$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was... See full review

  • BALM
  • Jul 26, 2014
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 87
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
mclean, virginia
Apr 11, 2011

disappointing

We traveled to Richmond for a weekend vacation, and the Linden Row sounded charming. It isn't. Terrible hotel - a must avoid! First there were none of the amenities they advertise -- viz: no wine and cheese, no internet, no restaurant. Also the room was small, not very clean and had an ancient TV not worth watching. The complimentary breakfast was just coffee and cereal- more basic than a motel 6. But one can often overlook problems if the service is good - but uninformed and ill trained staff seemed to be the norm. Ask about a restaurant, a walking tour, where to park, etc.... just drew a blank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Richmond Museum of Fine Arts -- a terrific art museum with wonderful exhibits.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, PA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Unimpressed - Lacking Customer Service

Looking to stay in Richmond overnight? Then look elsewhere. We were completely unimpressed with Linden Row Inn. The price was right, the location was good, that is until we checked in. Front desk staff was completely indifferent & lacked in customer service. Rude & uninterested are the best descriptions. The room key snapped immediately when put into the lock. The room was minimalist for the price & overlooked the roof's AC/Heat units, which created a loud audible hum all night long. The TV had a HUGE scratch across the screen. During the night, 4 gun shots were heard in close proximity. And then the ceiling leaked water directly onto the bed, making sleep next to impossible. At checkout, we noticed a few buckets stationed around the building. Apparently when it rains, there are leaks. We mentioned the leak in our room, only to receive an "Oh, sorry to hear that... Here's your bill. Have a nice day." No compensation was offered to recifty our displeasure. A few days later, we were charged an incidental fee, when we called to find out what this was for, no one could or would tell us exactly what the fee was in relation to. So not only did we overpay for a room that we did not enjoy, had rain water leak upon us all night long, but we were charged even more money for some unknown reason. Great service, don't ya think? Never again. Save your money & book a room anywehre else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Georgia Resident
Augusta GA
Sep 14, 2013

Mobile home like

Knew it was old but "run down" and dirty better describe it. Elevator literally had duct tape holding the control panel straight. Beddi g can only e described as dingy white. Carpet was stained and nasty!! Furniture looked like cheap mobile home furnishings. Residents of Richmond rolled their eyes when we told then where we were staying. Would NEVER stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Mar 23, 2011

not so charming

i was disappointed in this hotel. the location is not ideal. there is close proximity to the VCU campus and good restaurants/bars in the down town area, however the hotel itself is on the more run down side of broad street. with only street parking available, the made me feel a little hesitant about walking at night. when we checked into the hotel, the concierge was very off-putting. she was not friendly, or welcoming at all. she checked us in with well practiced efficiency, but there were no pleasantries or polite small talk. Our room was part a suite. there were two rooms, each with their own locking door, that shared one door to the outer hallway. it was described as a "Garden View" room, but all we could see was a brick wall. there was a small courtyard in the center of the hotel, but most of the space was taken up by a large brick structure in the middle. the room was smaller than i was expecting, and had a very strong floral fragrance to it. the worst part was, i couldn't open the window or turn on a fan to try and dissipate the aroma. it was almost overpowering. the room had most basic amenities (cable TV, coffee maker, towels etc), but was missing a mini-fridge, and good lighting. obviously, there were enough lights, but they were all very bright, and harsh. overnight the room was cold, and there were not enough covers for the bed to keep you warm. Also, there must be an AC or heating unit nearby that would kick on every hour or so, with a loud humming noise. it woke me up through out the night. the room also had a large desk, and the bathroom was very nice. i would not recommend booking at this hotel for anything, especially for a one night stay like i had. its not worth the price, even discounted on travel sites. i know i wont stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T Bone the Traveler
Washington DC
Dec 5, 2012

Historic hotel

The hotel was pretty easy to find. It has a very unique look to it. Very old world looking. They do have valet parking if you are unable to find street parking. Getting access to the room was a little confusing. If your room isn't in the main part of the hotel where the front desk is (as was the case with our room), then you have to go through the courtyard. The room was small, compared to other hotels that we stayed at. The heating/air conditioning unit was pretty noisy. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed. It seemed that if you sat on one side, the other side rose up slightly. The bathroom was nice. It looked modernized, with a modern counter and flooring. The TV was old. I'm talking something from the 90's. It wasn't HD, and wasn't a flat screen (for those who desire those amenities). There wasn't a guide for TV stations. They did provide a local shuttle. At the time of this review, the shuttle service ended around 10:30 PM. I don't recall seeing a complimentary breakfast, so if you look for that, call them and verify. The local eateries are mostly driving distance. You could walk to a few of them if the weather is nice. All in all, the stay was nice. Knowing what I'm used to, I'm not sure if I would actively look to stay at this place again, but it is a decent place for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QuickGettawayGirl
Lynchburg, VA
Apr 15, 2013

Content

My husband and I spent our first year anniversary at the Linden Row Inn was not bad. It's a perfect place for peace and quiet. As we entered the hotel, we passed 3 young women speaking Italian, so the cultural diversity was definitely there. The continental breakfast was average. The room was comfortable, especially the bed. The elevator creeped me out at times, but it fit with the historic feel the hotel conveyed. We thourougly enjoyed the free shuttle service. it was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty action just around the corner.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thomas E.
Wirtz, Va.
Jun 9, 2013

Ok for a couple of nites

Room seemed damp and musty. Interesting historic place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
richmonder visiting
Washington, DC
Feb 15, 2010

internet can be deceiving

Originally I booked a garden room. The internet pictures[...] on the hotel's website, led me to believe that this room would be quite charming. This was not the case at all. The ceilings were incredibly low and the whole room was incredibly small and depressing--like a dorm room. I had to end up paying $50 more a night to get a king room. The king room was MUCH better, but still not as nice as I was expecting from the website. The TV was from about 1990 and there was some pretty random/old furniture. The hotel itself is quaint and cute, but definitely not as boutique and upscale as I was expecting. Some of the staff was very friendly while at least one was not very helpful. I would probably pay the extra money to stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Hartford, NY
Nov 23, 2009

Enjoyable getaway

the staff was very friendly, great service, only complaint was that the rooms and hallways need some fresh paint and wallpaper - stains on the ceiling tiles and wallpaper in the bath gave the impression of being less than clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young interviewer
Poquoson VA
Apr 5, 2014

Great location for our trip

We in town for an interview and this was a very relaxing place for the night before. Only issue was that it was a little noisy. You could hear every step from the room above you. But it was such a nice property it made up for the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

They have a free shuttle for anywhere within 2 miles. But it's right downtown so walking is the best!!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search