$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,042 reviews
Nothing but happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got non ocean view rooms for a good price and once we arrived they upgraded us to ocean view on the... See full review

  • JW12
  • Apr 8, 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Staff was excekkent. Very accommidating.Everything beach related, right there. Awesome view. See full review

  • CUSA
  • Apr 7, 2014
Virginia Beach boardwalk hotel with seafood restaurant and pools
The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach attracts its share of visitors thanks to a beachfront address and on-site seafood restaurant. This unique hotel features 166 oceanfront rooms and 48 non-oceanfront rooms that are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. The rooms also share access to indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools and a fitness center. Jacuzzi in some rooms lend private luxury. One parking space is available per reserved room.

Highlights
  • Close to the Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Some rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzis
  • Heated indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and lodging for kids under 18
  • One parking space available per reserved room

Rooms
Rooms at Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. All bestow tropical flair via framed wall prints and bedding accents. Oceanfront rooms have balconies with boardwalk and beach views. West-side buildings have direct access to pools. Jacuzzi rooms cater to honeymoons or romantic getaways. Free Wi-Fi is standard at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach.
Features
Diversions at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach include the indoor and outdoor pools. Children can swim in their own pool or test gaming skills in the arcade. A fitness center tops off the leisure options.

Dining
Locals and Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach guests indulge in boardwalk views from Shoreline Grill and Boardwalk Cafe. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (13 mi/21 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28.1 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46 mi/74 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.8 km)

Hotel Map

36.8569 -75.9775
Area served
Washington, D.C., Norfolk, Baltimore,, Williamsburg, Richmond, Hampton
Nearby airports
(ORF), 18.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WHISPN,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,FULL KITCHEN,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,SITARE,WETBAR,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WIRELESS HISPEED,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMM ASSIST,WHIRL,OCEAN,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,WHIRL,ROLLSH,OCEAN,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Bangkok Garden
3.00 mile(s) from Bangkok Garden, full service, Thai, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Thai cuisine. The variety of ingredients and the different combinations of flavors make for an unforgettable dining experience.
Jewish Mother
0.04 mile(s) from Jewish Mother, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, live entertainment nightly. Serving a full menu with breakfast, lunch and dinner items until 3:00 a.m. seven days a week.
Cobalt Grille
2.00 mile(s) from Cobalt Grille, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, contemporary fine dining, daily specials, fresh seafood, filet mignon, lamb and chicken. Great wines, special martini and tapas menu. Chef's table next to the kitchen may
Fire and Vine
2.00 mile(s) from Fire and Vine, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, our mission--our passion--is to create an experience where exceptional food, an impressive wine selection and impeccable service come together in an inviting atmosphere
Tautog's
0.50 mile(s) from Tautog's, full service, American, open for: dinner, is a casual dining establishment featuring exceptional fish and seafood entrees, soups, salads and sandwiches served by the friendliest people in town. The concept of the restaurant
Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
0.02 mile(s) from Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Irish pub and restaurant. Nightly dinner specials Monday through Friday, happy hour Monday through Friday 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Live entertainment
Mahi Mah's
1.25 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, has been a local's favorite for years serving fresh fish, shellfish sushi, prime rib, chops and pastas. The skilled chefs will fix a meal fit for a King. The commitment to
P.F. Chang's
10.00 mile(s) from P.F. Chang's, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner, experience is a unique combination of Chinese cuisine, attentive service, wine and tempting desserts all served in a stylish, high-energy bistro.
Guadalajara's
3.00 mile(s) from Guadalajara's, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, welcomes locals and visitors to Virginia Beach's finest Mexican restaurant. With three locations and a South Beach Miami atmosphere, the staff offers authentic Mexican
Otani Japanese Steakhouse
2.50 mile(s) from Otani Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner, flames, comedy and banter are all part of the experience at Otani. The chefs prepare the food in front of your eyes while you dine around Japanese

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1042)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1042 out of 1042
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnny Lyric
NJ
Jul 8, 2014

July 4th vacation

The coffee pot had old coffee from a previous guest and we had to ask for towels, 2 towels for 2 people for 2 nights. Hotel has heated indoor pool and great breakfast. Overall hotel cost for $500 + was overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pammie F
Troutville, VA
Jul 8, 2014

Right where you need to be

Everything was great! Location is central to everything. Food was good, plenty of it. Bar was an added bonus, staff was friendly. Will definitely be back, soon hopefully. No problems whatsoever. Telling everyone about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dancers mother
Boston
Jul 5, 2014

Good exp

Great location, friendly staff. Enjoyed the beach walk everyday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RhondaVeryDisappiontedTra
Ohio
Jun 23, 2014

Misleading!!!!!

For starters this site said that this is on the oceanfront and it is actually not they failed to tell you that it is across the street not even attached to the best Western! It looks like a dump! The hotel staff never once changed any of our linens or picked up any of our towels or give us fresh towels or changed our beds or emptied our trash cans! On top of that the shower clogged two times after being called to fix it so we were pretty much bathing in each other's dirt and then after that the air conditioning stopped working! When we complained to the staff about the conditions there was nothing they said they could do since we booked through a third-party! And on our last night there they offered to compensate us and move us to and oceanfront but by then what is the point when we're leaving the next day! The only good thing about this hotel was the free breakfast.!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't Book this hotel or through This company if you have a choice!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stopherson
Rockford, Illinois
Jun 23, 2014

Non Oceanfront Term is misleading

We booked our hotel and selected a "non Oceanfront Room" which we thought meant we didn't have an ocean view, which we were ok with. We looked at the pictures of the hotel and it seemed nice. When we arrived, we were informed that "non Oceanfront" meant that we were staying in a dumpy motel across the street. Directly in front of our room was a parking garage, so there was very little sunlight in the room and it was just very dingy. There was hair all over the tub, and the room was just overall grimy. We couldn't really relax in the room and it put a damper on our whole vacation. Definitely do not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary beach bum
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Great little getaway

The location of this hotel is its best point. The furniture in the room looked fairly new and the bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. That being said, they really need to invest some money in this place. The card readers barely unlock the doors. It would take 10 to 20 tries. I am not kidding and others were having the same issue. It was clear the staff knew about the issue, but there was nothing they could do about it. One girl at the desk said her manager said if you stand a little to the left of the door it would work better. Another staff member told me maintenance had tried cleaning them and that didn't help. The sliding door in my room also did not lock. I would not go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D E White
Greenville PA
Jun 18, 2014

Nice weekend at the beach

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was great and our rrom was very clean! The resturant where breakfast was served could use a little upgrading with a less congested layout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra 1977
North Stonington , CT
Jun 3, 2014

Wedding Weekend

The staff at this hotel are some of the best I've ever dealt with, very friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to check in early and they even printed out directions for us. The location was perfect for us. We were between the wedding venue and our relative's house. We were treated to breathtaking sunrises in the morning and lulled to sleep by the breaking waves at night. We walked out the back door to the boardwalk and the beach. We could walk up and down the boardwalk to find adventures such as watching the people fish from the pier or take in the airshow. The breakfasts were enough to last us till dinner and even the coffee was good. In between wedding activities we went to see the Aquarium which was a short 10 minute drive. The rooms were a little tired, mostly just a touch up of paint., but still had comfortable beds and nice views from the balcony. The free parking is certainly a plus because trying to find a parking space would have been impossible. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mhariz2000
Oxford, NC
Jun 3, 2014

Becoming a tradition

It's been our second year visiting Virginia beach and staying at Best western. We love it and we really enjoy our staying here. Will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
va soccer family
Virginia
May 29, 2014

Oceanfront at a good price

location was right on the beach; balcony was nice to have; room was a little small for 4 people to try and move around, but not in it much when at the beach. breakfast is included and food was pretty good. decent restaurant on site with outdoor seating as well right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top