$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
View map of 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
633 reviews
Great Family Trip

The hotel was in a perfect spot, just steps away from the beach. The breakfast was a little cold,... See full review

  • Donna T.
  • Jul 28, 2015
wonderful weekend stay

room was very clean and the service was great the food was awesome and breakfast was super See full review

  • david n.
  • Jul 23, 2015
The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach attracts its share of visitors thanks to a beachfront address and on-site seafood restaurant. This unique hotel features 166 oceanfront rooms and 48 non-oceanfront rooms that are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. The rooms also share access to indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools and a fitness center. Jacuzzi in some rooms lend private luxury. One parking space is available per reserved room.

Dining
Locals and Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach guests indulge in boardwalk views from Shoreline Grill and Boardwalk Cafe. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch.

Rooms
Rooms at Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. All bestow tropical flair via framed wall prints and bedding accents. Oceanfront rooms have balconies with boardwalk and beach views. West-side buildings have direct access to pools. Jacuzzi rooms cater to honeymoons or romantic getaways. Free Wi-Fi is standard at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach.
Property features
Diversions at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach include the indoor and outdoor pools. Children can swim in their own pool or test gaming skills in the arcade. A fitness center tops off the leisure options.

Highlights
  • Close to the Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Some rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzis
  • Heated indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and lodging for kids under 18
  • One parking space available per reserved room

Nearby attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (13 mi/21 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28.1 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46 mi/74 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

★★★
$116
3.5 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$74
3.2 / 5 168 reviews
★★★
$95
3.6 / 5 200 reviews
★★★
$85
3.6 / 5 143 reviews
★★★
$67
2.7 / 5 86 reviews
★★
$115
2.1 / 5 36 reviews
★★
$99
3.4 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$96
3.6 / 5 48 reviews

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,FULL KITCHEN,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,PATIO,1STFLR,WHISPD,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,SITARE,WETBAR,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMM ASSIST,WHIRL,OCEAN,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,WHIRL,ROLLSH,OCEAN,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WIRELESS HISPEED,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Big Sam's Inlet Cafe
1.25 mile(s) from Big Sam's Inlet Cafe, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, a quaint, casual restaurant right on Rudee Inlet next to the Virginia Beach Fishing Center. Specializing in seafood, breakfast specials before 9:00 a.m.,
Fire and Vine
2.00 mile(s) from Fire and Vine, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, our mission--our passion--is to create an experience where exceptional food, an impressive wine selection and impeccable service come together in an inviting atmosphere
Coyote Cafe and Cantina
1.00 mile(s) from Coyote Cafe and Cantina, cafe, Tex-Mex, open for: lunch, dinner, Coyote Cafe and Cantina serves a variety of foods including Mexican, Southwestern and Tex-Mex. The ambiance is best described as festive, party, people watching and
ShoreLine Grill
ShoreLine Grill, on premises, full service, Seafood, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, dining by the water's edge. The ShoreLine Grill opens daily. The oceanfront restaurant serves lunch (seasonal) and dinner specials including fresh seafood, pasta,
Croc's 19th Street Bistro
1.00 mile(s) from Croc's 19th Street Bistro, full service, Continental, open for: dinner, offers an innovative bistro-style atmosphere servicing upscale cuisine, a buzzing scene and a cool, casual theme. Encounter Croc's Crystal Stem Award Winning Wines
Captain George's Seafood
3.50 mile(s) from Captain George's Seafood, full service, Seafood, open for: dinner, legendary buffet has been heralded up and down the East coast as one of the best collections of fresh seafood and regional cuisine available. With over 70 items, fresh
Guadalajara's
3.00 mile(s) from Guadalajara's, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, welcomes locals and visitors to Virginia Beach's finest Mexican restaurant. With three locations and a South Beach Miami atmosphere, the staff offers authentic Mexican
Rudee's on the Inlet
1.50 mile(s) from Rudee's on the Inlet, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, has grown to become one of the most popular restaurants and night spots at the beach. The atmosphere and decor of Rudee's is open, airy and nautical. The building
Jewish Mother
0.04 mile(s) from Jewish Mother, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, live entertainment nightly. Serving a full menu with breakfast, lunch and dinner items until 3:00 a.m. seven days a week.
Bangkok Garden
3.00 mile(s) from Bangkok Garden, full service, Thai, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Thai cuisine. The variety of ingredients and the different combinations of flavors make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 633
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPORet
Single
Eastern Panhandle, West Virginia
May 6, 2014

Needs better housekeeping staff

The hotel itself wasn't bad, a bit dated maybe. Wasn't there long enough to take advantage of the amenities, so I can't comment on that. What did get me was when I got up to the room after checking in, I saw that the room had not been made up. One of the beds was still in its "used" state, there were beer cans in the garbage and old take out food containers next to the TV. Since I was headed out anyways, I let the front desk staff know, and they said they'd take care of it. To be fair, the front desk staff were very pleasant and great to deal with. When I got back to the room 2 hours later, I find a two foot high stack of towels sitting on the sink topped with a new trash bag. Frankly, I took that as a bit of a rude gesture from the housekeeping staff. They did empty the trash and make up the bed (though I didn't dare use that one), but left the take out food containers that were there previously. At that point, it was late, I was tired, so I opened up the balcony door so I could listen to the ocean sounds (and the F-18's & helicopters). The bed was comfortable, so I slept well. Like many of the other oceanfront hotels, parking was tight, especially when there are 3 or 4 tour buses parked there. Close to plenty of restaurants, and a good beach location. Unfortunately, gonna have to cross this one off the list. Shame, because the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NWilliams
Single
Irving, TX
Jan 21, 2014

Good choice for money

Hotel is situated on beach with clear, unobstructed views. I traveled during the off season so I wasn't able to take advantage of that. There are not a lot of "perks" but for $104, all I really expect is a clean room with a comfortable bed. Best Western Plus delivered on that criteria. I would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edie Mann
Single
Memphis, Tn
Sep 24, 2013

Great

I remember now why I try to always use Best Westens. Friendly staff, clean rooms & always have met my needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phfyrebyrd
Single
Arlington, Va
Apr 8, 2013

Great location

I stayed in the western (non-beach side) portion of this hotel. The room was fine, the bed was comfortable, and the beach was a two-minute walk away. The parking's a bit tight, so if you drive a large vehicle it might be tricky, but otherwise it was just what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
QueenTraveler
Single
VA
Feb 17, 2013

Did not meet expectations

I killed a bug on the curtain, there was an old McD's cup in the bathroom from 9 months ago, bathtub was not clean, fan made noise, no WIFI, and the bed was uncomfortable. The whole place had an interesting smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wardell donald smith
Single
va. beach
Jan 5, 2013

rmy stay at best western plus oceanfront

i liked it very much. my fianiace recenty passed away just a few monts ago before we could marry from lung cancer. i was very pleased. it was agood place to grieve. right on the water and i just loved the gym where i wored out almost every day even though some equipment was not woking. the staff wass very helpful. the heat was not woking properly when i got in my room but it was resolved quickly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Must Love Kitties
Single
Fairfax, VA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Hotel Experience

The hotel location was great! The continental breakfast does not accommodate late sleepers. The pool was crowded with kids - never any adult only time. The bed springs were felt through the king bed. There was no desk chair - it had been removed to give to another complaining guest and was never replaced in my room. Parking was a problem - had to unload luggage and then move vehicle across the street to a very narrow parking garage. It was an average experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were plenty of restaurants to meet all levels of expenses.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single mom in VA
Single
Virginia, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great Last Minute Staycation!

Decided to take a last minute staycation. Found the room on the website and the description was just as it stated. The room was clean and cozy. Great location. The staff was friendly. The only thing I could complain about would be the parking but that could have just been because I checked in after 9pm. But there is ample parking in the garage across the street free of charge. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sightseer
Single
new england
Sep 18, 2011

refuge during family visit

the staff was polite and helpful: and i mean everyone that i met. this was a first time there and i would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

breakfast and service were very good

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelinman3
Single
Maryland
Jun 5, 2011

A breath of fresh air

Excellent View. Tons of events going on each day. Perfect for Families, Couples, and Singles. I'll be staying here again in the near future. Bring a bike if you ride. Separate bike route parallel to boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top