$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
88 reviews
Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was... See full review

  • BALM
  • Jul 26, 2014
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiawah Traveler
Charleston SC
Jan 20, 2013

Great Inn

The one night stay was an excellent experience. Inn was close to everything we wished to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mclean, virginia
Apr 11, 2011

disappointing

We traveled to Richmond for a weekend vacation, and the Linden Row sounded charming. It isn't. Terrible hotel - a must avoid! First there were none of the amenities they advertise -- viz: no wine and cheese, no internet, no restaurant. Also the room was small, not very clean and had an ancient TV not worth watching. The complimentary breakfast was just coffee and cereal- more basic than a motel 6. But one can often overlook problems if the service is good - but uninformed and ill trained staff seemed to be the norm. Ask about a restaurant, a walking tour, where to park, etc.... just drew a blank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Richmond Museum of Fine Arts -- a terrific art museum with wonderful exhibits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, PA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Unimpressed - Lacking Customer Service

Looking to stay in Richmond overnight? Then look elsewhere. We were completely unimpressed with Linden Row Inn. The price was right, the location was good, that is until we checked in. Front desk staff was completely indifferent & lacked in customer service. Rude & uninterested are the best descriptions. The room key snapped immediately when put into the lock. The room was minimalist for the price & overlooked the roof's AC/Heat units, which created a loud audible hum all night long. The TV had a HUGE scratch across the screen. During the night, 4 gun shots were heard in close proximity. And then the ceiling leaked water directly onto the bed, making sleep next to impossible. At checkout, we noticed a few buckets stationed around the building. Apparently when it rains, there are leaks. We mentioned the leak in our room, only to receive an "Oh, sorry to hear that... Here's your bill. Have a nice day." No compensation was offered to recifty our displeasure. A few days later, we were charged an incidental fee, when we called to find out what this was for, no one could or would tell us exactly what the fee was in relation to. So not only did we overpay for a room that we did not enjoy, had rain water leak upon us all night long, but we were charged even more money for some unknown reason. Great service, don't ya think? Never again. Save your money & book a room anywehre else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rage
Business
Riverside, CA, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Dingy hotel

Stayed two nights , hotel does not have there own parking lot only street parking. Elevator was out of order for both days had to walk up to 4th floor. Breakfast was ordinary. Rooms where big and clean. Overall it was a dingy old not convenient for desabled.no wheel chair access . I did not enjoy my stay at all for the price I expected to be in a comfortable one.i will not recommend this hotel to anyone ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
whipporwill
Business
Lexington, ky
Dec 4, 2013

Absolute DUMP

I travel to Richmond a few times a year for work. I stayed at Linden Row last year because it looked charming, was not a chain and was in a good location. I am making my travel arrangements for my trip in January and came across Linden Row and the reviews in my search for a place to stay (which will NOT be Linden Row). I had reviewed it after my bad experience on another review site and the manager had the audacity to reply with some stupid excuses as if what I reported was not true. The fact is - the sheets on the bed had not been changed in a long, long time. The manager's response was that they had 'dryer issues'. I am not stupid. Sheets that have deep, deep imprints of the mattress pad, with multiple hairs of varying sizes, shapes and colors coupled with flecks and specks of lord knows what is not a dryer issue. It is a 'we are not going to change the sheets after every visitor because we are either horridly lazy or think it is going to save us some money'. If you cannot tell, I am quite passionate about letting people know what a horrible dump this place is. I know that businesses get approached with 'companies' who will post favorable reviews in return for money. Given the number of good reviews this place has on multiple sites, there has to be something up. This place does not deserve to stay in business - the responses that they give on review sites are insane - as if it is the first time they've heard of these issues and talk about excuses!!!! Please!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sue2011
Business
Vienna, VA, USA
Aug 30, 2013

noisy but quaint

The best part about this Inn was their breakfast and the friendly night manager when we checked in. The decor is quaint but our 'garden' room was shabby and damp. The soundproofing is terrible and I was kept up until the wee hours by our neighbor who was humming loudly and shuffling around until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cuban Bar & Grill around the corner was good, but beware - kitchen closes at 9:30 p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Georgia Resident
Business
Augusta GA
Sep 14, 2013

Mobile home like

Knew it was old but "run down" and dirty better describe it. Elevator literally had duct tape holding the control panel straight. Beddi g can only e described as dingy white. Carpet was stained and nasty!! Furniture looked like cheap mobile home furnishings. Residents of Richmond rolled their eyes when we told then where we were staying. Would NEVER stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Mar 23, 2011

not so charming

i was disappointed in this hotel. the location is not ideal. there is close proximity to the VCU campus and good restaurants/bars in the down town area, however the hotel itself is on the more run down side of broad street. with only street parking available, the made me feel a little hesitant about walking at night. when we checked into the hotel, the concierge was very off-putting. she was not friendly, or welcoming at all. she checked us in with well practiced efficiency, but there were no pleasantries or polite small talk. Our room was part a suite. there were two rooms, each with their own locking door, that shared one door to the outer hallway. it was described as a "Garden View" room, but all we could see was a brick wall. there was a small courtyard in the center of the hotel, but most of the space was taken up by a large brick structure in the middle. the room was smaller than i was expecting, and had a very strong floral fragrance to it. the worst part was, i couldn't open the window or turn on a fan to try and dissipate the aroma. it was almost overpowering. the room had most basic amenities (cable TV, coffee maker, towels etc), but was missing a mini-fridge, and good lighting. obviously, there were enough lights, but they were all very bright, and harsh. overnight the room was cold, and there were not enough covers for the bed to keep you warm. Also, there must be an AC or heating unit nearby that would kick on every hour or so, with a loud humming noise. it woke me up through out the night. the room also had a large desk, and the bathroom was very nice. i would not recommend booking at this hotel for anything, especially for a one night stay like i had. its not worth the price, even discounted on travel sites. i know i wont stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RAM Volunteer
Business
Cville, VA
Apr 22, 2009

Oh, how the mighty have fallen!

This used to be one of the grand dames of downtown Richmond accomodations. Now, however, it's just kind of sad. Everything was ok - but at a hotel where everthing used to be exceptional, ok doesn't really cut it. You used to walk in the door and feel like you'd landed somewhere truly special. Now you walk in the door and feel like they want your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore,md
Sep 21, 2009

09 19 09 linden row stay

Hotel was OK. Advertised on your site as having smoking rooms but when I checked in, was told that it was smoke free hotel. I could go to a courtyard and smoke but found this to be inconvenient. Rooms had an odd configuration: three walls with no window and one wall with a window that looked onto the hallway leading to other rooms and the front desk. Bugs in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Desm
Business
Kent UK
Nov 8, 2014

2* features and service for a 4* price

The building is at the quiet end of downtown. There's no onsite parking so valet parking is the only option. This is fine and not badly priced, but when I pass over the keys I expect the car to be securely parked immediately. This didn't happen and my car spent hours on the street where I parked it and I had to ask for it to be put away. Not good. The building itself is poorly maintained. The rooms are big, which is good, but there's no fridge. The finish is poor, we had the cables from the TV that were formerly duct taped to the wall hanging loose, and the carpet was jaded. The building is an odd design and has an interior veranda. This is fine unless your room is at the end of the veranda then the veranda 'smoking area' is outside your room; which is 'great' when your neighbours congregate there for a smoke and a joke in the early hours. Breakfast was really rather poor. Staff are all casually attired and this reflected in their general attitude. Broadly an unsatisfactory stay at the price charged. Also, the area itself is pretty much untroubled by restaurants or bars, particularly on a sunday, so think twice before you book here on a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top