$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gennasis
Business
Hanover, PA
Aug 23, 2010

Wonderful

This was a convienent location for us. We loved being right on the beach and within walking distance of everything. I never had to drive anywhere. This was our first time at VA beach and we would definately go back and stay at the Sandcastle again. There's only 2 complaints I have. The first being our room was pretty small. It would have been better if only 1 bed was in there and not 2, since it made it difficult to go out on the balcony. The second is the pool. It was hot since it was indoors and a little small. Otherwise, great hotel, especially for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were different acts all along the street at night which were free and paid for by the city. Acts included magic shows, juggling acts, singing, etc. Lots to do at night and family friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burtonsville, MD
Aug 16, 2010

Awful smell in the room

When we got to the room, it had a Nauseating smell. We requested a change in the room, but they stated that they were full. They didn't even send someone for hours to spray the room and the "spray" only lasted for 15 minutes. We had to sleep with the balcony door open and therefore no A/C. They stated that they could not offer us a discount because we had paid through [...] and that since it was already paid they could not do anything about it. They told me that the manager would be there on Sunday to talk to us, and sure enough - there was no manager on Sunday. I don't know how they can even rent a room in that condition, and have the guts to charge you $200 a night to stay there. The staff acted like it was "our problem" that the room was that way....Do not stay there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 11, 2010

Family vacation

The location was better compare to the last year hotel trip and it had a good continental breakfast, but it was not very clean, smaller room and smaller pool without SPA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Aug 9, 2010

All in one!!!

Hotel is in a great location, easily accessable to the beach, resturant, convieninent store and entertainment. All kinda of amenities in the room. Great continental breakfast - so no need to drive around. Covered parking on every level. Pool is little small, but ok for relaxing. Need to change the pool timings and also no restroom near the pool or the lobby. This is the only one bad review I can give.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellaire Ohio
Jul 31, 2010

Virginia Beach 2010

The Hotel was great the Breakfast was good only Issue with that is they only have one highchair so that sucked. our housekeeper on the 5th floor was AWESOME!! she was so friendly and helpful! The hotel was right in the middle of everything great location!! Pool small and very Green not algee green just green lol. The room we was in was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 27, 2010

Nice Hotel

Excellent location, not fancy but clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 27, 2010

not what you think

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dumfries, VA
Jul 21, 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL

We loved this hotel. The continental breakfast is great. The have cereal, oatmeal, bagels, toast, danishes, donuts and two waffle stations for fresh hot waffles, along with juices, milk and coffee & tea. It's located about half way up the resort strip and is right on the boardwalk. Kids loved being able to step out of the hotel and be in the sand in a matter of seconds. Only two blocks from a live music stage that has free concerts (to my knowledge) every night during the summer. And one block from both of the small "amusement" parks that are year round. We booked a "partial ocean view" rooms available however when we checked in we ended up in a full view room (even the partial views from what we could see had a decent view of the beach since they are located on the side of the OCEAN FRONT hotel). There is nothing blocking the view at all. Very convenient to our favorite resturants also. Our one and ONLY complaint is that the pool goes from 4 feet to 6 feet instead of a normal public pool size of 3 1/2 feet to 6 feet. With the deeper "shallow" end our son, who is just learning to swim, took quiet a long time to get comfortable in the pool (which was the point of doing the pool instead of the beach that afternoon). And we couldn't let our toddler play in the 'big" pool very long since it scared her as well. However the pool room also has a wadding pool that she had a blast in, so that was a plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We also received a coupon for a discount on our next visit when we checked out if we book with them directly. The beds were a nice medium softness/stiffness instead of rock hard like most hotels. The pillows were also pretty fluffy instead of very thin and uncomfortable. We will definetly be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Only blocks away from two "amusement parks", one geared for smaller kids (toddler through elementary) and one geared toward older kids to adults. Free concert stand is three blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse W
Business
New York
Jul 18, 2010

Right on the beach!

We had a very good time on VA Beach for the two nights we stayed before traveling to South Carolina. The children loved the fact that the hotel was right on the beach. The "waffle lady" was alittle abrupt with the kids during the breakfast, but overall it was a good experience and we plan on returning again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terrilyn beach broad
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Jul 4, 2010

fun, fun, fun, in the sun

room was not very clean when we got there little food pieces were on the floor such as popcorn kernel and a cherry. cleaning crew forgot to put towels in our room one day. we were locked out one day the key would not work. The view was great and staff was very friendly. Good location, walking distance to everything and real close to the ocean walk out your hotel and the ocean is right there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top