$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was... See full review

  • BALM
  • Jul 26, 2014
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Linden Row Inn is a 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. The hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast, in-town shuttle service, free wireless internet, and off-site fitness center access.

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eta phi beta
Business
USA
Aug 3, 2014

Business

Good stay..would recommend to family & friends and others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BALM
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 26, 2014

Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was clean, the linens were high quality, and my stay was very enjoyable. The gardens and courtyard were beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mama J's Kitchen was a short 4 block walk from the hotel. It had delicious southern cooking/soul food. The place was packed and well worth it.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
whipporwill
Business
Lexington, ky
Dec 4, 2013

Absolute DUMP

I travel to Richmond a few times a year for work. I stayed at Linden Row last year because it looked charming, was not a chain and was in a good location. I am making my travel arrangements for my trip in January and came across Linden Row and the reviews in my search for a place to stay (which will NOT be Linden Row). I had reviewed it after my bad experience on another review site and the manager had the audacity to reply with some stupid excuses as if what I reported was not true. The fact is - the sheets on the bed had not been changed in a long, long time. The manager's response was that they had 'dryer issues'. I am not stupid. Sheets that have deep, deep imprints of the mattress pad, with multiple hairs of varying sizes, shapes and colors coupled with flecks and specks of lord knows what is not a dryer issue. It is a 'we are not going to change the sheets after every visitor because we are either horridly lazy or think it is going to save us some money'. If you cannot tell, I am quite passionate about letting people know what a horrible dump this place is. I know that businesses get approached with 'companies' who will post favorable reviews in return for money. Given the number of good reviews this place has on multiple sites, there has to be something up. This place does not deserve to stay in business - the responses that they give on review sites are insane - as if it is the first time they've heard of these issues and talk about excuses!!!! Please!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Day Conference Traveler
Business
washington DC
Sep 17, 2013

a one night stay

The place is old. A rather small, musky room, and granted, a re-modeled bathroom, but stil $98.10 plus tax seems a bit much. The staff however is very nice and obligining. The in-town and back shuttle is an awesome service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shirtless joe
Business
richmond, va
Aug 26, 2013

great historic hotel

very pleasant, nice complimentary breakfast, great courtyard setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ Pilgrim
Business
Chesapeake, Ca
Jul 11, 2013

In the heart of the city

This hotel reminds me of my stays in Europe. There is a beautiful courtyard perfect for sitting alone to read or with friends for a chat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The YMCA is only a block away and is beautify.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend sneakaway
Business
Virginia
May 4, 2013

third stay

The first time I stayed in this hotel I loved it! The furnishings, shower and comfort was great. The next two times I stayed in garden rooms. Not so great. They are nice but I could hear people milling around and making noise outside on the patio. The pillows were uncomfortable. I love this hotel but will not stay in a garden room again. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. There are restaurants within walking distance. They have a decent breakfast available with oatmeal, waffles, cereals, bagels, pastries and muffins, juice, milk, etc. Arrive after 5:00 p.m. to park on street in front of hotel so you don't have to get up to move your vehicle by 7:00 a.m. They have valet parking for a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within 3-5 blocks there is a Chili's and Deli near VCU. In the opposite direction there are several bistros and restaurants. The Inn has a shuttle.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macylandon
Business
Roanoke, VA
Mar 29, 2013

It's got character, if you like that sort of thing...

I often stay at the Linden Row when in Richmond. It's not the newest or fanciest but Edgar Allen Poe used to play in the garden as a boy, and that counts for something, right? It's a little funky - each room I've been in is laid out differently. This one had a weird long narrow bathroom and a (nonfunctioning) fireplace in the room. But it's clean, and fairly quiet, and close to both VCU, where my son goes, and downtown, where my business was. Breakfast is pretty ordinary with waffles and yogurt and coffee, but I'd rather stay here than a chain hotel. Free wifi is a plus. There's a YMCA a block away and they honor my local Y membership. The pool there is strange but OK for lap swimming. Don't forget your own towel and lock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Penny Lane Pub is two blocks away. Not fine dining by any stretch but good pub food and a good beer selection. You might have to ask them to turn down the soundtrack of obscure Beatles music playing, but the staff is happy to accomodate.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave the Brave
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 1, 2012

Nice place for a good price

The Inn, and my room, were very nice. It was quaint. I wish I would have had more time hang out in the parlor and in the courtyard. The place is well-maintained and the staff are nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington SC
Aug 22, 2012

Nice downtown location

Shuttle service to Richmond destinations was an added bonus, staff was extremely friendly, hotel needs some updating but very quaint,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search