$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
107 reviews
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Excellent Stay, quiet and comfortable

My stay could not have been better. The room was clean, comfortable, charmingly furnished, and we... See full review

  • jbr2
  • Mar 28, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 107
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John The M
Savannah, GA
Jun 17, 2014

The Linden Inn Was A Good Value

We looked up the Linden Inn at 9:00 p.m. the night of our stay and got two beds in one nice big room in a large Historic complex in an interesting old section of Richmond, VA. The part we stayed in was a row of co-joined town houses - The common corridor in from the check in desk was covered in a kind of sour smelling carpet - We wondered why it was.t brock - But we figured it had been raining for two days - The room was clean and smelled clean and fresh with a nice bathroom - We were up and out early after a nice complimentary breakfast - My 11 year old liked making his own waffles! All in all a good stay with no surprises. We had a car full of stuff so we used the 12:00 valet parking so it was in an enclosed lot - These were impossible to find on our own in the vicinity of the Hotel. We saved over a third and like I said - No surprises. The woman who checked night couldn't have been nicer and more inviting - Always a good sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Have Their Breakfast - Ton's of choices.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoBorrell
Williamsburg, VA
Dec 16, 2013

Quick Overnight Stay

I stayed at the Linden Row Inn, briefly, after spending the day helping my stepdaughter look for wedding dresses in Richmond. I liked the hotel's historic atmosphere and small size. I had contact with three staffers and they were all helpful. The room was well-appointed - simple and cozy. My only complaint is that one of the beds had bloodstains on the sheets when I turned back the covers. I can handle that at home, but not when I am paying for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sue2011
Vienna, VA, USA
Aug 30, 2013

noisy but quaint

The best part about this Inn was their breakfast and the friendly night manager when we checked in. The decor is quaint but our 'garden' room was shabby and damp. The soundproofing is terrible and I was kept up until the wee hours by our neighbor who was humming loudly and shuffling around until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cuban Bar & Grill around the corner was good, but beware - kitchen closes at 9:30 p.m.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virchow
baltimore, md
Jul 11, 2013

Distinctive historic and quirky

Great value for the money. Right in the middle of downtown. Terrific local food nearby. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom Farmer
Tennessee
Jun 12, 2013

Good Enough

The hotel was ok. Nothing special, but nothing wrong either. I wish the rooms had more period pieces in it to match the exterior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eheldri
Wayne, Pa.
Mar 28, 2013

Very good.

Liked the hotel a lot but TV reception very poor and room lighting needs improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilla
Bethesda, MD, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great experience

Great hotel, spacious and roomy, nice breakfast, excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying tiger STL
St Louis
Aug 6, 2011

good choice for us!

OUr room was large, and very nicely decorated, with all of the expected amenities. we walked to and from the restaurant 4 blocks away, and there were lots of choices. The outside was not representative of the condition of the inside or the positive friendly attitude of the staff, as the wood trim needs painting pretty badly. We wold definatley stay there again for a much longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

numerous excellent and trendy restaurants near by...

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying tiger STL
St Louis
Aug 6, 2011

good choice for us!

OUr room was large, and very nicely decorated, with all of the expected amenities. we walked to and from the restaurant 4 blocks away, and there were lots of choices. The outside was not representative of the condition of the inside or the positive friendly attitude of the staff, as the wood trim needs painting pretty badly. We wold definatley stay there again for a much longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

numerous excellent and trendy restaurants near by...

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 20, 2011

great location

The hotel was nice, we were just in town for a day to see Richmond University. it was a 10 min, drive to the campus and the hotel shuttled us to our dinner location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top