning to stay in the hotel for a long time. Parking is very tight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

McDonald's Christmas lights on boardwalk was great.

Back to menu Return to top