$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
View map of 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
684 out of 684
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Wife Happy Life 99
Business
Southern Maryland
Aug 5, 2014

Get what you pay for

At best, at least my bed was clean. Bathroom left a bit to be desired, between the floor and door being obviously overlooked on being cleaned and the sink stopping up when you brush you teeth, I was happy to get out of the bathroom as fast as I could. The balcony door handle coming back inside was so nasty my son wouldn't touch it. He got stuck in the elevator once and had to walk up to the eighth floor. But the really most disappointing was the dining are and complimentary breakfast. The food was beyond nasty, the coffee so dark no amount of cream would lighten it, and the carpeted floor was sticky when you walked. We really aren't that picky, and didn't expect a four star hotel, but the reviews were very misleading. Oh, and we had a neighbor who smoked on their balcony making it so that we couldn't sit out on our balcony because we didn't want to smell cigarette smoke. The very best part of our stay was the friendly front desk staff and manager. They were very kind to agree to let us leave a day early. We won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Doc Taylor's for Breakfast 22nd Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeePhD
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 4, 2014

Best Aspect is Location

This is a decent hotel. Having a microwave and a small refrigerator in the room was a nice touch. The bathroom was tiny and that was annoying. Having a buffet breakfast included is a nice touch but the lines were often very long and you didn't want to wait for an average buffet. The location of the hotel is in the northern part of the beach but still in the mainstream. It was very convenient to Laskin Road which is one of the main locations for theaters, restaurants, etc. Worth staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's Restaurant on Laskin Road is an AMAZING seafood buffet. Absolutely worth the drive and the cost!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle from Scranton
Business
Scranton, PA
Aug 3, 2014

Great family vacation

We have been staying at the same hotel for the last 20 years. We tried a few other hotels but always come back to the Best Western. It is the best price on the oceanfront and a great location. There are not many hotels that have an indoor and outdoor pool and are priced so reasonably. The staff is always friendly and the complimentary breakfast is very good. Would recommend this hotel for families with younger children because of the indoor and outdoor pool and a few blocks up the boardwalk is King Neptune which has a jungle gym on the beach for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel as well as several shops. You really don't need to move your car once u arrive at the hotel. There is also a bus that runs up and down the strip that you can pay $2 per day and ride up and down the strip as many times as you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobbie planner
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2014

Enjoyable family getaway

We liked the fact that you could get coffee and/or breakfast early in the morning 6:am, go out on the boardwalk ,watch the sun come up of the ocean. also, the staff were great! whatever the need was, they got right on it. The location of the hotel was good, but hard to get a parking space most times. Bus stop right in front. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything you might need was in a short walking or driving distance. Or you could travel on the bus. Most people have GPS's now days so, you could take a longer ride. And hotel have maps to show how to get around the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bishop Mac
Business
Central Virginia
Jul 31, 2014

Weekend getaway

From the moment we got there until we left the staff was delightful and the stay was good. Although the hotel was full it was not noisy or dirty at all. The only negatives were that our tub faucet leaked the whole time and the walls were paper thin but these did not affect our stay. The free breakfast was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal vacation planner
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jul 31, 2014

Would stay again

The room was small, bathroom very cramped but can't beat it for closeness to the beach at a good price. Walking distance to pier and in the heart of the shops and the boardwalk. Parking garage very narrow and cramped for larger vehicles. Staff very friendly and helpful. Since we were there for the beach with minimal time in the room, it was fine for a fun family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Gets breezy when trying to dry towels and suits on balcony railing, potentially having them blow over the side. Bring clothes pins or other means of securing items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fie Hardworking MOM
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 29, 2014

Nice family getaway

They didn't clean the toilet bowl enough so it looks a bit messy when we came in there. The front desk could be a bit more friendly. No smiles in their face. Indoor pool is a little bit cloudy (water). The exercise machines are a bit old. Breakfast are not up to par. Room view is GREAT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maryland Mom of 3
Business
maryland
Jul 27, 2014

Great location

The location, staff and the complementary hot breakfast are the perks. We had a problem with mold on the shower head - black and pink mold where the water comes out. Hair in the shower from previous guests, trash under the bed from previous guests, the beds were uuncomfortable, the street noise you could hear in the room even though we were at the end of shorter building across the street that had no view except for the parking lot. On a high note the staff immediately re accommodated us to another room on the same floor which was cleaner. The staff was exceptional, as accommodating as they possibly could be. The breakfast was a plus and the staff who serves, cleans up and maintains the breakfast serve was wonderful. The rooms were small, the bathrooms were super small, the thermostats need updating because they only work on one temp no matter what you set it on- this was a issue in both room. I guess I was expecting a lot more from such a hotel that has been in business this long. I could tolerate this for a 2-3 night stay but absolutely no longer. We were going to stay longer but didn't at this hotel. The noise and uncomfortable beds simply cut the trip short at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Their is an Italian restaurant recommended by the young ladies at the information desk in the front lobby across from check in desk, don't eat there! It's over priced and the food is bad! Your better off eating at olive garden the food is great and taste is constant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chess61
Business
Granview, Missouri
Jul 21, 2014

I would definately stay here again.

Can't beat the view from the 8th floor! This hotel was comfortable, affordable and was centrally located on the Boardwalk. Everything was within walking distance. From restraunts to groceries to Walgreens. Entertainment was a good. Always something happening on the beach. Great breakfast. Eggs, sausage, grits, hotcakes, french toast, biscuits and gravy, cereal, pastery, toast, bagels, choice of three juices, milk....all free in the morning! I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is dining from Subway to Seafood Buffet. It can be pricey!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Con Yeu
Business
Englewood, nj
Jul 20, 2014

Family vacation

We got two rooms, one with ocean view and the other one is across the street. The room has a microwave and refrigerator so it is very convenience. If we come back we would do the ocean view room since it is newer than the room across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy buffet. The food is good and the restaurant is very clean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top