$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
108 reviews
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Excellent Stay, quiet and comfortable

My stay could not have been better. The room was clean, comfortable, charmingly furnished, and we... See full review

  • jbr2
  • Mar 28, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raputtak
Hertford, NC
Feb 29, 2012

Scooter trip

Staff was courteous and helpful, room was comfortable, valet parking cheap and easy. I would go there again and recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must check out the Museum of Fine Art

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raputtak
Hertford, NC
Feb 25, 2012

Scooting in Richmond

The counter staff were very friendly. Valet parking convenient and reasonably priced. The room was clean and comfortable. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss the Museum of Fine Arts. We really enjoyed the special exhibits (Elvis and Mummies - no, not Elvis's mummy), plus the regular displays are spectacular.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dari
Bethesda, MD, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Great Hotel, great location

The location of the hotel was very important, and the room was in very good shape, with a comfortable, clean and well maintained (and stocked) bathroom. The room had a good TV and the furniture was in good shape. The size of the room was more than enough for my needs. They even had shaving cream for a dollar and free tothpaste at the front desk. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and delicious and the staff was very proffesional, and overall very positive. The hotel was very short walking distance from the beautiful downtown of Richmond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rage
Business
Riverside, CA, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Dingy hotel

Stayed two nights , hotel does not have there own parking lot only street parking. Elevator was out of order for both days had to walk up to 4th floor. Breakfast was ordinary. Rooms where big and clean. Overall it was a dingy old not convenient for desabled.no wheel chair access . I did not enjoy my stay at all for the price I expected to be in a comfortable one.i will not recommend this hotel to anyone ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ytravels
Norfolk, VA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Excellent location & pristine!

This is a charming old inn that is very well maintained and ideally located. It is much nicer (i.e., better organized and cleaner) and a better value than the chain hotels we stayed at on previous trips to Richmond. We'll be back for sure. Book it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed stopping in at the book sale at the public library across the street.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leiderman
Business
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Linden Row Inn - A Great Alternative to the Big Hotels

Quaint, clean, comfortable and friendly. A Virginia Historical site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A handful of great restaurants right around the corner.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raputtak
Hertford, NC
Jan 7, 2012

Linden Row

Street parking was convenient. Upon arrival the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The elevator worked fine. The room was clean and warm. Our room was in back of the building so there was no street noise, not that the streets were busy. Over night we used the valet parking for a few additional dollars. The car was returned promptly upon request the next morning. As we had paid via a travel website checkout was just a smile and a wave from the receptionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilla
Bethesda, MD, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great experience

Great hotel, spacious and roomy, nice breakfast, excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mon Colonel
Poughkeepsie, NY, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Would reccommend

Pleasant staff, nice breakfast, great location. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hollywood Cemetery a great experience

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, PA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Unimpressed - Lacking Customer Service

Looking to stay in Richmond overnight? Then look elsewhere. We were completely unimpressed with Linden Row Inn. The price was right, the location was good, that is until we checked in. Front desk staff was completely indifferent & lacked in customer service. Rude & uninterested are the best descriptions. The room key snapped immediately when put into the lock. The room was minimalist for the price & overlooked the roof's AC/Heat units, which created a loud audible hum all night long. The TV had a HUGE scratch across the screen. During the night, 4 gun shots were heard in close proximity. And then the ceiling leaked water directly onto the bed, making sleep next to impossible. At checkout, we noticed a few buckets stationed around the building. Apparently when it rains, there are leaks. We mentioned the leak in our room, only to receive an "Oh, sorry to hear that... Here's your bill. Have a nice day." No compensation was offered to recifty our displeasure. A few days later, we were charged an incidental fee, when we called to find out what this was for, no one could or would tell us exactly what the fee was in relation to. So not only did we overpay for a room that we did not enjoy, had rain water leak upon us all night long, but we were charged even more money for some unknown reason. Great service, don't ya think? Never again. Save your money & book a room anywehre else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top