$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
239 reviews
We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was... See full review

  • BigBri0614
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Location

The best being the included hot breakfast in the comparable price See full review

  • abingc
  • Jul 5, 2014
Family-friendly Virginia Beach resort with indoor pool and bike rentals
Guests at this affordable hotel enjoy ocean views from their balconies and boardwalk access. During the summer, guests can rent bikes right at the property to explore nearby attractions such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and the Virginia Beach Amusement Park. Hotel conveniences include free deluxe breakfast buffet and a heated indoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Seasonal enclosed heated pool
  • Free parking space per room
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Bike rentals and video arcade

Rooms
Rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort are decorated with patterned bedding and have private balconies, refrigerators and microwaves. Guests select from ocean front, ocean view and micro kitchenette rooms, which are larger than standard rooms and can accommodate up to six guests. High-speed Internet is free, as is lodging for kids under 12.

Recreation

An enclosed heated pool on the second floor is open during the season, when guests can also take advantage of bike rentals on site. There is a fitness center, video game room and access to a mall.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.9 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (26.3 mi/42.4 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.8  mi/81.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (49.7 mi/80 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46.8 mi/75.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.8 mi/28.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (53.6 mi/86.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax, copier and printer at the front desk
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Event space for up to 300 guests

Policies and fees
The hotel is nonsmoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8428 -75.9731
Area served
Baltimore,, Norfolk, Washington,, Hampton, Williamsburg, Richmond
Nearby airports
(ORF), 19.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANVIEW,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,LRGRM,BALCON,JETTUB,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot Momma!
Buckhannon, WV
Jun 12, 2010

Terrific Family Stay

Location of the hotel was perfect. We were able to park in the parking garage on the same level as our hotel room. The checking in and out process was smooth. There was plenty to do while we were there within walking distance. The mall located below was nice. Continental breakfast was great. The rooms were nice. Housekeeping kept us supplied with towels, which is not like everywhere else. The only complaint that I had about the hotel room was that the floor by the air conditioner stayed wet. It was located close to one of the double beds, everytime I would walk to my side of the bed I would forget and step right onto the wet floor. I would stay there again. Price was affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky
Jun 12, 2010

comfortable, and very nice staff

We loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mechanicsburg, PA
Jun 12, 2010

basic room, great price for oceanfront

Although the Sandcastle doesn't look all that great on the outside, our room was very nice and updated. For an oceanfront room the price couldn't be beat. My only complaint was that the A/C could only be turned on or off... no temp control. However, they are in the midst of replacing the A/C units in all the rooms. It was also nice to have a DVD player in the room. They also provide a nice free continental breakfast. It includes make your own waffles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot Momma!
Buckhannon, WV
Jun 12, 2010

Terrific Family Stay

Location of the hotel was perfect. We were able to park in the parking garage on the same level as our hotel room. The checking in and out process was smooth. There was plenty to do while we were there within walking distance. The mall located below was nice. Continental breakfast was great. The rooms were nice. Housekeeping kept us supplied with towels, which is not like everywhere else. The only complaint that I had about the hotel room was that the floor by the air conditioner stayed wet. It was located close to one of the double beds, everytime I would walk to my side of the bed I would forget and step right onto the wet floor. I would stay there again. Price was affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lou's unhappy daddy
Troy, VA
Jun 10, 2010

Bad start to a good time

I had arranged this stay for my son after high school graduation. He and his 3 friends are all age 18 and up. Unfortunately the hotel would not let them check in, stating that they would have to be 21 or older. It would have been nice for your service to flag the hotel policy. The hotel was kind enough to help them find another hotel. It did not start the trip off well for them. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lou's unhappy daddy
Troy, VA
Jun 10, 2010

Bad start to a good time

I had arranged this stay for my son after high school graduation. He and his 3 friends are all age 18 and up. Unfortunately the hotel would not let them check in, stating that they would have to be 21 or older. It would have been nice for your service to flag the hotel policy. The hotel was kind enough to help them find another hotel. It did not start the trip off well for them. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FmrNYr
Winston-Salem, NC
Jun 5, 2010

Good location at a fair price

This was a weekday get away for Me and my Wife. Hotel was in a good location right in the middle of the boardwalk. Rooms where very clean and the staff there were great. Hotel is showing it's age a little. But I wouldn't let that discourage you. Most of the hotels at that end of the strip are showing there age. If you want new, look to the north side of the strip. But be prepared to pay the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Rent a bike from the store located ground level in the hotel and go for a bike ride along the boardwalk.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ocean dreamer
toledo, ohio
Jun 5, 2010

nice location

good location had a nice time, parking is a pain,pool was nice good for kids over all would go back again. Do nor rent peddle carrage they do not prddle well it take a lot of energy and tires you out a waste of $$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at rockafellers the food is the best and the earlybird specials are a great deal

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ocean dreamer
toledo, ohio
Jun 5, 2010

nice location

good location had a nice time, parking is a pain,pool was nice good for kids over all would go back again. Do nor rent peddle carrage they do not prddle well it take a lot of energy and tires you out a waste of $$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at rockafellers the food is the best and the earlybird specials are a great deal

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FmrNYr
Winston-Salem, NC
Jun 5, 2010

Good location at a fair price

This was a weekday get away for Me and my Wife. Hotel was in a good location right in the middle of the boardwalk. Rooms where very clean and the staff there were great. Hotel is showing it's age a little. But I wouldn't let that discourage you. Most of the hotels at that end of the strip are showing there age. If you want new, look to the north side of the strip. But be prepared to pay the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Rent a bike from the store located ground level in the hotel and go for a bike ride along the boardwalk.

Back to menu Return to top