$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinky 39
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Sep 29, 2014

Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been no rooms available. But, this year I got extremely lucky and was able to book an oceanfront balcony room with two queen sized beds overlooking the 14th street pier and I couldn't been happier. My son and I enjoyed the staff, the room, the view, the restaurant, the décor, the gift shop, simply everything and Patrick at the front desk was amazing. Dave from maintenance was amazing. The water pressure in the shower was amazing. I have found my VA Beach hotel getaway for a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located in the middle of everything and its close to dairy queen on 16th street. The music and the 13th street stage. Pier 14 has an incredible breakfast buffet, which you get for free when you book this fantastic hotel. It is served from 7 - 10 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faye Babes
Business
Beverly Wv
Sep 28, 2014

Last minute Anniversary trip.

I was a little worried because of booking so late but we were really pleased with our ocean balcony right by the fishing pier. the girls and guys at the front desk were exceptionally Kind :) the food at Pier 14 was very good, especially off of the menu ! and the waitresses and waiters and maître d' were incredibly sweet! The only complaint might be that the bathroom was incredibly small!! but other than that, everything was great. We will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

So wonderful to just run down to the gift shop and pick up a few gifts for my grandchildren before leaving :) very convenient That we didn't have to run around all over town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashraf A
Business
Johnson city
Sep 25, 2014

Good place

Great location, rooms clean. Staff ok, but not very helpful. Elevators were broken most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
everything taken
Business
Virginia
Sep 24, 2014

Nice weekend

Front desk staff were very friendly and cheerful. Hotel very convenient to Beachfront eateries and things to do.Entire weekend very pleasant experience - even with showers Sunday morning! Will certainly go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Went for Air Show Weekend at Oceana NAS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Capesurfer
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 21, 2014

Overnite for wedding

Front desk staff were very nice and efficient. Check-in was easy. Lobby was okay but elevators were slow and a bit bouncy. Hallways were not very nice and smelled musty. The actual rooms were clean and comfortable and the view was awesome. Overall, it was a bit expensive for a hotel of that quality but it was oceanfront!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacy super star
Business
Pa
Sep 20, 2014

Best western stay

Bathroom was tiny, no outside pool, or bar as stated in website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio native
Business
Westerville, Ohio
Sep 15, 2014

Great beach front location

The staff was outstanding. The hotel was very clean. I would return anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJenkos
Business
Richmond, Va
Sep 13, 2014

Perfect location, view and moist carpet.

My wife and I just came out for a one night de-stress at the beach. With some shopping through prices and other reviews we found this Hotel. The room pictures looked promising. Arriving at the beach we went to the wrong Best Western. No big deal, it's just a few miles down Atlantic. At check in the person working the counter was professional and explained everything well. We drove up to the top of the tight parking deck (if you drive a big truck or SUV you could be out of luck). Going up to the room (8th floor), the hallways are nicely painted but the scheme on ours was dark. I was waiting for a action scene from a movie to come shooting down the hallway at any moment. Opening the door to a surprise. The room looks just like the pictures! We dropped our stuff and headed straight to the balcony. Oh yea, that's why we're here. The view is unobstructed from the Ocean side rooms. After kicking off my shoes and walking back in I stepped onto wet carpet. I couldn't decide if the carpets were cleaned or if there was some sort of leak. But it didn't bother us too much. The room was otherwise clean excepting a suspicious stain on one of the bed skirts. Noise was very quiet but I'm not sure we had neighbors. The outside walls are thin, but that's a very good thing. With the in room noises off you can hear the waves crashing outside. (There is NO better way to sleep at the beach). Very relaxing in itself. In the morning the thin outside walls proved problematic as the ambitious fellow diagonally under us started serenading us with his best guitar folk/ country songs. Hey babe. Let's go to breakfast early. I'm always suspicious of "free" hotel breakfast being served in the restaurant. The food was OK, better than a continental breakfast, but not as good as the places you see advertised on TV. We didn't incur any extra charges and they do expect you to tip. Overall I say good room and facilities even though it's still a bit pricey. You can easily leave your car in the parking the entire time and walk/ ride bikes wherever you want to go in Va beach. Bring with: Beach chairs Bikes for the boardwalk You can rent both but they aren't cheap. Not provided by the Hotel! Leave at home: Pillows Electronics Stress Worries

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check the reviews before you go out to eat. Not all boardwalk and Atlantic restaurants are created equally. We made that mistake and my guts hated me that evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachloverforever
Business
Pa
Aug 28, 2014

good for the price

The lobby is cool looking, and rooms were ok. Beds comfortable, but bathroom was a tight squeeze. Door kept knocking into us , alittle tight for a 2bed room. We were on side of hotel looking at a pkg. lot. Could barely see the beach. The bfast buffet was marginal. Fix ripped carpet and clean carpets more regularly in hallways. The fighter jets taking off gets annoying after awhile. They go right over the hotel! Its a good deal if you get a good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the zilpine adventure at the Virginia aquarium! Fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJLx
Business
Virginia
Aug 25, 2014

Great couple getaway

Stayed with my boyfriend for a short beach getaway and had a great time. There was a lightbulb out in the bathroom but besides that the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet at Pier14 was great. Definitely would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top