$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

3 stars
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
162 reviews
Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been... See full review

  • Pinky 39
  • Sep 29, 2014
We chose well!

We couldn't have chosen any better. The location was wonderful. It overlooked the ocean and was... See full review

  • BigBri0614
  • Jul 8, 2014
Our Virginia Beach hotel is located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Guests will enjoy a great location with easy access to the beach, and amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel is conveniently located steps from the water, ensuring a romantic or exciting vacation. This Virginia Beach hotel is popular for weddings and vacation escapes; we also have oceanfront meeting space available. Beachfront views with easy access to the beachfront make our Virginia Beach hotel a favorite among guests. When you're looking for hotels in Virginia Beach that offer the best in hospitality and spacious, quality rooms, we really deliver. The comfort of the guest is always our top priority. You'll feel welcome and right at home the moment you arrive. We offer onsite parking, and a free, full breakfast buffet daily. Indulge at the make-your-own-waffle station and fill up with your favorite pastries and fruits, cereal and yogurt. Our famous 100% Arabica coffee and cold juices are the ideal end to the most important meal of the day. The Virginia Beach boardwalk is moments away, but many of our Virginia Beach hotel guests come to town for the Neptune Festival and the American Music Festival. From major holidays at the beach to sporting tournaments at the Convention Center, there's always something happening nearby. We're the closest hotel to the 14th Street fishing pier, there are two restaurants onsite, and we're newly renovated, with each room having a private balcony. Business travelers and service men and women stay with us because we're close to Dam Neck Naval Base, Fort Story Army Base and NAS Naval Air Station Oceana. Enjoy the heated indoor pool year-round and free high-speed Internet, whether you're here for business or pleasure. It's always important to be connected and have a place to relax. Book a quiet, cool BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel room today and save!

Hotel Map

36.8428 -75.9731
Area served
Williamsburg, Washington,, Hampton, Richmond, Norfolk, Baltimore,
Nearby airports
(ORF), 19.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,37IN LCD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PARTIAL OCEAN VW,BALCON,MICRO,REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,ROOFTOP,37IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,SEP BDROM,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2STORY,OCNFRT,WETBAR,2SFABD,2BATH,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,BALCON,WETBAR,MICRFG,SOFBED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,MICRFG,SOFABED,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.7 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.1 mi
  • Motor World: 2.1 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.6 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.9 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.3 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.6 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.8 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 12.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.1 mi

Dining

Fishbones
Adjacent to Fishbones, bar/lounge, American, open for: dinner
Roma's
1.00 mile(s) from Roma's, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Pier 14
Pier 14, on premises, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Mahi Mah's
0.80 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Rock Fish
0.30 mile(s) from Rock Fish, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
The Raven
Across the street from The Raven, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MColligan
MD
May 31, 2012

Great stay

I had a lovely time at the sandcastle hotel. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and well kept. Even though the hotel was under construction, things were kept maintained and accomodating nontheless. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Calypso's was a hot spot to hang at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrp4352
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 28, 2014

Great trip!

We had a lovely stay. The staff was incredible - greeting us anytime we'd pass in the hallway and they were absolute lifesavers the evening we found out the restaurant in the hotel wasn't open on Sunday evenings during the off-season (the restaurant is not run by the hotel, it's contracted out). When our delivery dinner didn't bring any plastic ware, they came to the rescue again. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KennyPowers38
Business
Virginia
Oct 12, 2014

Great Hotel

Very nice hotel. Rooms are clean. The staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baller J
Business
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Oct 7, 2014

Great getaway

The hotel staff were polite and friendly, my room was very clean and comfortable no complaints!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paulette n
Business
new castle de
Oct 3, 2014

perfect stay

Patrick at front desk was awesome. The room, location, and ammenities were perfect! We had a room on the top floor with an ocean view. Everything was conveniently located. Parking available. Clean rooms. Continental breakfast wasn't great but what else could you expect. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJenkos
Business
Richmond, Va
Sep 30, 2014

Perfect Getaway

We went for a one night get away and it was perfect! Right on the beach, great views. Rooms were clean, and stuff was friendly. The breakfast was a bit interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinky 39
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Sep 29, 2014

Best gem on the boardwalk

My experience was amazing. I have been trying to book this hotel for years but, it has always been no rooms available. But, this year I got extremely lucky and was able to book an oceanfront balcony room with two queen sized beds overlooking the 14th street pier and I couldn't been happier. My son and I enjoyed the staff, the room, the view, the restaurant, the décor, the gift shop, simply everything and Patrick at the front desk was amazing. Dave from maintenance was amazing. The water pressure in the shower was amazing. I have found my VA Beach hotel getaway for a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located in the middle of everything and its close to dairy queen on 16th street. The music and the 13th street stage. Pier 14 has an incredible breakfast buffet, which you get for free when you book this fantastic hotel. It is served from 7 - 10 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faye Babes
Business
Beverly Wv
Sep 28, 2014

Last minute Anniversary trip.

I was a little worried because of booking so late but we were really pleased with our ocean balcony right by the fishing pier. the girls and guys at the front desk were exceptionally Kind :) the food at Pier 14 was very good, especially off of the menu ! and the waitresses and waiters and maître d' were incredibly sweet! The only complaint might be that the bathroom was incredibly small!! but other than that, everything was great. We will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

So wonderful to just run down to the gift shop and pick up a few gifts for my grandchildren before leaving :) very convenient That we didn't have to run around all over town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashraf A
Business
Johnson city
Sep 25, 2014

Good place

Great location, rooms clean. Staff ok, but not very helpful. Elevators were broken most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
everything taken
Business
Virginia
Sep 24, 2014

Nice weekend

Front desk staff were very friendly and cheerful. Hotel very convenient to Beachfront eateries and things to do.Entire weekend very pleasant experience - even with showers Sunday morning! Will certainly go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Went for Air Show Weekend at Oceana NAS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Capesurfer
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 21, 2014

Overnite for wedding

Front desk staff were very nice and efficient. Check-in was easy. Lobby was okay but elevators were slow and a bit bouncy. Hallways were not very nice and smelled musty. The actual rooms were clean and comfortable and the view was awesome. Overall, it was a bit expensive for a hotel of that quality but it was oceanfront!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top