$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
163 reviews
Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been... See full review

  • Pinky 39
  • Sep 29, 2014
We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was... See full review

  • BigBri0614
  • Jul 8, 2014
Family-friendly Virginia Beach resort with indoor pool and bike rentals
Guests at this affordable hotel enjoy ocean views from their balconies and boardwalk access. During the summer, guests can rent bikes right at the property to explore nearby attractions such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and the Virginia Beach Amusement Park. Hotel conveniences include free deluxe breakfast buffet and a heated indoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Seasonal enclosed heated pool
  • Free parking space per room
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Bike rentals and video arcade

Rooms
Rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort are decorated with patterned bedding and have private balconies, refrigerators and microwaves. Guests select from ocean front, ocean view and micro kitchenette rooms, which are larger than standard rooms and can accommodate up to six guests. High-speed Internet is free, as is lodging for kids under 12.

Recreation

An enclosed heated pool on the second floor is open during the season, when guests can also take advantage of bike rentals on site. There is a fitness center, video game room and access to a mall.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.9 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.3 mi/42.4 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.8  mi/81.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.7 mi/80 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46.8 mi/75.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.6 mi/86.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax, copier and printer at the front desk
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Event space for up to 300 guests

Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PARTIAL OCEAN VW,BALCON,MICRO,REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,MICRFG,SOFABED,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abingc
Business
clarksburg, md
Jul 5, 2014

Great Location

The best being the included hot breakfast in the comparable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kadybugz
Business
Harrisonburg, va
Jun 11, 2014

Great location

This hotel is in a great location right next to the pier. The prices for a night are a bit high considering the hotel is very ordinary. The free breakfast was a nice touch to our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim B 59
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 9, 2014

Great place for a getaway!

Clean rooms, friendly staff, perfect location and on-site parking - would recommend this hotel. The only nitpick I have is the quality of the breakfast - it was mediocre, with not much variety. The coffee (both in the lobby and in the restaurant) is weak and watery as well. Other than those comments, though, this is a well-run and maintained hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amyljhnsn
Business
Virginia
May 27, 2014

Great stay at the beach just before summer kicked off!

My husband and I had the pleasure of taking a mid-week vacation to VA Beach the week before the unofficial start of summer! This was our first time staying at the Best Western Sandcastle hotel and it will definitely NOT be our last! I booked an ocean front king room, and since it was mid week we were able to stay on the top floor, directly over looking the pier. The front desk agent was extremely efficient and went into detail explaining where everything was in the hotel, even though she was clearly busy dealing with guests on the phone. The only 'not perfect' thing I can think of regarding our stay was that our refrigerator was unplugged and then very sluggish to start up and cool down- this however was so trivial and unnecessary that neither myself nor my husband thought anything of it. There is breakfast served at the restauraunt within the hotel (as well as lunch and dinner and room service) but my husband and I opted for our usual favorite- Pochahontas Pancakes- instead. There is also an indoor pool, which overlooks atlantic avenue. Overall our stay was fantastic. This will definitely be our go-to hotel though-out the summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the restaurants that may seem 'hidden' within hotels along the beach. I've noticed that unless you frequent the area, or are a past native (like myself!) you may miss some of the gems. Mahi Mah's has an amazing happy hour deal and if you're starving, drive into the city to pembrooke mall for some Bahama Breeze!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MZAZAK
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2014

Great view

It had a great view. Bed was comfortable. Restroom was clean and shower was good. We had room 108 - king master. The AC was noisy. Also there was a hissing non-stop tone coming from the fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It gets very cold in April at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slawr
Business
New Windsor, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Management was on a power trip

My friends and I traveled down to Virginia Beach because we're originally from there but have all moved away. We came down to visit friends and invited them over to our hotel room to play Taboo. There was a wedding reception and fraternity in the hotel and we just so happened to be on the same floor as the wedding party so we didn't think our noise would be a problem since the whole floor was buzzing with noise. At around 11:30-12 midnight, we were told that our rooms were vacant and we needed to leave the premises by Elijah; we didn't receive a warning about our noise or anything just was rudely told that our rooms were vacant. He even so far as to deactivate my friends room key so that she couldn't get into her room to remove her things. The cops were called and all the unregistered guests left without an issue. My friend asked Elijah why we as paying guests have to leave but the people next door to us, who also had more than 6 people in the room didn't have to leave. He said he had the right to refuse service, pulled out a contract and read it out loud to her. Elijah was rude and disrespectful and had my friend arrested for disorderly conduct. As we were packing up the room to leave, my other friend attempted to retrieve my friend that had been arrested belongings, Elijah chased her out of the room and out of the hotel. Another friend of ours asked him why was he pursuing her, Elijah then got into his face and said "Hit me! I want you to hit me!" and then proceeded to flag down a cop in the middle of the street. We were charged for the room, although we did not stay the whole night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gram r
Business
pennsylvania
Apr 21, 2014

great getaway

our trip was great. our room had a great view of the ocean. the breakfast package was great. the staff at both the hotel and the restaurant were great. The only thing we did not like was the hotel hallways they were very dark. we would make reservations again to stay at the bestwestern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the aquarium is nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CricketandAlice
Business
Concord, VA
Apr 7, 2014

Excellent stay!

Top notch hotel with wonderful views of the ocean! Breakfast was great. Looking forward to going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GinaBena
Business
Roanoke, Va
Apr 7, 2014

Too Many Issues

I love Va Beach, and I have had many great memories here! However, this hotel ruied for me this time. I take a 5 hour drive to get to VA beach so when I arrive, I am ready to relax! Well, as soon as I arrive to this Best Western Sandcastle I was disappointed. The man at the desk was talking to a friend so I had to wait approx 5 minutes to even be acknowledged. He was very rude. He pointed me to an ancient elevator in the corner that was super slow and way too small to fit a baby stroller, my fiance, and I. Finally I make it to my room. No complaints there only that it was a little small for what I hope a King size room to be. I set my bags down and try to relax, then the room phone rings and of course it is the front desk. They want to switch my room. I head back to the lobby and tell them that, no I don't want to be switched. Once again, they insist on being very rude. SO once I am done fighting with them, I get to keep the room I reserved and pre paid for. On another note, they do not have an actually continental breakfast as you would expect. Theyre morning breakfast is served at the next door "resturant". Let me just say, if you like oversalted bacon, dried up eggs, and grainiy dry pancakes then thats the breakfast for you! Oh, and also< the waitress actually served us someone elses unwanted waffle! That is so unsanitary. Seriously, it was pre cut with the butter scrapped off, and the syrupcup half empty with half already poured atop the waffle! I will not return to this hotel, and I would definetly never pay for anything out of that resturant! Pier 14 would be the name of that btw. So the room was good but the service was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

DO NOT go to Pier 14 (right next door). Oversalted bacon, dried up scrambled eggs, and dry grainy pancakes was my meal. Plus they brought me someone elses unwanted waffle. It was cut up with the better scrapped off and the syrup already half poured over it. Can you say...unsanitary!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Best Western Man
Business
Virginia
Feb 24, 2014

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was very nice. However, the indoor pool was rather small. The rooms were very nice with spectacular views and it was modern. The only issue we had with the room was lack of sound proofing. The complimentary breakfast was interesting. They gave us a restaurant voucher for breakfast and while it was good, the restaurant was under construction and noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top