$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
View map of 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelers vising Marine
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 22, 2013

Could be better

Our rooms were in a motel-type complex across the road, not in the hotel itself. They were fairly clean, but worn. The sofa did not have a bed in it as expected, so we asked for two cots. They could not give us two - only one - and did not have sufficient pillows or blankets, so some members of our 5 party group ended up with no pillows and used the queen bed comforter as a blanket. Room was a bit musty. On the good side, there was no charge for the one cot and blanket provided. Location was nice - ocean was across the street and the beach and boardwalk were nice. We were staying on two consecutive weekends and spent the week in SC in between. On the 2nd weekend we ended up on the 2nd floor - not musty like the first floor was. Did not get adjoining rooms as expected and first staff I talked to said it couldn't be done and treated me like a 2nd class citizen because I'd arranged the room via the web and not directly with the hotel, so wasn't evidently entitled to much in their mind. I returned to the front desk a short time later to say I didn't care for the rooms as they were far apart and the gentleman at the desk at that time was warm and friendly and found me adjoining rooms with no difficulty. My daughter had stayed earlier at a different BW that was also on the ocean - further down the same street. She said the breakfast at this one was better. Our hot breakfast was in a small room that was difficult to get in and out of with the crowd there. It was adequate, but same thing every day - vanilla yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage (no bacon#, and french toast sticks. The other BW evidently has bacon and more variety on a daily basis. It was OK for the price and a great location, but a bit shabby and not enough pillows/blanket #it was off season when we went and not that full). I would suggest trying the other BW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joezee
Business
NYC
Apr 14, 2013

Best Western VA Beach = Best Deal on Atlantic Ave

We booked a non-ocean front room, thinking we would just be on the western part of the hotel, instead of east. But to our disappointment it was actually in a separate building, across the street. Before even expressing our disappointment, the front desk clerk upgraded us to an Ocean Front room! We were amazed by the view, the friendly staff and central location on the boardwalk. We were very thankful for that upgrade. Breakfast was horrible, ive been to better free breakfasts, the layout was sloppy and food wasn't appetizing at all. I would recommend this hotel, but be prepared to get breakfast elsewhere. The non-ocean front looked like a cheap motel, so pay extra for the ocean front, its worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the pembroke mall! tons of restaurants/bars. there is also a comedy club it was hilarious! dont go to lynhaven mall, its dead and nothing special.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Long Island Wrestling Mom
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 14, 2013

Amazing view...

Our experience from chech-in to check-out was terrific!!! The staff were all so helpful & sweet. We were there for a National Wrestling Tournament & they had no problem accomodating the large volume of guests. The only thing we were disappointed in was that the hotel bar closed at 9pm even on the weekend. They really missed out on alot of extra money there!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Murphy's Irish Pub...great place!!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MM Mommy
Business
Great Falls, VA
Apr 11, 2013

Weekend Trip to VA Beach

The location is perfect. BUT! watch out when selecting a non oceanfront room. In my extensive experience traveling, a non oceanfront room means that the room does not face the ocean. In this hotel it means that they will TRY (and I emphasize try!) to put you accross the street in a MOTEL. Please research this! We didn't really want to have our room face the ocean, but I didn't want to stay in a motel in a shady area with my family including 2 young kids. The hotel was graceful enough to "upgrade" us to a oceanfront room. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phfyrebyrd
Business
Arlington, Va
Apr 8, 2013

Great location

I stayed in the western (non-beach side) portion of this hotel. The room was fine, the bed was comfortable, and the beach was a two-minute walk away. The parking's a bit tight, so if you drive a large vehicle it might be tricky, but otherwise it was just what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nitrit
Business
Richmond
Feb 18, 2013

Good

The hotel was clean and nice, the walls are thin so you can hear what is happening above and beside you. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
QueenTraveler
Business
VA
Feb 17, 2013

Did not meet expectations

I killed a bug on the curtain, there was an old McD's cup in the bathroom from 9 months ago, bathtub was not clean, fan made noise, no WIFI, and the bed was uncomfortable. The whole place had an interesting smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Player
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 23, 2013

Weekend getaway

This hotel was a great location to all the shops and the major interstate. Bathrooms are small but other than that no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wardell donald smith
Business
va. beach
Jan 5, 2013

rmy stay at best western plus oceanfront

i liked it very much. my fianiace recenty passed away just a few monts ago before we could marry from lung cancer. i was very pleased. it was agood place to grieve. right on the water and i just loved the gym where i wored out almost every day even though some equipment was not woking. the staff wass very helpful. the heat was not woking properly when i got in my room but it was resolved quickly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Suz
Business
Northern Virginia
Jan 3, 2013

January at the beach

We stayed at the Best Western on a cold gloomy day -- outside. Inside all was very comfortable. Our room was clean, bed comfortable, and temperature just as we wanted it. The view out the beach was lovely and behind glass although we did step out on the balcony several times to smell the sea breezes. The bathroom is tiny, but everything worked fine. There is a restaurant in the hotel that will cook up any fish you catch: what fun. And the breakfast buffet was really good, with fresh scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles and fresh fruit, cereal, bagels and toast. And all that for a great price. I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top