$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was... See full review

  • BALM
  • Jul 26, 2014
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
whipporwill
Business
Lexington, ky
Dec 4, 2013

Absolute DUMP

I travel to Richmond a few times a year for work. I stayed at Linden Row last year because it looked charming, was not a chain and was in a good location. I am making my travel arrangements for my trip in January and came across Linden Row and the reviews in my search for a place to stay (which will NOT be Linden Row). I had reviewed it after my bad experience on another review site and the manager had the audacity to reply with some stupid excuses as if what I reported was not true. The fact is - the sheets on the bed had not been changed in a long, long time. The manager's response was that they had 'dryer issues'. I am not stupid. Sheets that have deep, deep imprints of the mattress pad, with multiple hairs of varying sizes, shapes and colors coupled with flecks and specks of lord knows what is not a dryer issue. It is a 'we are not going to change the sheets after every visitor because we are either horridly lazy or think it is going to save us some money'. If you cannot tell, I am quite passionate about letting people know what a horrible dump this place is. I know that businesses get approached with 'companies' who will post favorable reviews in return for money. Given the number of good reviews this place has on multiple sites, there has to be something up. This place does not deserve to stay in business - the responses that they give on review sites are insane - as if it is the first time they've heard of these issues and talk about excuses!!!! Please!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Day Conference Traveler
Business
washington DC
Sep 17, 2013

a one night stay

The place is old. A rather small, musky room, and granted, a re-modeled bathroom, but stil $98.10 plus tax seems a bit much. The staff however is very nice and obligining. The in-town and back shuttle is an awesome service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Georgia Resident
Business
Augusta GA
Sep 14, 2013

Mobile home like

Knew it was old but "run down" and dirty better describe it. Elevator literally had duct tape holding the control panel straight. Beddi g can only e described as dingy white. Carpet was stained and nasty!! Furniture looked like cheap mobile home furnishings. Residents of Richmond rolled their eyes when we told then where we were staying. Would NEVER stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vassi
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 2, 2013

Charming Inn, Nice Rooms

We stayed at the Linden Row in for a weekend getaway to Richmond. The room was clean, the location was good -walkable distance to some restaurants, major attractions. The inn is charming and has a cute courtyard. The staff was very friendly. They have a free shuttle and when we took it to the train station, they agreed to stop at a restaurant for us to get food for the ride. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sue2011
Business
Vienna, VA, USA
Aug 30, 2013

noisy but quaint

The best part about this Inn was their breakfast and the friendly night manager when we checked in. The decor is quaint but our 'garden' room was shabby and damp. The soundproofing is terrible and I was kept up until the wee hours by our neighbor who was humming loudly and shuffling around until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cuban Bar & Grill around the corner was good, but beware - kitchen closes at 9:30 p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shirtless joe
Business
richmond, va
Aug 26, 2013

great historic hotel

very pleasant, nice complimentary breakfast, great courtyard setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ Pilgrim
Business
Chesapeake, Ca
Jul 11, 2013

In the heart of the city

This hotel reminds me of my stays in Europe. There is a beautiful courtyard perfect for sitting alone to read or with friends for a chat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The YMCA is only a block away and is beautify.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virchow
Business
baltimore, md
Jul 11, 2013

Distinctive historic and quirky

Great value for the money. Right in the middle of downtown. Terrific local food nearby. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJ2825
Business
Jacksonville
Jul 10, 2013

Unique

Comfortable historical room. Stayed in a courtyard room and didn't hear any noise from the on going wedding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in garage before it closes for the night or use valet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie's Mom
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 19, 2013

Great Historic Inn and Close to VCU

Great place for parents of VCU students to stay when there are activities you want to attend. Only 8 blocks to Brand Hall. Lots of wonderful restaurants within walking distance and the hotel also has a free shuttle if you want to travel a little farther. Great deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top