$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
640 reviews
Virginia Beach, VA experience

I have no complaints about this hotel, the service was good, the rooms were clean, the hotel was in... See full review

  • Boochill
  • Nov 12, 2014
I would definately stay here again.

Can't beat the view from the 8th floor! This hotel was comfortable, affordable and was centrally... See full review

  • chess61
  • Jul 21, 2014
Virginia Beach boardwalk hotel with seafood restaurant and pools
The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach attracts its share of visitors thanks to a beachfront address and on-site seafood restaurant. This unique hotel features 166 oceanfront rooms and 48 non-oceanfront rooms that are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. The rooms also share access to indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools and a fitness center. Jacuzzi in some rooms lend private luxury. One parking space is available per reserved room.

Highlights
  • Close to the Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Some rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzis
  • Heated indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and lodging for kids under 18
  • One parking space available per reserved room

Rooms
Rooms at Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. All bestow tropical flair via framed wall prints and bedding accents. Oceanfront rooms have balconies with boardwalk and beach views. West-side buildings have direct access to pools. Jacuzzi rooms cater to honeymoons or romantic getaways. Free Wi-Fi is standard at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach.
Features
Diversions at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach include the indoor and outdoor pools. Children can swim in their own pool or test gaming skills in the arcade. A fitness center tops off the leisure options.

Dining
Locals and Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach guests indulge in boardwalk views from Shoreline Grill and Boardwalk Cafe. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (13 mi/21 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28.1 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46 mi/74 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WHISPN,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,FULL KITCHEN,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,SITARE,WETBAR,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WIRELESS HISPEED,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMM ASSIST,WHIRL,OCEAN,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,WHIRL,ROLLSH,OCEAN,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Hot Tuna
8.50 mile(s) from Hot Tuna, full service, American, open for: dinner, come by and find out why Southern Living magazine says Hot Tuna is the place to visit while in Virginia Beach. Enjoy specialties such as parmesan seared tuna, Sam Adams beer battered
Fire and Vine
2.00 mile(s) from Fire and Vine, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, our mission--our passion--is to create an experience where exceptional food, an impressive wine selection and impeccable service come together in an inviting atmosphere
ShoreLine Grill
ShoreLine Grill, on premises, full service, Seafood, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, dining by the water's edge. The ShoreLine Grill opens daily. The oceanfront restaurant serves lunch (seasonal) and dinner specials including fresh seafood, pasta,
Melting Pot
2.50 mile(s) from Melting Pot, full service, American, open for: dinner
Coyote Cafe and Cantina
1.00 mile(s) from Coyote Cafe and Cantina, cafe, Tex-Mex, open for: lunch, dinner, Coyote Cafe and Cantina serves a variety of foods including Mexican, Southwestern and Tex-Mex. The ambiance is best described as festive, party, people watching and
Otani Japanese Steakhouse
2.50 mile(s) from Otani Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner, flames, comedy and banter are all part of the experience at Otani. The chefs prepare the food in front of your eyes while you dine around Japanese
Beach Bully BBQ
1.75 mile(s) from Beach Bully BBQ, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, is located on 19th Street between the oceanfront and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. It is a favorite gathering place for lunch to enjoy a sandwich, salad or
Cobalt Grille
2.00 mile(s) from Cobalt Grille, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, contemporary fine dining, daily specials, fresh seafood, filet mignon, lamb and chicken. Great wines, special martini and tapas menu. Chef's table next to the kitchen may
Jewish Mother
0.04 mile(s) from Jewish Mother, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, live entertainment nightly. Serving a full menu with breakfast, lunch and dinner items until 3:00 a.m. seven days a week.
P.F. Chang's
10.00 mile(s) from P.F. Chang's, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner, experience is a unique combination of Chinese cuisine, attentive service, wine and tempting desserts all served in a stylish, high-energy bistro.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (640)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
640 out of 640
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2007

clean but mediocre service

The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia was clean and comfortable-we stayed in the hotel half that was across the street from the bigger half on the ocean. there were not enough towels in the room,and when we called to ask for some extra's we were told to come pick them up ourselves, and when we did, the girl at the front desk was rude. Housekeeping persisted in cleaning the room while my friend (in room next door)was still in it.(?) The coffee was not restocked for the next morning,and there was none in the front lobby. The toilets in both of our rooms were backing up. They sent a maintenance guy who plunged them, and then gave us the plunger so we could fix it ourselves next time,since he was leaving.(?). We had to call again several hours later when it started to overflow again. Elevator was out of service,so we had to haul all our stuff up stairs(thank goodness only one flight). Disappointing service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across street from beach-was easy to walk to ocean but cost less than other side of hotel on beachfront,and had availability during busy summer season!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Forest VA
Oct 20, 2009

The good and the bad

The hotel was clean overall. When we booked the room did not realize the oceanview was across the street - looked nasty. We upgraded to oceanview. The parking was not located at the hotel. Seemed they catered to people coming in for the resturant? The mattress wasn't comfortable. The young lady at the front desk wasn't very friendly during check in and we seemed to cut into her chat time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved Ruddees. Was great food, great price and had a variety to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vabeacher
Business
Richmond Va
Aug 31, 2009

Should have spent a little more

I booked two rooms for a friends and family weekend. One room had water dripping from the ceiling beside the bed, and the other room only had 1 working lamp out of 5. The rooms were clean but nothing special and could have used better up-keep. I should have spent another $40 per room and stayed at the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

So-So In Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach is a nice place to visit even for a short weekend. But if you're looking for a fairly nice hotel, stay away from Best Western at 28th Street. I assumed that the hotel was on the beach. Well, that part is true, my room was not a hotel room but a motel room located on the other side of the road tucked away. The room had two double beds and a television that, considering it was cable, had the worse reception I have seen since rabbit ears use to occupy the top portions of TVs. The bathroom looked as if it was in the middle of renovation. The ceiling had been patched up in multiple spots and the shower curtain rod was barely hanging from the wall. There were only two sets of towels for a room that was booked for four and one bar of soap which was gone after the second shower. At one point my daughter needed kleenex and was forced to use toilet paper. I complained at the front desk that there was not enough soap and no kleenex. The young man simply reached into a cabinet and pulled out a box of kleenex and two bars of soap for me to take back to my room. Ah, this is what they call room service. Overall, the beach was great, the hotel was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach, Boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zaischka
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jun 27, 2009

The better of two undesirable options...

We made our reservation a month in advance, and at that time made a request for an upper floor ocean view room. This request was made both via Orbitz and also by a phone call to the hotel. We were told that although there is no guarantee of room location, they would try to honor our request. It was also said that at that time, the chances appeared good that we could get this type of room. When we arrived, we were given a room on the ground floor, near the lobby. No balcony at all. Absolutely the worst location I can imagine, although technically it was "oceanfront." We expressed our extreme disappointment with this result. We were told that it might be possible to move to a different room, if one becomes available. In fact, that happened and we were left a phone message about it on the first night. So we got our chance to move to a top-floor room. However it was a VERY small room, and from our observation, probably the smallest of all the top-floor rooms. The AC unit was noisy, and I think, too much for that size of room. Although I was pleased that the staff made an effort to move us to the type of room we wanted. But I am still left with the feeling that there's secret code I haven't cracked yet, about getting the type of room desired - without having to depend on mere chance, as it turned out for us. It was the second time we've been to Virginia Beach, and the the second time we got put into a room that was way below our expectations and what we requested. I am doubtful that we will go back to VA Beach, unless we can have some assurance of what kind of room we'll get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
STLMOM
Business
St. Louis Mo
Jun 27, 2009

Could use some help

The hotel is right on the beach so it has a great location. Thankfully we only stayed two nights because the beds were as hard as rocks. My back could not take much more on those beds. Housekeeping did not come to our room until after 6 in the eve and then had to be called and asked to come just leave clean towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington, WV
Jun 11, 2010

Good price with bad service

I did late check in and the guy at the lobby was super unfriendly and unprofessional. After he stared at me for five seconds he said "How you doing?" no smiling face or whatsoever. doesn't make you feel good especially when you drove seven - eight hours to get there tired. Anyway we got in to our room and about 3 hours later my girlfriend found big black moth in the corner of ceiling just before she was falling asleep. so, I called front desk and told a guy whoever answered that we found a bug in the room. His first responce was "I don't exactly know what you want me to do." Are you serious? So unprofessional. Of course I want you to send someone to take it out immediately. Other than that, hotel was relatively cheap, it's also right at the beach, and clean. this hotel needs to train their imployees how to treat their customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portsmouth, VA
Oct 19, 2009

ok night out

Just spent one night to be close to an event happening the following morning. room was very small. Frige did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Sep 28, 2009

The price was right, but...........

While the room was clean, the tub leaked all the time we were there, the faucet was not attached to the sink properly and the toilet ran all the time. I was on the second floor and there were noisy rooms on both sides of me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anniversary - VA Beach Homecoming
Business
Rochester, New York
Oct 18, 2009

Our Story

1. The first room we were put in,,,, There was a steady stream of water coming out the faucet in the bathtub. We tried to turn it off, and the whole faucet fell apart into the tub. We called the front desk and they said they could move us. 2. The next room - There were food crumbs everywhere.. All over the rug, all over the top of the dresser, the desk, there was purple glitter all over the chair, crayon marks all over the wall and in the bathroom, the carpet was dusty and coming apart in various places. I had to clean off the top of the dresser in order to put something on it. I have never been checked into such a dirty room before. We called the front desk again and they could not move us until the next day. They did send someone to vaccum and he even said it was in bad shape. There was also a musty smell in the room and when I took a shower, the water was up past my ankles before I was done washing my hair. 3. The next day, the next room was cleaner and we thought we would be able to get a good nights sleep. At 12:00 am the banging and shouting started in the room next to us. I was pretty scared. They were loud and the banging was loud. They were even shouting off the balcony. We called the desk and they said they would send security up. At 4:00 am, the banging and shouting continued. We called the desk again, they said they would send security again. The banging, slamming and shouting contined until about 5:30 am. We have stayed at Best Westerns before in fact our first hotel as a married couple 27 years ago was at a Best Western. This hotel was way below the standards we are used to from Best Western. Our kids wanted to send us on a cruise for our anniversary, but we wanted to go to VA Beach in stead. We lived here years ago and loved it here and wanted to come back for a nice vacation. Our first 2 days of 5 days were not very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top