$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
108 reviews
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Excellent Stay, quiet and comfortable

My stay could not have been better. The room was clean, comfortable, charmingly furnished, and we... See full review

  • jbr2
  • Mar 28, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raputtak
Hertford, NC
Jan 7, 2012

Linden Row

Street parking was convenient. Upon arrival the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The elevator worked fine. The room was clean and warm. Our room was in back of the building so there was no street noise, not that the streets were busy. Over night we used the valet parking for a few additional dollars. The car was returned promptly upon request the next morning. As we had paid via a travel website checkout was just a smile and a wave from the receptionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macylandon
Business
Roanoke, VA
Mar 29, 2013

It's got character, if you like that sort of thing...

I often stay at the Linden Row when in Richmond. It's not the newest or fanciest but Edgar Allen Poe used to play in the garden as a boy, and that counts for something, right? It's a little funky - each room I've been in is laid out differently. This one had a weird long narrow bathroom and a (nonfunctioning) fireplace in the room. But it's clean, and fairly quiet, and close to both VCU, where my son goes, and downtown, where my business was. Breakfast is pretty ordinary with waffles and yogurt and coffee, but I'd rather stay here than a chain hotel. Free wifi is a plus. There's a YMCA a block away and they honor my local Y membership. The pool there is strange but OK for lap swimming. Don't forget your own towel and lock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Penny Lane Pub is two blocks away. Not fine dining by any stretch but good pub food and a good beer selection. You might have to ask them to turn down the soundtrack of obscure Beatles music playing, but the staff is happy to accomodate.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eheldri
Wayne, Pa.
Mar 28, 2013

Very good.

Liked the hotel a lot but TV reception very poor and room lighting needs improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raputtak
Hertford, NC
Mar 9, 2013

Linden Row

One again we had a delightful stay at the Linden Row Inn. The staff were all charming and helpful. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner, close to outr intended venue. We love the historic nature of the building, the antique furniture and the courtyard. Breakfast included! There must be other charming hotels in Richmond. My one regret is that either I shall not experience them or I shall miss out on the Linden Row Inn in order to try the others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Pasture Restaurant. Great food.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachie One
Virginia Beach
Feb 17, 2013

quick stay in Richmond

Lovely historic rooms and furnishings. A few niceties would make this even better: a light in the shower, bathrobes and turndown service. The continental breakfast had a nice variety, wish they used coffee mugs instead of styrofoam though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 27 was a culinary delight.

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiawah Traveler
Charleston SC
Jan 20, 2013

Great Inn

The one night stay was an excellent experience. Inn was close to everything we wished to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gypsyiam
NC
Jan 4, 2013

downtown value!

just needed a room for the night and picked this inn from others suggestions and good deal i found on web. They gave me a courtyard room which was comfortable. Room was a bit dated but still clean and nice. I didn't eat the breakfast...but heard it was good. No parking lot...you either have to park in the street or in valet parking which is 12 bucks. It was during a quiet time so plenty of street parking and I left before the 2 hours was up (12 noon). Staff was very helpful. It was rainy and cool there but seems it would be a nice place in warmer weather to sit outside in the courtyard. Very convenient downtown...you can walk to visit the jefferson hotel (which I did) and some restaurants and many shoppes downtown. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris NC
Raleigh, NC
Dec 7, 2012

Very Comfy

Hotel was nice & comfy. We had a great time here and will revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tarrents!!!

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T Bone the Traveler
Washington DC
Dec 5, 2012

Historic hotel

The hotel was pretty easy to find. It has a very unique look to it. Very old world looking. They do have valet parking if you are unable to find street parking. Getting access to the room was a little confusing. If your room isn't in the main part of the hotel where the front desk is (as was the case with our room), then you have to go through the courtyard. The room was small, compared to other hotels that we stayed at. The heating/air conditioning unit was pretty noisy. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed. It seemed that if you sat on one side, the other side rose up slightly. The bathroom was nice. It looked modernized, with a modern counter and flooring. The TV was old. I'm talking something from the 90's. It wasn't HD, and wasn't a flat screen (for those who desire those amenities). There wasn't a guide for TV stations. They did provide a local shuttle. At the time of this review, the shuttle service ended around 10:30 PM. I don't recall seeing a complimentary breakfast, so if you look for that, call them and verify. The local eateries are mostly driving distance. You could walk to a few of them if the weather is nice. All in all, the stay was nice. Knowing what I'm used to, I'm not sure if I would actively look to stay at this place again, but it is a decent place for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave the Brave
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 1, 2012

Nice place for a good price

The Inn, and my room, were very nice. It was quaint. I wish I would have had more time hang out in the parlor and in the courtyard. The place is well-maintained and the staff are nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington SC
Aug 22, 2012

Nice downtown location

Shuttle service to Richmond destinations was an added bonus, staff was extremely friendly, hotel needs some updating but very quaint,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top