$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
639 reviews
I would definately stay here again.

Can't beat the view from the 8th floor! This hotel was comfortable, affordable and was centrally... See full review

  • chess61
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great hotel and location the Best

This is our second year here. Perfect place for a beach vacation. The staff is great and so... See full review

  • Serhnm
  • Jul 13, 2014
Virginia Beach boardwalk hotel with seafood restaurant and pools
The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach attracts its share of visitors thanks to a beachfront address and on-site seafood restaurant. This unique hotel features 166 oceanfront rooms and 48 non-oceanfront rooms that are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. The rooms also share access to indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools and a fitness center. Jacuzzi in some rooms lend private luxury. One parking space is available per reserved room.

Highlights
  • Close to the Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Some rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzis
  • Heated indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and lodging for kids under 18
  • One parking space available per reserved room

Rooms
Rooms at Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. All bestow tropical flair via framed wall prints and bedding accents. Oceanfront rooms have balconies with boardwalk and beach views. West-side buildings have direct access to pools. Jacuzzi rooms cater to honeymoons or romantic getaways. Free Wi-Fi is standard at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach.
Features
Diversions at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach include the indoor and outdoor pools. Children can swim in their own pool or test gaming skills in the arcade. A fitness center tops off the leisure options.

Dining
Locals and Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach guests indulge in boardwalk views from Shoreline Grill and Boardwalk Cafe. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (13 mi/21 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28.1 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46 mi/74 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.8 km)

Hotel Map

36.8569 -75.9775
Area served
Richmond, Washington, D.C., Williamsburg, Norfolk, Baltimore,, Hampton
Nearby airports
(ORF), 18.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WHISPN,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,FULL KITCHEN,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,SITARE,WETBAR,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WIRELESS HISPEED,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMM ASSIST,WHIRL,OCEAN,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,WHIRL,ROLLSH,OCEAN,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Mahi Mah's
1.25 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, has been a local's favorite for years serving fresh fish, shellfish sushi, prime rib, chops and pastas. The skilled chefs will fix a meal fit for a King. The commitment to
Aldo's Ristorante
3.00 mile(s) from Aldo's Ristorante, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, enjoy award winning wines, delicious steaks and pastas, wood-burning pizza oven and homemade desserts with the finest service in town. A perfect spot for any occasion.
Lynnhaven Fish House
8.50 mile(s) from Lynnhaven Fish House, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, is an award winning restaurant which specializes in a large variety of fresh fish. The restaurant offers breathtaking views of the Chesapeake Bay from every seat in
Rudee's on the Inlet
1.50 mile(s) from Rudee's on the Inlet, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, has grown to become one of the most popular restaurants and night spots at the beach. The atmosphere and decor of Rudee's is open, airy and nautical. The building
Jewish Mother
0.04 mile(s) from Jewish Mother, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, live entertainment nightly. Serving a full menu with breakfast, lunch and dinner items until 3:00 a.m. seven days a week.
Hot Tuna
8.50 mile(s) from Hot Tuna, full service, American, open for: dinner, come by and find out why Southern Living magazine says Hot Tuna is the place to visit while in Virginia Beach. Enjoy specialties such as parmesan seared tuna, Sam Adams beer battered
Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
0.02 mile(s) from Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Irish pub and restaurant. Nightly dinner specials Monday through Friday, happy hour Monday through Friday 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Live entertainment
Big Sam's Inlet Cafe
1.25 mile(s) from Big Sam's Inlet Cafe, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, a quaint, casual restaurant right on Rudee Inlet next to the Virginia Beach Fishing Center. Specializing in seafood, breakfast specials before 9:00 a.m.,
Otani Japanese Steakhouse
2.50 mile(s) from Otani Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner, flames, comedy and banter are all part of the experience at Otani. The chefs prepare the food in front of your eyes while you dine around Japanese
Melting Pot
2.50 mile(s) from Melting Pot, full service, American, open for: dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (639)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
639 out of 639
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary beach bum
Business
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Great little getaway

The location of this hotel is its best point. The furniture in the room looked fairly new and the bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. That being said, they really need to invest some money in this place. The card readers barely unlock the doors. It would take 10 to 20 tries. I am not kidding and others were having the same issue. It was clear the staff knew about the issue, but there was nothing they could do about it. One girl at the desk said her manager said if you stand a little to the left of the door it would work better. Another staff member told me maintenance had tried cleaning them and that didn't help. The sliding door in my room also did not lock. I would not go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D E White
Business
Greenville PA
Jun 18, 2014

Nice weekend at the beach

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was great and our rrom was very clean! The resturant where breakfast was served could use a little upgrading with a less congested layout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mhariz2000
Business
Oxford, NC
Jun 3, 2014

Becoming a tradition

It's been our second year visiting Virginia beach and staying at Best western. We love it and we really enjoy our staying here. Will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra 1977
Business
North Stonington , CT
Jun 3, 2014

Wedding Weekend

The staff at this hotel are some of the best I've ever dealt with, very friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to check in early and they even printed out directions for us. The location was perfect for us. We were between the wedding venue and our relative's house. We were treated to breathtaking sunrises in the morning and lulled to sleep by the breaking waves at night. We walked out the back door to the boardwalk and the beach. We could walk up and down the boardwalk to find adventures such as watching the people fish from the pier or take in the airshow. The breakfasts were enough to last us till dinner and even the coffee was good. In between wedding activities we went to see the Aquarium which was a short 10 minute drive. The rooms were a little tired, mostly just a touch up of paint., but still had comfortable beds and nice views from the balcony. The free parking is certainly a plus because trying to find a parking space would have been impossible. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
va soccer family
Business
Virginia
May 29, 2014

Oceanfront at a good price

location was right on the beach; balcony was nice to have; room was a little small for 4 people to try and move around, but not in it much when at the beach. breakfast is included and food was pretty good. decent restaurant on site with outdoor seating as well right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandCastle Extraordinaire
Business
New York
May 20, 2014

You get what you pay for

If you're going to book non-ocean front be aware that you will be staying across the street from the hotel. Unless you go directly to their site you won't notice. And they were aware this is a problem but nothing is done to rectify it. It was like staying in a parking garage/ motel. Very disappointing. Housekeeping was unprofessional as they stood outside of our door talking badly about patrons to the hotel. And they half cleaned the room. Definitely wont stay here again!!! At least not in a non-ocean front

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPORet
Business
Eastern Panhandle, West Virginia
May 6, 2014

Needs better housekeeping staff

The hotel itself wasn't bad, a bit dated maybe. Wasn't there long enough to take advantage of the amenities, so I can't comment on that. What did get me was when I got up to the room after checking in, I saw that the room had not been made up. One of the beds was still in its "used" state, there were beer cans in the garbage and old take out food containers next to the TV. Since I was headed out anyways, I let the front desk staff know, and they said they'd take care of it. To be fair, the front desk staff were very pleasant and great to deal with. When I got back to the room 2 hours later, I find a two foot high stack of towels sitting on the sink topped with a new trash bag. Frankly, I took that as a bit of a rude gesture from the housekeeping staff. They did empty the trash and make up the bed (though I didn't dare use that one), but left the take out food containers that were there previously. At that point, it was late, I was tired, so I opened up the balcony door so I could listen to the ocean sounds (and the F-18's & helicopters). The bed was comfortable, so I slept well. Like many of the other oceanfront hotels, parking was tight, especially when there are 3 or 4 tour buses parked there. Close to plenty of restaurants, and a good beach location. Unfortunately, gonna have to cross this one off the list. Shame, because the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rama01
Business
Washington, D.C.
May 4, 2014

Family getaway

No wifi when we got there. Not real best western, different location more like motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved by G
Business
Richmond
Apr 29, 2014

Loved it!

I loved having a ocean view especially with my 10 year old who loved sitting on the balcony. It was a little older and the continental breakfest was a little small for the amount of people but it was still nice. I would stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All shopping was within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJL1
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 25, 2014

Good value

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I reserved a suite across the street and was upgraded to a beach front room- which made it an even better value (although it meant my son and I had to share a room). The only disappointment was the breakfast- while there were "hot offerings' they were cold and tasteless, and the breads and danishes were not kept well stocked. The restaurant was a great value for dinner though, and the food was good for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat dinner- especially with the discount coupon at check in, it was a great value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top