$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
645 reviews
I would definately stay here again.

Can't beat the view from the 8th floor! This hotel was comfortable, affordable and was centrally... See full review

  • chess61
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great hotel and location the Best

This is our second year here. Perfect place for a beach vacation. The staff is great and so... See full review

  • Serhnm
  • Jul 13, 2014
Virginia Beach boardwalk hotel with seafood restaurant and pools
The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach attracts its share of visitors thanks to a beachfront address and on-site seafood restaurant. This unique hotel features 166 oceanfront rooms and 48 non-oceanfront rooms that are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. The rooms also share access to indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools and a fitness center. Jacuzzi in some rooms lend private luxury. One parking space is available per reserved room.

Highlights
  • Close to the Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Some rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzis
  • Heated indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and lodging for kids under 18
  • One parking space available per reserved room

Rooms
Rooms at Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. All bestow tropical flair via framed wall prints and bedding accents. Oceanfront rooms have balconies with boardwalk and beach views. West-side buildings have direct access to pools. Jacuzzi rooms cater to honeymoons or romantic getaways. Free Wi-Fi is standard at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach.
Features
Diversions at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach include the indoor and outdoor pools. Children can swim in their own pool or test gaming skills in the arcade. A fitness center tops off the leisure options.

Dining
Locals and Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach guests indulge in boardwalk views from Shoreline Grill and Boardwalk Cafe. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (13 mi/21 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28.1 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46 mi/74 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.8 km)

Hotel Map

36.8569 -75.9775
Area served
Washington, D.C., Norfolk, Baltimore,, Williamsburg, Richmond, Hampton
Nearby airports
(ORF), 18.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WHISPN,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,FULL KITCHEN,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,SITARE,WETBAR,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WIRELESS HISPEED,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMM ASSIST,WHIRL,OCEAN,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,WHIRL,ROLLSH,OCEAN,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Bangkok Garden
3.00 mile(s) from Bangkok Garden, full service, Thai, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Thai cuisine. The variety of ingredients and the different combinations of flavors make for an unforgettable dining experience.
Jewish Mother
0.04 mile(s) from Jewish Mother, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, live entertainment nightly. Serving a full menu with breakfast, lunch and dinner items until 3:00 a.m. seven days a week.
Cobalt Grille
2.00 mile(s) from Cobalt Grille, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, contemporary fine dining, daily specials, fresh seafood, filet mignon, lamb and chicken. Great wines, special martini and tapas menu. Chef's table next to the kitchen may
Fire and Vine
2.00 mile(s) from Fire and Vine, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, our mission--our passion--is to create an experience where exceptional food, an impressive wine selection and impeccable service come together in an inviting atmosphere
Tautog's
0.50 mile(s) from Tautog's, full service, American, open for: dinner, is a casual dining establishment featuring exceptional fish and seafood entrees, soups, salads and sandwiches served by the friendliest people in town. The concept of the restaurant
Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
0.02 mile(s) from Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Irish pub and restaurant. Nightly dinner specials Monday through Friday, happy hour Monday through Friday 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Live entertainment
Mahi Mah's
1.25 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, has been a local's favorite for years serving fresh fish, shellfish sushi, prime rib, chops and pastas. The skilled chefs will fix a meal fit for a King. The commitment to
P.F. Chang's
10.00 mile(s) from P.F. Chang's, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner, experience is a unique combination of Chinese cuisine, attentive service, wine and tempting desserts all served in a stylish, high-energy bistro.
Guadalajara's
3.00 mile(s) from Guadalajara's, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, welcomes locals and visitors to Virginia Beach's finest Mexican restaurant. With three locations and a South Beach Miami atmosphere, the staff offers authentic Mexican
Otani Japanese Steakhouse
2.50 mile(s) from Otani Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner, flames, comedy and banter are all part of the experience at Otani. The chefs prepare the food in front of your eyes while you dine around Japanese

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (645)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 645
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H Zimmerman
Partlow, Virginia
Aug 21, 2014

Great location. Clean room. Very friendly staff.

Second time this summer spending a few days at this Best Western. Only comment that we could make that might be slightly negative would be the lines for the complimentary breakfast was really long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
experienced beach goer
Wisconsin
Aug 7, 2014

Room was not worth the money spent

We had an ocean view room on the 6th floor. There was used towels left in our "clean" room upon arrival. The room was very noisy and you could hear everything that was happening in the hall and outside. Did I mention we were on the 6th floor! The free breakfast was not worth wasting your time for. If I ever go back to Virginia Beach- I will be spending the extra 100 per night and staying at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Wife Happy Life 99
Southern Maryland
Aug 5, 2014

Get what you pay for

At best, at least my bed was clean. Bathroom left a bit to be desired, between the floor and door being obviously overlooked on being cleaned and the sink stopping up when you brush you teeth, I was happy to get out of the bathroom as fast as I could. The balcony door handle coming back inside was so nasty my son wouldn't touch it. He got stuck in the elevator once and had to walk up to the eighth floor. But the really most disappointing was the dining are and complimentary breakfast. The food was beyond nasty, the coffee so dark no amount of cream would lighten it, and the carpeted floor was sticky when you walked. We really aren't that picky, and didn't expect a four star hotel, but the reviews were very misleading. Oh, and we had a neighbor who smoked on their balcony making it so that we couldn't sit out on our balcony because we didn't want to smell cigarette smoke. The very best part of our stay was the friendly front desk staff and manager. They were very kind to agree to let us leave a day early. We won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Doc Taylor's for Breakfast 22nd Street

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle from Scranton
Scranton, PA
Aug 3, 2014

Great family vacation

We have been staying at the same hotel for the last 20 years. We tried a few other hotels but always come back to the Best Western. It is the best price on the oceanfront and a great location. There are not many hotels that have an indoor and outdoor pool and are priced so reasonably. The staff is always friendly and the complimentary breakfast is very good. Would recommend this hotel for families with younger children because of the indoor and outdoor pool and a few blocks up the boardwalk is King Neptune which has a jungle gym on the beach for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel as well as several shops. You really don't need to move your car once u arrive at the hotel. There is also a bus that runs up and down the strip that you can pay $2 per day and ride up and down the strip as many times as you want.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobbie planner
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2014

Enjoyable family getaway

We liked the fact that you could get coffee and/or breakfast early in the morning 6:am, go out on the boardwalk ,watch the sun come up of the ocean. also, the staff were great! whatever the need was, they got right on it. The location of the hotel was good, but hard to get a parking space most times. Bus stop right in front. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything you might need was in a short walking or driving distance. Or you could travel on the bus. Most people have GPS's now days so, you could take a longer ride. And hotel have maps to show how to get around the city.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fie Hardworking MOM
Baltimore, MD
Jul 29, 2014

Nice family getaway

They didn't clean the toilet bowl enough so it looks a bit messy when we came in there. The front desk could be a bit more friendly. No smiles in their face. Indoor pool is a little bit cloudy (water). The exercise machines are a bit old. Breakfast are not up to par. Room view is GREAT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants within walking distance.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maryland Mom of 3
maryland
Jul 27, 2014

Great location

The location, staff and the complementary hot breakfast are the perks. We had a problem with mold on the shower head - black and pink mold where the water comes out. Hair in the shower from previous guests, trash under the bed from previous guests, the beds were uuncomfortable, the street noise you could hear in the room even though we were at the end of shorter building across the street that had no view except for the parking lot. On a high note the staff immediately re accommodated us to another room on the same floor which was cleaner. The staff was exceptional, as accommodating as they possibly could be. The breakfast was a plus and the staff who serves, cleans up and maintains the breakfast serve was wonderful. The rooms were small, the bathrooms were super small, the thermostats need updating because they only work on one temp no matter what you set it on- this was a issue in both room. I guess I was expecting a lot more from such a hotel that has been in business this long. I could tolerate this for a 2-3 night stay but absolutely no longer. We were going to stay longer but didn't at this hotel. The noise and uncomfortable beds simply cut the trip short at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Their is an Italian restaurant recommended by the young ladies at the information desk in the front lobby across from check in desk, don't eat there! It's over priced and the food is bad! Your better off eating at olive garden the food is great and taste is constant.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Con Yeu
Englewood, nj
Jul 20, 2014

Family vacation

We got two rooms, one with ocean view and the other one is across the street. The room has a microwave and refrigerator so it is very convenience. If we come back we would do the ocean view room since it is newer than the room across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy buffet. The food is good and the restaurant is very clean.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serhnm
New York
Jul 13, 2014

Great hotel and location the Best

This is our second year here. Perfect place for a beach vacation. The staff is great and so helpful. Even thru the bad weather they kept us first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel has a very nice breakfast

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TN Traveler23
Knoxville, TN
Jul 11, 2014

I'll find somewhere else

The overall stay wasn't horrible, but it wasnt good either. The rooms are very small. The staff were very nice, but housekeeping was non-existent. We had a lot of trouble getting extra towels and washcloths. We had 2 washclothes for 4 people. They never came to empty the trash or vacuum. Sand at the beach will find a way onto the floor. I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search