$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nanool
Business
nc
Sep 9, 2013

not bad

excellent staff, super soft mattress, good location, freeparking and breakfast.... not disappointed with our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

boardwalk is pretty huge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denise Workaholic
Business
Chesterfield, VA
Jul 22, 2013

Great family vacation

First, we were allowed to check-in one hour early. The room was very clean and organized. It was oceanfront so the view was spectacular. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Our fee included a hot breakfast bar; that was delicious. Our location was perfect. I parked the car when we got there and it did not move until we were packing up to leave. This was an excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the crabcakes at "The Raven" down the street. Fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QC mom
Business
Virginia Beach
Jun 29, 2013

Average family getaway

Upside: Our hotel room experience was good. Clean, well supplied room, right on oceanfront and boardwalk. Hotel staff very helpful, the shop very conveniently located in hotel and offers affordable surrey riding. My adult daughters enjoyed riding the surrey, as well as the street performers in VA beach. WIFI available. Downside: Lousy breakfast. I would have liked continental breakfast. The quality of food was very low. Canned fruit. Fried foods e.g. bacon, sausage, fried potatoes. Mini bagels tasted hard and chewy all mornings we were there. Too much variety with low quality of food choices. One main reason we chose to stay at the hotel was breakfast offered by hotel so each family member can get up on their own time but my daughters did not want to eat here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get recommendations from other travelers or look online for dining choices. We enjoyed Captain Georges all you can eat seafood for $32 per person

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucker Buckeye
Business
Flint Hill, VA
Jun 17, 2013

Great extended weekend

The hotel was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Eddie's seafood. You can see it from your room out on the boardwalk. Very pricey and the food was okay. Staff was very nice though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb TayT
Business
Danville, VA
Apr 29, 2013

Great

Staff very friendly. Got a little noisy Friday night but staff made people leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don;t eat free breakfast, not very good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim13
Business
Stuart VA
Sep 26, 2012

VERY NICE HOTEL!!

This was my 1st time to Va Beach and I didn't know what to expect. The hotel was very clean with modern styling. The renovations are almost complete and not of any bother anymore as some had commented. The parking garage is a little tight to fit into. The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was great as well. I think if I visit again this will be where I stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Happy Happy
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 24, 2012

Wonderful relaxing getaway

We stayed at the Sand Castle Hotel and had a marvelous time. We were right on the beach and had a wonderful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pier 14 restaurant, attached to the hotel, had good food at reasonable prices. Sand Castle gives breakfast tickets for a free breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emt103c
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 24, 2012

Beautiful beachfront, good breakfast included

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The lobby was bright and beautiful, but the stairwells, parking and rooms were a bit dark. The balcony oceanfront view was nice and there was a refrigerator in the room, which was nice. The front desk employees were friendly and nice as were all of the support staff on the floors. All in all a nice stay. The breakfast was an actual buffet included in the price of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

An extra car can be parked for $5 a day and extra buffets (above those staying in your room) for only $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strategy Professor
Business
Midlothian, VA
Aug 20, 2012

Really fun getaway

From checking to departure, our stay was wonderful. The location is the best on the beach, near the pier and all the cool stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The gift shop on the pier has the best homemade fudge we have ever tasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zay mom
Business
culpeper va
Aug 6, 2012

weekend getaway

very friendly, housekeeping were very nice, got to check in early so we could get our day started, clean, beautiful oceanfront loved the breakfast buffet would very much stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

amusment park for the kids was right beide the hotels very much a plus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top