$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was... See full review

  • BALM
  • Jul 26, 2014
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thomas E.
Wirtz, Va.
Jun 9, 2013

Ok for a couple of nites

Room seemed damp and musty. Interesting historic place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Mexico Guy
Gettysburg, PA
May 17, 2013

Great Value for location

Our stay was most enjoyable. Every staff person we dealt with was very friendly. The location in downtown Richmond is very good. For an older hotel, Linden Row is well maintained, yet retains the atmosphere of an earlier period of time when living was at a much slower pace. We definitely would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend sneakaway
Business
Virginia
May 4, 2013

third stay

The first time I stayed in this hotel I loved it! The furnishings, shower and comfort was great. The next two times I stayed in garden rooms. Not so great. They are nice but I could hear people milling around and making noise outside on the patio. The pillows were uncomfortable. I love this hotel but will not stay in a garden room again. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. There are restaurants within walking distance. They have a decent breakfast available with oatmeal, waffles, cereals, bagels, pastries and muffins, juice, milk, etc. Arrive after 5:00 p.m. to park on street in front of hotel so you don't have to get up to move your vehicle by 7:00 a.m. They have valet parking for a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within 3-5 blocks there is a Chili's and Deli near VCU. In the opposite direction there are several bistros and restaurants. The Inn has a shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam L
Washington, DC
Apr 15, 2013

Historical setting with modern amenities

I stayed for one (Friday) night before the Ukrop's 10k in April 2013. The setting is beautiful, with all room entrances facing a walled in courtyard with fountains and plenty of seating areas. The staff was friendly, and informed me about the continental breakfast and shuttle that would take me anywhere within a two mile radius. I would avoid the valet parking though, there is plenty of street parking all around the hotel. The room itself was nice; clearly it had a lot of the older aspects left over (closed fireplace, small TV), but the bed was comfy, the AC/heating worked great, and the wifi was free. The bathrooms have also been completely redone, with granite counters and shower tiles. The only cons are that the floor in my room was a bit uneven so I wound up landing on my ankle wrong a few times (the hall sloped up to the bathroom), and I could hear the floor above me fairly well whenever they we walking around. Once I cranked up the AC this wasn't a problem anymore. The hotel is also in a quiet part of town so I didn't hear a thing for it being Friday night. Anytime I'm staying in downtown Richmond I'll definitely be back, for the value and freebies (wifi, breakfast), you really can't beat this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Skip the valet, plenty of street parking nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QuickGettawayGirl
Lynchburg, VA
Apr 15, 2013

Content

My husband and I spent our first year anniversary at the Linden Row Inn was not bad. It's a perfect place for peace and quiet. As we entered the hotel, we passed 3 young women speaking Italian, so the cultural diversity was definitely there. The continental breakfast was average. The room was comfortable, especially the bed. The elevator creeped me out at times, but it fit with the historic feel the hotel conveyed. We thourougly enjoyed the free shuttle service. it was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty action just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reteachu
Fredericksburg, VA
Apr 14, 2013

Linden Row

We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the Monument Ave.10K, in which we participated. The hotel was in a great downtown location, within walking distance of many good restaurants. We slept well in a comfortable bed, and the room was sizeable, and upgrade from the room we had booked. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous, and the complimentary breakfast was very convenient and tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from attractions and restaurants within a 2-mile radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macylandon
Business
Roanoke, VA
Mar 29, 2013

It's got character, if you like that sort of thing...

I often stay at the Linden Row when in Richmond. It's not the newest or fanciest but Edgar Allen Poe used to play in the garden as a boy, and that counts for something, right? It's a little funky - each room I've been in is laid out differently. This one had a weird long narrow bathroom and a (nonfunctioning) fireplace in the room. But it's clean, and fairly quiet, and close to both VCU, where my son goes, and downtown, where my business was. Breakfast is pretty ordinary with waffles and yogurt and coffee, but I'd rather stay here than a chain hotel. Free wifi is a plus. There's a YMCA a block away and they honor my local Y membership. The pool there is strange but OK for lap swimming. Don't forget your own towel and lock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Penny Lane Pub is two blocks away. Not fine dining by any stretch but good pub food and a good beer selection. You might have to ask them to turn down the soundtrack of obscure Beatles music playing, but the staff is happy to accomodate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eheldri
Wayne, Pa.
Mar 28, 2013

Very good.

Liked the hotel a lot but TV reception very poor and room lighting needs improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raputtak
Hertford, NC
Mar 9, 2013

Linden Row

One again we had a delightful stay at the Linden Row Inn. The staff were all charming and helpful. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner, close to outr intended venue. We love the historic nature of the building, the antique furniture and the courtyard. Breakfast included! There must be other charming hotels in Richmond. My one regret is that either I shall not experience them or I shall miss out on the Linden Row Inn in order to try the others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Pasture Restaurant. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachie One
Virginia Beach
Feb 17, 2013

quick stay in Richmond

Lovely historic rooms and furnishings. A few niceties would make this even better: a light in the shower, bathrobes and turndown service. The continental breakfast had a nice variety, wish they used coffee mugs instead of styrofoam though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 27 was a culinary delight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search