$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
88 reviews
Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was... See full review

  • BALM
  • Jul 26, 2014
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC1986
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 2, 2014

SC1986

The staff was exceptional. The inn had a great ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John The M
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 17, 2014

The Linden Inn Was A Good Value

We looked up the Linden Inn at 9:00 p.m. the night of our stay and got two beds in one nice big room in a large Historic complex in an interesting old section of Richmond, VA. The part we stayed in was a row of co-joined town houses - The common corridor in from the check in desk was covered in a kind of sour smelling carpet - We wondered why it was.t brock - But we figured it had been raining for two days - The room was clean and smelled clean and fresh with a nice bathroom - We were up and out early after a nice complimentary breakfast - My 11 year old liked making his own waffles! All in all a good stay with no surprises. We had a car full of stuff so we used the 12:00 valet parking so it was in an enclosed lot - These were impossible to find on our own in the vicinity of the Hotel. We saved over a third and like I said - No surprises. The woman who checked night couldn't have been nicer and more inviting - Always a good sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Have Their Breakfast - Ton's of choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael in Seattle
Business
Seattle
May 16, 2014

Historic hotel, great courtyard

We really enjoyed our stay at the Linden Row Hotel. We got a great deal online, the hotel is pretty cool to stay in and in a good/walkable location. The valet service was cheap and quick. Yes, the rooms and building are dated...it's a historic hotel! The only complaint we had was that are room wasn't that clean (though the bathroom was updated/clean/great-looking). We would stay again and definitely recommend Linden Row. It's much better than your typical chain hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann Blue Moon Cowgirl
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 12, 2014

Perfect authenticity in historic Richmond.

Large, comfortable room. Newly redone, clean bath. Some stairs up and down might be difficult for some travelers. The open porches with rockers reminded me of stays at the beach. Lots of brick, a rabbits warren of courtyard with large trees and lovely plantings gave lots of opportunity for quiet seating. The breakfast was similar to the other tired free continental breakfasts hotels and motels are offering these days, and the coffee was merely brown water. But all the staff was helpful and positive. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great coffee at Saison Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bicycle race fan
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 6, 2014

Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden, outdoor areas for weddings & receptions, and covered walkways overlooking the interior garden. The staff was very helpful, and valet parking is a must, as there is very limited on street parking. A short walk to Grace Street shows several good restaurants, and the big hotels a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Street has lots of activities join on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young interviewer
Business
Poquoson VA
Apr 5, 2014

Great location for our trip

We in town for an interview and this was a very relaxing place for the night before. Only issue was that it was a little noisy. You could hear every step from the room above you. But it was such a nice property it made up for the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

They have a free shuttle for anywhere within 2 miles. But it's right downtown so walking is the best!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jbr2
Business
Keswick, VA
Mar 28, 2014

Excellent Stay, quiet and comfortable

My stay could not have been better. The room was clean, comfortable, charmingly furnished, and we didn't hear a peep from either the road or our neighbors. The staff was very helpful. Excellent value, I thought. I booked this hotel with some nervousness after reading some negative comments about noisy rooms and other things, but it was terrific. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K8lynjoh
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 17, 2014

Cute Spot

Definitely recommend. A little different than the average hotel. A lot of charm, helpful staff, and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple Retrea2
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 8, 2014

Exceptional stay.

A one night get away. Perfect location. Nice room, quiet and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Quick walk to The National, Cary Street, restraints, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaemes
Business
Albuquerque
Mar 3, 2014

Live the full charm of Richmond

This a terrific hotel that provides guests with an experience of the great historical charm of Richmond. Excellent location in the heart of old Richmond, very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a wonderful dining experience in Richmond you cannot beat Tarrants Cafe on E. Broad St., just a couple of blocks from Linden Row or Marriott.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top